English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.OtherUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 September 2009, 13:12   #1
Muzer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 146
IPF In LInUx UAE

(sorry if I START RANDOMLY TYPINg In CAPS< thIs Keyboard is ON ItS WAY OUT)

How exactly do you get IPF disk images working in Linux? I've installed libcapsimage2, but when I look at the disk in workbench it is just labelled DF0:CAPS and I can't open it.


EDIT: I've got it - just had to compile the library in.

Last edited by Muzer; 12 September 2009 at 16:02.
Muzer is offline  
Old 20 September 2009, 11:42   #2
Kyon
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SOS Brigade
Age: 29
Posts: 696
Send a message via MSN to Kyon
same problem too
Kyon is offline  
Old 21 September 2009, 10:25   #3
Mr Creosote
Evil Mastermind
Mr Creosote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 527
If you want to compile E-UAE with IPF support, you need the 'Developer Distribution' from http://www.softpres.org/download (the one including capsimage.h). Then configure --with-caps --with-caps-prefix=/path/to/where/you/extracted/the/archive .

I'm seriously wondering why you guys want to compile it yourself at all. IPF support, not being open source, is restricted to i686 and PPC systems. So if you're using another architecture, you're out of luck anyway. On the other hand, if you are using one of these two, you can just use a pre-compiled binary from http://rcdrummond.net/uae/ .

In any case, you need to have libcapsimage.so.2 in a runtime-accessable place. Usually, it's a good idea to put it in /usr/local/lib . Instructions how to make the system register the library can be found in the README file accompanying the Developer Distribution archive.
Mr Creosote is offline  
Old 01 October 2009, 20:54   #4
Muzer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 146
I prefer keeping my system with packages from the Ubuntu or Mint repo or that I compile myself, unless I really really have to. You never know what some idiots might do.
Muzer is offline  
Old 01 October 2009, 21:08   #5
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Hey, it's good to see you've got the keyboard fixed, Muzer.
prowler is offline  
Old 01 October 2009, 21:41   #6
Muzer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 146
It fixed itself.
Muzer is offline  
Old 22 October 2009, 19:46   #7
Mr Creosote
Evil Mastermind
Mr Creosote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 527
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muzer View Post
I prefer keeping my system with packages from the Ubuntu or Mint repo or that I compile myself, unless I really really have to. You never know what some idiots might do.
While I agree with that sentiment in general, you shouldn't install the CAPS library then.
Mr Creosote is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G-FS-UAE (GUI/Frontend for Linux FS-UAE) Speedvicio support.FS-UAE 12 05 November 2012 20:14
No IPF (4.2) support for E-UAE? pintcat project.SPS (was CAPS) 3 31 July 2011 11:14
E-UAE on Linux :) digit01 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 23 05 May 2009 14:39
UAE Linux and Amiga IPF support fiath project.SPS (was CAPS) 3 01 March 2004 10:14
WinUAE vs Linux UAE? kckelleher support.WinUAE 0 04 May 2002 23:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07360 seconds with 13 queries