English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. System

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 July 2017, 18:26   #21
ross
Defendit numerus
 
ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 53
Posts: 4,471
Quote:
Originally Posted by meynaf View Post
Under V39 on my A1200 it's really in chip if i don't move it.
I suppose it's the same for other kick versions. If Exec is in chip, you've got big chances supervisor stack also is. And it is by default.
Yes, for A1200 there is more cases.
The problem is that accelerators memory is not directly exec recognized, so is added by the small initialization board ROM.
But is to late: exec.library and sstack are already set..

(A500 have usually fixed memory zones: ranger at 0xc00000 and fast at 0x200000, that exec maps immediately)

Regards,
ross
ross is offline  
Old 25 July 2017, 20:23   #22
Photon
Moderator
 
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 5,604
Stacks are at their default small sizes just before opening startup-sequence, and I think you're going off in too many directions at once.

Typically this,

Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
I just mean "click to disable DF1"+"Add21k", but do it automatically in the bootblock before running the startup-sequence.
is the only thing preventing some people from running "a big" demo or game.
Photon is offline  
Old 25 July 2017, 22:15   #23
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 1,624
So here we go.. a couple of pieces of code. I don't remember how they work in detail, but that can be worked out by looking at them..

TheBoot can be written directly to floppy using the asmone WS/CC commands, then reboot and experiment (I don't have any drives other than df0: atm). A1 contains the trackdisk.device io request when entering the bb code. I think it enables/disables drives by writing/clearing a longword representing the pulse train emitted on the RDY pin by extra drives (more on that can be found here on the board in other threads).

The other piece of code let's you detect the boot drive, so you only disable 'extra' drives (on V36+, you can boot off of any floppy drive).

Hope that helps..
Attached Files
File Type: s GETBOOTD.S (222 Bytes, 116 views)
File Type: s THEBOOT2.S (6.0 KB, 116 views)
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 27 July 2017, 20:16   #24
ross
Defendit numerus
 
ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 53
Posts: 4,471
Hi, addchip.bootblock done.
I thought it was simpler.. it was not trivial to figure out how to make it working (and in every config)

Attached the result.
Test done on A500 KS1.2 512KB CHIP DF0+DF1.
(consider it a beta, need to be tested better )

I 've to refine a bit the source then I publish a binary bootblock and the code.

Cheers,
ross
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	addchip.png
Views:	228
Size:	6.7 KB
ID:	53894   Click image for larger version

Name:	standard.png
Views:	192
Size:	6.7 KB
ID:	53895  
ross is offline  
Old 27 July 2017, 21:59   #25
ross
Defendit numerus
 
ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 53
Posts: 4,471
And.. here we go.

Greetings
ross
Attached Files
File Type: 68k addchip.bootblock.bin.68k (1.0 KB, 143 views)
File Type: s addchip.bootblock.s (3.3 KB, 229 views)
ross is offline  
Old 31 July 2017, 11:18   #26
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 1,624
Quote:
Originally Posted by ross View Post
And.. here we go.

Greetings
ross
"Evergreen Amiga Board" ???
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 31 July 2017, 12:36   #27
ross
Defendit numerus
 
ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 53
Posts: 4,471
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooverphonique View Post
"Evergreen Amiga Board" ???
Yes this need an explanation: in italian evergreen (sempreverde) not only refers to plants but is a synonymous of timeless.
(in other language also?)

So fashionable, distinguished and renowned, which despite the passing of time preserves intact its style.

Evergreen members who are forever young!

Regards,
ross
ross is offline  
Old 01 August 2017, 00:51   #28
NorthWay
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Grimstad / Norway
Posts: 839
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthWay View Post
You could relocate the header for chipmem to (fake) fastmem and then free it. That is some 16-32 bytes IIRC.
As I have tested and found out: You can't FreeMem() the header. At least not just like that.
It might be as simple as subtracting MH_SIZE from MH_LOWER before trying it.

UPDATE: Don't try that if you have Mungwall running... better make sure it is done before you run Mungwall.

Last edited by NorthWay; 01 August 2017 at 07:44. Reason: update
NorthWay is online now  
Old 01 August 2017, 07:02   #29
ovale
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: milan / italy
Posts: 174
Well done Ross!
ovale is offline  
Old 01 August 2017, 07:46   #30
NorthWay
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Grimstad / Norway
Posts: 839
"Evergreens" are known as songs that are timeless and sung by artist both old and young.
NorthWay is online now  
Old 01 August 2017, 13:41   #31
ross
Defendit numerus
 
ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 53
Posts: 4,471
Quote:
Originally Posted by ovale View Post
Well done Ross!
I think that 48000 bytes is a very good result for a 512KB machine
(and memory is as contiguous as possible).

Usability from 1.2 to 3.9 is nice too.
The best result on A500+ (KS2.0) where you can gain even ~64KB (the Height parameter works on v37..).

[EDIT: values related to DF1: present]

Ciao!
ross

Last edited by ross; 01 August 2017 at 14:28. Reason: []
ross is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to maximize memory jotd support.Other 3 27 November 2015 22:41
ChipMEM Bug. FOL support.WinUAE 4 09 January 2013 22:41
Contiguous memory Quiet_Man New to Emulation or Amiga scene 0 03 November 2011 08:53
Coding a bootblock Yesideez Coders. General 15 23 May 2010 00:13
Apollo1260 + extra SIMM: contiguous RAM? (+ thank you Dimlow!) Quagliarulo support.Hardware 10 10 April 2010 00:16

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:58.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08247 seconds with 16 queries