English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 October 2019, 16:29   #21
Unkown
The Old Fart!

Unkown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Last Seen In Purgatory!
Age: 53
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by patrik View Post
Btw, a harddrive which is 18GB is 18*1000*1000*1000 Bytes, while computers, especially with an older OS generally considers a GB to be 1024*1024*1024, so 17GB sounds correct. Marketing vs computer people.

No matter what size or type hdd the system always takes some way.


Exsmple 8TB hdd formated in windows will give you 7.27 GB


Exsmple 2TB hdd formated in windows will give you 1.99 GB


Example M.2 SSD 500GB formated in windows will give you 465 GB


Also like Tee.Vee's And Monitors a 17" Monitor ain 17" its slightly less.



I know...
Unkown is offline  
Old 21 October 2019, 17:31   #22
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeå
Age: 39
Posts: 581
Quote:
Originally Posted by macce2 View Post
Excuse me for being a noobie, but would you please explain, how would I set the mask correctly ? My CPU card doesn't have any Ram onboard, but on the motherboard there is a normal 2 Mb Chip + 16 Mb Fast, and I also have the BigRamPlus card (256 Mb) installed. Thus, it does indeed seem that SysInfo (and maybe the whole system?!) somehow shows all the Zorro memory as "one" ?!
If you have no hardware or driver bugs, the mask should be 0xffffffff - no limitations on address or alignment.

Nothing will become better/faster by using a restrictive mask if you don’t need it. It will only make the file system do the transfer in super small chunks via chipmem or similar at really low speed for memory/alignments not matching the mask.

You should have no address restrictions on an A4000 with a Z3 card- all addresses should be usable for DMA. Also, in my experience, Phase5 cards has no alignment restrictions either. You can see if this is the case by choosing mask 0xffffffff for a partition (not boot partition, that is unnecessary) and run a diskspeed test on it and see that it works correctly for byte, word and longword alignment.

Last edited by patrik; 21 October 2019 at 17:36.
patrik is offline  
Old 21 October 2019, 22:30   #23
AmigaHope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Sandusky
Posts: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by patrik View Post
If you have no hardware or driver bugs, the mask should be 0xffffffff - no limitations on address or alignment.

Nothing will become better/faster by using a restrictive mask if you don’t need it. It will only make the file system do the transfer in super small chunks via chipmem or similar at really low speed for memory/alignments not matching the mask.

You should have no address restrictions on an A4000 with a Z3 card- all addresses should be usable for DMA. Also, in my experience, Phase5 cards has no alignment restrictions either. You can see if this is the case by choosing mask 0xffffffff for a partition (not boot partition, that is unnecessary) and run a diskspeed test on it and see that it works correctly for byte, word and longword alignment.
DMA doesn't work properly on some device/RAM combinations. In particular some accelerator cards have local memory that does not support DMA from the Z3 bus.
AmigaHope is offline  
Old 22 October 2019, 09:41   #24
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeå
Age: 39
Posts: 581
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaHope View Post
DMA doesn't work properly on some device/RAM combinations. In particular some accelerator cards have local memory that does not support DMA from the Z3 bus.
Poorly designed accelerators not allowing DMA to local memory (very troublesome for the user) are not uncommon for the A500/A2000.

However, I have never experienced or heard of such accelerator for the CPU fast slot of the A3000/A4000. Do you have any example?
patrik is offline  
Old 23 October 2019, 19:59   #25
macce2
Retro maniac

macce2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 957
Ok, I changed the max transfer and mask settings for my hd partitions to the values mentioned above on this thread; Everything seems to work fine.
My current version of the Diskspeed program seems to be old, guess I' d better load the latest ( from Aminet !?).
macce2 is offline  
Old 24 October 2019, 18:15   #26
macce2
Retro maniac

macce2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 957
@AmigaHope

Did you mean using Changemempri program or something like that ?!

@All

The 16 Mb on A4000 mobo is a little faster than any z3 memory, however,
and for that reason, I'd prefer not to set the z3 memory for higher priority, even if Scsi performance would enhance a bit.
The A4000 memory is very slow anyway, if you do not have an accelerator board with memory.
However, I'm a little nervous because it seems that my system does handle all my z3 expansion memory as "one"; and does not separate the Fastlane card's memory (40 Mb) from the 256 Mb that's on my BigRamPlus card.
Would the only option to know those memory start & end addresses be removing one card and then reading the memory addresses/spaces with SysInfo or similar program ..?!
Generally, would it be possible to have some problems with expansion memory, if it was on different cards (and maybe there 's some difference on memory speeds etc (ns); between Fastlane card memory and BigRamPlus memory), even it is shown as one "chunk" to the system ?
I recently had an uninvited visitor; a yellow screen while playing Wendetta2175 (installed on hd) ..
Could that be sign of memory problem(-s) ?
Yeah, I do know; I should check all the connections etc. but could this be some kind of configuration problem ?
Fortunately,I haven't had the yellow screen very often on my system, after I replaced my old A3640 processor card with the new A3660 one.

Last edited by macce2; 24 October 2019 at 18:24.
macce2 is offline  
Old 26 October 2019, 19:33   #27
Kin Hell
Registered User
Kin Hell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 688
I forgot to mention an important thing RE the Z3 Fastlane....

