English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 January 2021, 13:27   #1
maaarcooose
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Devon
Posts: 18
Floppy disk Millennium 2.2

So I'm trying to get a working version of Millennium 2.2 on my A1200 and it seems that they all fail in various ways.

I've tried all the ADFs from PlanetEMU. The Razor cracks seem to be the only ones that actually load but crash soon into the game.
All the others just crash at boot up.

I tried the version from the Belgian Amiga Club dump, crashes instantly too.

The WHD version seems to work fine, but does not save games properly. It seems to work well, you can save your game once, but it just ignores any later saves.

Anyone got a working ADF or know where I can buy an original copy?

I originally played this on my ST and I'd like to go through it on my newly fixed A1200.

!m!
maaarcooose is offline  
Old 02 January 2021, 15:26   #2
PopoCop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by maaarcooose View Post
The WHD version seems to work fine, but does not save games properly. It seems to work well, you can save your game once, but it just ignores any later saves.

That's strange. I've completed WHDLoad version of Millennium 2.2 on my A1200/040 and there was no problem with saving the game.
PopoCop is offline  
Old 02 January 2021, 15:42   #3
maaarcooose
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Devon
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by PopoCop View Post
That's strange. I've completed WHDLoad version of Millennium 2.2 on my A1200/040 and there was no problem with saving the game.
I shall give it another go then.
maaarcooose is offline  
Old 02 January 2021, 16:29   #4
Aardvark
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by maaarcooose View Post
The WHD version seems to work fine, but does not save games properly. It seems to work well, you can save your game once, but it just ignores any later saves.
WHDLoad doesn't overwrite any save files until you quit back to Workbench. You can change this behavior with NoWriteCache option http://whdload.de/docs/en/opt.html#NoWriteCache
Aardvark is offline  
Old 02 January 2021, 17:31   #5
maaarcooose
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Devon
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aardvark View Post
WHDLoad doesn't overwrite any save files until you quit back to Workbench. You can change this behavior with NoWriteCache option http://whdload.de/docs/en/opt.html#NoWriteCache
That would explain it. I've not been quitting back to WB as I've bee using the right button boot up and just powering off. I will try that option.

Thanks.
maaarcooose is offline  
Old 02 January 2021, 17:32   #6
maaarcooose
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Devon
Posts: 18
And I've just seen this:

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Millenniu...cAAOSw9gtdasGs

£149????

!m!
maaarcooose is offline  
Old 02 January 2021, 20:19   #7
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 20,187
Quote:
Originally Posted by maaarcooose View Post
So I'm trying to get a working version of Millennium 2.2 on my A1200 and it seems that they all fail in various ways.

I've tried all the ADFs from PlanetEMU. The Razor cracks seem to be the only ones that actually load but crash soon into the game.
All the others just crash at boot up.

I tried the version from the Belgian Amiga Club dump, crashes instantly too.
I'm not surprised the game crashes on an A1200. It was released back in 1989: Millennium 2.2

If you use .ADFs then you could try using a degrader beforehand like Tude or Degrader:

... http://aminet.net/package/util/misc/TUDE
... http://aminet.net/package/util/misc/Degrader
DamienD is offline  
Old 02 January 2021, 20:32   #8
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 45
Posts: 934
There is an AGA fixed ADF in tosec

http://grandis.nu/eabsearch/search.p...xclude=&limit=
Superman is offline  
Old 02 January 2021, 20:38   #9
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 20,187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman View Post
That's a better option than using a degrader
DamienD is offline  
Old 02 January 2021, 21:01   #10
maaarcooose
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Devon
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
I'm not surprised the game crashes on an A1200. It was released back in 1989: Millennium 2.2

If you use .ADFs then you could try using a degrader beforehand like Tude or Degrader:

... http://aminet.net/package/util/misc/TUDE
... http://aminet.net/package/util/misc/Degrader
Yep, I think that's the key.

I tried all the ADFs I could find in WinUAE in A500 mode and they all work fine. All crash in A1200 mode.

!m!
maaarcooose is offline  
Old 02 January 2021, 21:07   #11
maaarcooose
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Devon
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman View Post
Perfect. Thanks.
maaarcooose is offline  
Old 02 January 2021, 22:54   #12
maaarcooose
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Devon
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman View Post
Okay, and I just tried those on WinUAE in A1200 mode and they crash in the same place the Razor crack does.

