English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 July 2020, 17:19   #1
MrGimper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Basingstoke / UK
Posts: 71
FS-UAE on macOS Big Sur

Yep I know it's a beta OS, but just wondered if anyone has any tweak/hack to get FS-USE to work? Doesn't launch for me.

Thanks
MrGimper is offline  
Old 30 July 2020, 02:03   #2
MrGimper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Basingstoke / UK
Posts: 71
To answer my own question, in terminal:

cd /Applications/FS-UAE Launcher.app/Contents/MacOS
sudo ./fs-uae-launcher
MrGimper is offline  
Old 30 July 2020, 06:09   #3
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,648
Just to add
Pyromania is online now  
Old 30 July 2020, 06:10   #4
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,648
just to add to this. Will FS-UAE work on Apple Silicon?
Pyromania is online now  
Old 02 August 2020, 19:07   #5
Northgrove
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Sweden
Posts: 7
FS-UAE for ARM is not a thing yet, this thread among others touches on that topic.

So with Apple Silicon being a custom chipset based on ARM...

Another question is actually if ARM emulators (like those used for the Raspberry Pi, uae4all etc) works on Apple Silicon or if the chipset is too custom? But I think it ought to have good ARM compatibility?
Northgrove is offline  
Old 03 August 2020, 06:40   #6
quantum8
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: BNE AU
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyromania View Post
just to add to this. Will FS-UAE work on Apple Silicon?

Well if rosetta2 works then I don't see why not. Quite a bit of overhead emulating on top of an emulation for now though!
quantum8 is offline  
Old 03 August 2020, 14:54   #7
amigafreak68k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Engelsdorf / Germany
Posts: 442
Rosetta 2 will only be a time limited solution. Like Rosetta 1 it will not stay forever...
amigafreak68k is offline  
Old 04 August 2020, 05:09   #8
quantum8
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: BNE AU
Posts: 214
Yep. But that window is quite wide going by the previous transition. And longer than the first UB transition too.
quantum8 is offline  
Old 19 August 2020, 22:44   #9
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 3,793
FS-UAE should work fine on macOS / ARM - when compiled for it, since it already runs on ARM (Raspberry PI). It will lose JIT functionality though, unless I (or someone else) make the effort of making JIT/ARM work in FS-UAE. We'll see...
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 14 September 2020, 00:51   #10
Echo Pox
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Seattle
Posts: 25
It works for me on Big Sur... I didn't do anything.
Echo Pox is offline  
Old 14 September 2020, 21:29   #11
amigafreak68k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Engelsdorf / Germany
Posts: 442
...Big Sur on Apple Silicon?!
amigafreak68k is offline  
Old 22 December 2020, 16:31   #12
reno
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: London
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
FS-UAE should work fine on macOS / ARM - when compiled for it, since it already runs on ARM (Raspberry PI). It will lose JIT functionality though, unless I (or someone else) make the effort of making JIT/ARM work in FS-UAE. We'll see...
Hi,

So, did anyone attempt to make an ARM build ?
How difficult should that be, is it a matter of adding an "-march=" CFLAG in a few Makefiles ?

Typing this on a new M1 Macbook Air and eager to try !
It works fine under Rosetta, but of course it would be nice to have a less power/CPU-hungry native version.
reno is offline  
Old 22 December 2020, 17:16   #13
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 3,793
You shouldn't even have to modify any Makefiles if you build on the M1 hardware itself. But according to reports, genlinetoscr might be crashing on this configuration currently, causing the build to fail: https://github.com/FrodeSolheim/fs-uae/issues/242.

I haven't looked into it yet. Don't have any M1 hardware, and haven't checked if it is possibly to run a decent virtualized environment of it yet either.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 13 January 2021, 21:05   #14
SimD
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1
Just letting you know that I just compiled fs-uae from the master branch on my M1 Macbook Air and amusingly it's currently faster to use the x86 binary with JIT through the Rosetta 2 translater. Very rough SysInfo dhrystone speeds are x86 being 249k and arm being 202k. Obviously arm jit would speed that up a lot
SimD is offline  
Old 20 January 2021, 06:05   #15
pixelsmack
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Glendale, CA
Posts: 33
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by SimD View Post
Just letting you know that I just compiled fs-uae from the master branch on my M1 Macbook Air and amusingly it's currently faster to use the x86 binary with JIT through the Rosetta 2 translater. Very rough SysInfo dhrystone speeds are x86 being 249k and arm being 202k. Obviously arm jit would speed that up a lot

This actually very promising. Obviously JIT is desired for boosted more "modern" Amiga speeds we get from 040s and 060s, and the newer 080 type systems. But if we're looking for just classic Amiga 1:1 emulation, I'd love to use that on my M1 without Rosetta. As is.
pixelsmack is offline  
Old 22 January 2021, 17:11   #16
bcripon
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 69
I would be interested in a Universal binary of FS-UAE as well. Currently, on my system, the gamepads don't work unless either the program is recompiled as a Universal binary or the emulator (or game) uses the most recent macOS game controller frameworks.

My gamepads started working on my other emulators when they were recompiled as Universal binaries. I doubt for running traditional Amiga games that I would miss JIT.

Bob C
bcripon is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS-UAE 3.x won't open on macOS Catalina 15.2 Craziazkowboi support.FS-UAE 3 29 December 2019 00:55
New FS-UAE macOS user! Works great! studio460 support.FS-UAE 2 18 June 2019 02:16
Mount CF card on FS-UAE (MacOS) Sim085 support.OtherUAE 3 23 April 2018 21:40
FS-UAE on MacOS X 10.5 (PPC G4/G5) Jacques support.FS-UAE 6 24 January 2016 13:15
FS-UAE MacOs issues fnap support.FS-UAE 2 02 October 2012 20:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09096 seconds with 15 queries