English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 December 2020, 12:33   #1
AJCopland
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Beeston, Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 208
Amiga Digital Video

I just read this over at Hackaday.com, there's a new way of hooking up old A500 OCS machines to HDMI

https://github.com/c0pperdragon/Amiga-Digital-Video

It's based on an adapter board to a Raspberry Pi Zero running RGBtoHDMI
AJCopland is offline  
Old 07 January 2021, 12:25   #2
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 46
Posts: 5,297
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Just watched Jan Beta's video on this. Looks promising.
[ Show youtube player ]
DDNI is offline  
Old 07 January 2021, 17:13   #3
khayoz
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 7
And if you have a lot of Amigas and switching between em all the time there is - https://d520-converter.de/ and it works on all Miggys.
khayoz is offline  
Old 07 January 2021, 20:21   #4
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by khayoz View Post
And if you have a lot of Amigas and switching between em all the time there is - https://d520-converter.de/ and it works on all Miggys.

I think it would be much cheaper to buy Pi0 for all your Amigas...
UberFreak is offline  
Old 07 January 2021, 23:39   #5
khayoz
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 7
@UberFreak
Are c0pperdragon's Pi0 solution compatible with all my Miggy's?
khayoz is offline  
Old 08 January 2021, 12:16   #6
jvidia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Cascais / Portugal
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by khayoz View Post
And if you have a lot of Amigas and switching between em all the time there is - https://d520-converter.de/ and it works on all Miggys.
189€ ???

For me Amiga Digital Video has only one issue ... if we want to close the Amiga, we have to drill somewhere to pass the HDMI cable.
Beside that it is perfect.

Some assembly videos:

1/4 [ Show youtube player ]

2/4 [ Show youtube player ]

3/4 [ Show youtube player ]

4/4 [ Show youtube player ]

Looks good.

Last edited by jvidia; 08 January 2021 at 12:40.
jvidia is offline  
Old 08 January 2021, 14:59   #7
xraynorm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: suffolk
Posts: 74
I wonder if this will fit with a TF536.
xraynorm is offline  
Old 08 January 2021, 15:48   #8
Estrayk
Registered User

Estrayk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 257
And this solution from Edu Arana?
[ Show youtube player ]
Estrayk is offline  
Old 13 January 2021, 13:35   #9
Miggy2TheMax
Junior Member

Miggy2TheMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 378
Noticed the pcb layout is on github

https://github.com/hoglet67/RGBtoHDM...migaAdapter/V2

Does anyone know how I would got about printing that to pcb?

I'm thinking about giving it a go and manually assembling one.
Miggy2TheMax is offline  
Old 13 January 2021, 16:06   #10
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 47
Posts: 1,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by Miggy2TheMax View Post
Noticed the pcb layout is on github

https://github.com/hoglet67/RGBtoHDM...migaAdapter/V2

Does anyone know how I would got about printing that to pcb?

I'm thinking about giving it a go and manually assembling one.
You could order it here? https://www.pcbway.com/project/share...y_Pi_Zero.html
amiman99 is online now  
Old 14 January 2021, 04:27   #11
Miggy2TheMax
Junior Member

Miggy2TheMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by amiman99 View Post
That's perfect, thanks for that link @amiman99
Miggy2TheMax is offline  
Old 02 February 2021, 16:47   #12
Ledfoot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ USA
Posts: 83
Anyone know if this will fit/work in an A2000??? Looking at the layout of my board, it seems like the Pi would be hanging over the Paula and an electrolytic capacitor. Likely would need to put an extra socket riser in to get it to clear those.

Just wondering if anyone has tried yet? Would really like to get this to work on the 2000 I have to clean up the video signal a bunch and open up my monitor options.
Ledfoot is offline  
Old 02 February 2021, 16:53   #13
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"

 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ledfoot View Post
Anyone know if this will fit/work in an A2000??? Looking at the layout of my board, it seems like the Pi would be hanging over the Paula and an electrolytic capacitor. Likely would need to put an extra socket riser in to get it to clear those.

Just wondering if anyone has tried yet? Would really like to get this to work on the 2000 I have to clean up the video signal a bunch and open up my monitor options.
I'm working on a videoslot card solution for this
I only have an A4k, but as mentioned in the other thread about this topic, a video slot card for 12-bit color systems (A2k, A3k) should work in an A4k as well, so hopefully I can test it..
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 02 February 2021, 17:07   #14
Ledfoot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ USA
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooverphonique View Post
I'm working on a videoslot card solution for this
I only have an A4k, but as mentioned in the other thread about this topic, a video slot card for 12-bit color systems (A2k, A3k) should work in an A4k as well, so hopefully I can test it..
Ah, cool... Keep us in the loop! Was hoping to get this into my A2000 to use until I can afford a zz9000 card for it...
Ledfoot is offline  
Old 02 February 2021, 21:17   #15
DerSheriff
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 52
Great, interesting. I'll follow the development.
DerSheriff is offline  
Old 06 February 2021, 20:59   #16
Torti-the-Smurf
Registered User

Torti-the-Smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Earth
Posts: 201
A600 possible ? That would be amazing ! The RF Modulator in my A600 is already removed; just waiting for somtheing fantastic like this. Hmm, could be tight with a Furia inside

anyway, great stuff guys !
Torti-the-Smurf is offline  
Old 07 February 2021, 00:02   #17
rlake
Hittin' the hardware...

rlake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Mountain View, CA
Age: 41
Posts: 152
Yes, you want the small adapter but then there are a lot of wires to solder on the board for A600!
rlake is offline  
Old 07 February 2021, 00:42   #18
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 38
Posts: 975
Think kipper has the A600 covered, see post here: http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...3&postcount=56
indigolemon is offline  
Old 07 February 2021, 00:48   #19
lilwshu
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ledfoot View Post
Anyone know if this will fit/work in an A2000??? Looking at the layout of my board, it seems like the Pi would be hanging over the Paula and an electrolytic capacitor. Likely would need to put an extra socket riser in to get it to clear those.

Just wondering if anyone has tried yet? Would really like to get this to work on the 2000 I have to clean up the video signal a bunch and open up my monitor options.
I’ve installed one in my Rev 6.2 A2000 and it works great - it is a tight fit between the motherboard and the frame where the drives and PSU are but no problems.
lilwshu is offline  
Old 07 February 2021, 11:10   #20
Torti-the-Smurf
Registered User

Torti-the-Smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Earth
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlake View Post
Yes, you want the small adapter but then there are a lot of wires to solder on the board for A600!



Oh, that sounds complicated. Also depending on the board revision ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by indigolemon View Post
Think kipper has the A600 covered, see post here: http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...3&postcount=56




Awesome, but i cant see the solder work here.

Do you think in the future a Simple plug&play solution will be possible or is this the only way it can be done?


Greetings,Torti
Torti-the-Smurf is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digital video out options for AA3000+? matt3k support.Hardware 2 17 December 2020 04:40
Producer video software for Broadcaster Elite/Digital Broadcaster gulliver request.Apps 3 17 September 2016 11:33
Digital signals on Amiga video connector whitebird support.Hardware 7 26 September 2010 15:34
DiscreetFX brings you another classic NewTek video about the Amiga Video Toaster 2.0. Pyromania Amiga scene 3 12 October 2007 23:42
Attn ASM Coders: NewTek promo video for Amiga Video Toaster Pyromania Coders. General 1 02 June 2007 01:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09642 seconds with 16 queries