This sequence:
Start Game.
Select Solargen MK1 on.
Resources on.
Research Solorgen MK2.
Advance time till research complete.
Turn off Resources.
Start production on Solargen MK2.

Crashes as soon as you select to start production.
Gonna try it on actual hardware to see if the same occurs.
maaarcooose is offline  
Old 03 January 2021, 00:36   #13
kremiso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Italy
Posts: 171
i don't know how deep was the test of Bytehunter in that fixed for AGA release
it is based on the same Razor crack, seems removing only the intro (that i like),
and loading directly the game

EDIT
just made a quick test with winuae + A1200 standard configuration, no issues so far
replicated your path @maaarcooose , i'm developing MK10 atm

Last edited by kremiso; 03 January 2021 at 16:32.
kremiso is offline  
Old 03 January 2021, 23:44   #14
mai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Federativnaya Respublika Germaniya
Posts: 4,990
No crash on real hardware(A1200/030) either so far using
Millennium 2.2 (1989)(Electric Dreams)[cr RZR][f AGA Bytehunter]
AA043CFC
mai is offline  
Old 12 January 2021, 09:51   #15
maaarcooose
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Devon
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by mai View Post
No crash on real hardware(A1200/030) either so far using
Millennium 2.2 (1989)(Electric Dreams)[cr RZR][f AGA Bytehunter]
AA043CFC
Okay so I’ve tried this one on my 1200/020 and it crashes at the same spot as the Non AGA fixed version. I just have a stock 2mb A1200 with KS3.0 and ClassicWB 3.1.

I did think it was my dodgy floppy drive, bit I have since replaced and re-written the adf to a new disk.
I’ve been using transdisk to write the disks. Any other suggestions to write the disks?

!m!
maaarcooose is offline  
Old 13 January 2021, 05:45   #16
stevsurv
Beta 1.666
stevsurv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in 1985
Posts: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by maaarcooose View Post
Okay so I’ve tried this one on my 1200/020 and it crashes at the same spot as the Non AGA fixed version. I just have a stock 2mb A1200 with KS3.0 and ClassicWB 3.1.

I did think it was my dodgy floppy drive, bit I have since replaced and re-written the adf to a new disk.
I’ve been using transdisk to write the disks. Any other suggestions to write the disks?

!m!

It does weird things on my machine like the sounds are all high pitched when first loaded and settles down after a while when clicking through the game icons.



Maybe needs a proper 100% fix?
stevsurv is offline  
Old 20 February 2021, 23:28   #17
Vampy
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Flensburg / Germany
Posts: 4
I have the problem, that I get stuck at a very early part of the game. In order to mine some ressources, that you can't get on the moon, you have to build "Grazer" to extract minerals from asteroids.

I can build this ship, launch it and send it to the asteroid belt. At some time I get a message, that the Grazer found an asteroid and I have to go the cockpit of the ship. But I never get access to the ship, as long it is in the asteroid belt.

Has anyone experienced this problem?
Vampy is offline  
Old 21 February 2021, 16:39   #18
kremiso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Italy
Posts: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vampy View Post
I have the problem, that I get stuck at a very early part of the game. In order to mine some ressources, that you can't get on the moon, you have to build "Grazer" to extract minerals from asteroids.

I can build this ship, launch it and send it to the asteroid belt. At some time I get a message, that the Grazer found an asteroid and I have to go the cockpit of the ship. But I never get access to the ship, as long it is in the asteroid belt.

Has anyone experienced this problem?
you can't access to the Grazer cockpit when they are on asteroid belt.
Just let the time pass until they find something useful, you'll have a message then, and you can choose if take or leave the finded materials
kremiso is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pinkie from Millenium credits dlfrsilver HOL data problems 8 28 December 2011 13:13
Free : Matrox Millenium II PCI GFX card alexh MarketPlace 49 17 September 2009 22:56
Need help with Millenium 2.2? lightmans support.Games 1 16 June 2005 09:39
Deuteros & Millenium 2.2 Methanoid Retrogaming General Discussion 19 04 February 2004 14:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09411 seconds with 13 queries