English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.OtherUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 June 2013, 07:45   #1
xArtx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 679
UAE questions (Programming)

Hi Guys,
After looking at UEA source, I have a few questions regarding UAE and
emulators in general.

Why are they still scratching physical media to use floppy disks rather
than loading the disk into an 880k array and reading/writing there until
it comes time to exit, and writing the whole disk array where the bed
is already laid (even if you want to maintain original drive timing)?

When an emu takes a game snapshot, it is simply saving the contents of the
Amiga's chip and fast memory, and restoring it at run time?
Couldn't you load a game faster that way, bypassing the initial disk access?

Is the difference between emulated Amiga models purely imaginary
(dictated only by the CPU and other hardware you select)?

On the Amiga side, when you talk to Paula, do you just tell the chip the
start and end address in memory of the sound sample you want it to play?
and then set some register to start playing the sample?

This is a cross-post from Amiga.org, where it was suggested I take
programming related questions here...
That's probably enough for now
Cheers, Art.
xArtx is offline  
Old 12 June 2013, 08:48   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by xArtx View Post
Why are they still scratching physical media to use floppy disks rather than loading the disk into an 880k array and reading/writing there until it comes time to exit, and writing the whole disk array where the bed is already laid (even if you want to maintain original drive timing)?
I don't know. It has always been like that.

Quote:
When an emu takes a game snapshot, it is simply saving the contents of the Amiga's chip and fast memory, and restoring it at run time?
Thats the easy part. Difficult part is to save everything else, custom registers, CIA registers, state of other hardware etc..

Quote:
Couldn't you load a game faster that way, bypassing the initial disk access?
Saving state after initial load has been done? Yes but then it is locked to current configuration only.

Quote:
Is the difference between emulated Amiga models purely imaginary (dictated only by the CPU and other hardware you select)?
There are also lower level differences, like memory mapping (for example CIA address range, chipset mirror areas)

Quote:
On the Amiga side, when you talk to Paula, do you just tell the chip the start and end address in memory of the sound sample you want it to play? and then set some register to start playing the sample?
Yes, more or less.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 12 June 2013, 09:13   #3
xArtx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 679
Thanks.

I'm sure I'll have more as time passes
xArtx is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS-UAE Stable Series - Questions, Feedback and Bug Reports FrodeSolheim support.FS-UAE 246 21 March 2021 13:53
A few questions regarding ClassicWB UAE v27 elowan project.ClassicWB 4 21 January 2013 08:48
Best stuff to learn C programming for Amiga (plus project idea/questions) BulletMagnet83 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 9 30 July 2012 02:36
Setting up real hdd in uae.... few questions sneeker support.WinUAE 5 22 April 2012 09:37
E-UAE a few Questions Washac support.OtherUAE 2 20 February 2012 17:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07849 seconds with 13 queries