V8.5 of the ROM is required for an 060 Based Amiga
Kin Hell is offline  
Old 29 October 2019, 00:25   #28
AmigaHope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Sandusky
Posts: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by macce2 View Post
@AmigaHope

Did you mean using Changemempri program or something like that ?!

@All

The 16 Mb on A4000 mobo is a little faster than any z3 memory, however,
and for that reason, I'd prefer not to set the z3 memory for higher priority, even if Scsi performance would enhance a bit.
The A4000 memory is very slow anyway, if you do not have an accelerator board with memory.
However, I'm a little nervous because it seems that my system does handle all my z3 expansion memory as "one"; and does not separate the Fastlane card's memory (40 Mb) from the 256 Mb that's on my BigRamPlus card.
Would the only option to know those memory start & end addresses be removing one card and then reading the memory addresses/spaces with SysInfo or similar program ..?!
Generally, would it be possible to have some problems with expansion memory, if it was on different cards (and maybe there 's some difference on memory speeds etc (ns); between Fastlane card memory and BigRamPlus memory), even it is shown as one "chunk" to the system ?
I recently had an uninvited visitor; a yellow screen while playing Wendetta2175 (installed on hd) ..
Could that be sign of memory problem(-s) ?
Yeah, I do know; I should check all the connections etc. but could this be some kind of configuration problem ?
Fortunately,I haven't had the yellow screen very often on my system, after I replaced my old A3640 processor card with the new A3660 one.
The cards don't show up separately in the AutoConfig list?
AmigaHope is offline  
Old 15 December 2019, 02:11   #29
macce2
Retro maniac

macce2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 957
@grelbfarlk

Excuse moi, how did you did the adding of Unitcontrol program to your startup- sequence ..?
I can't get it properly working with commandline parameters ?

@ ALL

General question: Could weak/ instable power supply cause errors on memory test program..?
How to test the case if some memory testing program results no errors, but another does ?
Coul improper Mmu setup cause that ?
Guess I would need help with the Mmulib configuration..

@ AmigaHope

Yes, all my Zorro cards are seen ok.
But the Fastlane card does show up as two different cards.
Sure, that is normal ?! I think that for some reason, it separates the Scsi part from the memory part..!?
More precisely, I have 4 Z cards installed: PicassoIV, Fastlane, BigRamPlus and eFlash4000.
I found by experimenting that the three last mentioned need to be in certain order for the machine to work ok. At bottom to top: Picasso; Fastlane; BigRamPlus and eFlash. ( I assume it is normal for an Amiga with Zorro slots for not to work with all possible card slot orders; especially if all the slots are used ?!)
I must add that some change on my setup ( I'm not which) causes the Sysinfo program showing the Fastlane memory separately, which it din' t do necessarily before (!?).

Last edited by macce2; 16 December 2019 at 02:30.
macce2 is offline  
Old 16 December 2019, 03:13   #30
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,960
adh3:cyberscsi/unitcontrol device=cybppc.device unit=0 period=20 WIDE Asynchron=0
This is what I have for CSPPC in my startup-sequence, Fastlane should be similar like:
adh3:cyberscsi/unitcontrol device=z3scsi.device unit=0 period=10 Asynchron=0

Yeah some cards don't like certain slots or orders and I would guess that certain cards allocate space before other cards and that causes a problem. As in X Zorro card just takes a chunk of memory without checking if something else already allocated it.
If you intend to fill all of the slots up then hopefully you have a set of cards which play nicely. Like in one of my A4000s I have:
Z-4: Piccolo
Z-3: A4091
Z-2: DKB 3128
Z-1: Sunrise AD516
Just lucky that it worked in this order as I couldn't put say a Fastlane in the top slot. But if I put it in the 3rd slot, the drive cable interferes with the board above it. But the A4091 doesn't like the top slot either but it all works this way.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 18 December 2019, 20:24   #31
macce2
Retro maniac

macce2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 957
Ok; but what is the " period" value for ?
I have an external old scsi cd- r drive installed, at the end of the scsi chain. It' s a Matsushita drive. What would the period value be for that drive...?!
My hard drive is a Fujitsu 17 Gt scsi( wide-) drive, used with an adapter ..
macce2 is offline  
Old 17 January 2020, 18:04   #32
macce2
Retro maniac

macce2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 957
Which would be the ideal Mask and MaxTransfer values for an old Matshita Scsi Cd- r drive; using CacheCDFS ?
macce2 is offline  
Old 18 January 2020, 20:12   #33
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,532
Maxtransfer probably anything you like, for mask, I would limit to the zorro III area.
Jope is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fastlane card and SCSI macce2 support.Hardware 12 01 December 2019 21:59
Fastlane Z3 SCSI won't boot anymore MagerValp support.Hardware 0 28 May 2017 13:35
Fastlane Z3 / SCSI problems amigasith support.Hardware 21 06 February 2016 12:13
For Sale: Z3 Fastlane - Fast SCSI 2 Controller + 16MB RAM Zetr0 MarketPlace 3 19 January 2010 09:38
Help: Setting up new A4000D system Calgor support.Hardware 48 09 July 2006 11:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11394 seconds with 13 queries