English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 May 2013, 20:39   #1
pudwink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: nottingham
Posts: 19
Accelerator card whdload

hi all
I have set my 1200 up with classic workbench and in the process of loading up the games.
now I know I need something to boost up the amiga to play the games and I have looked at the vintage used accelerator cards on auction websites but they are a bit dear for something that might go pop tomorrow.
so I have been looking at the ones at amigakit but need to know will I be OK with the
ACA 1220 Accelerator with 128MB RAM at £71.89 or is it really worth spending the extra for a ACA 1232 Accelerator with 128MB RAM for £109.99 or even the ACA 1232 Accelerator with 128MB RAM for £119.50.
would I notice a big difference paying more or would the cheapest one be plenty.
Many thanks in advance

pudwink is offline  
Old 27 May 2013, 20:43   #2
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 44
Posts: 1,024
hi just for playing whdload games the cheapest will be plenty even a 4/8mb card would be fine

but to use some applications and demos the better ones will help
johnim is offline  
Old 27 May 2013, 20:44   #3
Cymru
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Dorathea/AT
Posts: 371
Accelerator card whdload

Well you can go cheaper than £72 just to get a WHDload boost, but is there anything else you might want to do? Internet?
Cymru is offline  
Old 27 May 2013, 20:58   #4
pudwink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: nottingham
Posts: 19
how?
pudwink is offline  
Old 27 May 2013, 21:03   #5
Michael
A1260T/PPC/BV/SCSI/NET

Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 680
Just adding 4MB fast ram will do the job for 90% of games and make everything work x2 times faster. The next step is 68030, ideally at 50 MHz will cover 98% of games, just a few FPS (3D games and strategy) will work better with a faster CPU, and obviously with a GFX card too.
Michael is offline  
Old 27 May 2013, 21:19   #6
Cymru
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Dorathea/AT
Posts: 371
Accelerator card whdload

Then throw is a network card (€15) and a CF hard drive (€15), and you are on the net (with some free software).
Cymru is offline  
Old 27 May 2013, 21:21   #7
pudwink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: nottingham
Posts: 19
where would i get the network card from already got a cf hard drive installed
pudwink is offline  
Old 27 May 2013, 21:27   #8
pudwink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: nottingham
Posts: 19
and how would that speed up whdload
pudwink is offline  
Old 27 May 2013, 21:29   #9
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 44
Posts: 1,024
for the internet a pcmcia network card but some ram expansions have problems with pcmcia expansions

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...roducts_id=121

but this wont speed up whdload
johnim is offline  
Old 27 May 2013, 21:30   #10
Cymru
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Dorathea/AT
Posts: 371
Accelerator card whdload

A network card would not speed up WHDload, just let you download directly from the Internet, to a CF card.
Cymru is offline  
Old 27 May 2013, 21:33   #11
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 51
Posts: 2,824
just use a pcmcia transfer kit for the transfers its alot easier or just unplug the cf card in the machine and plug it into a adaptor on the pc and load it into winuae.
roy bates is offline  
Old 27 May 2013, 21:37   #12
pudwink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: nottingham
Posts: 19
using a extra cf card via pcmcia just need help on a accelerator card.
pudwink is offline  
Old 27 May 2013, 21:47   #13
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 51
Posts: 2,824
my advice would be,get the fastest card with as much memory as you can afford.

simple.
roy bates is offline  
Old 27 May 2013, 21:50   #14
pudwink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: nottingham
Posts: 19
the question is do I buy the cheaper one or would I gain a lot buying the dearer one
pudwink is offline  
Old 27 May 2013, 21:56   #15
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 51
Posts: 2,824
i would get the one that cost more money just for the 030 at more mhz.(thats what i would do,if it was me)

also its not true that old cards may go pop at any time a blizzard 1230 will last a very very long time,i have one and its never ever gone wrong.

the truth of the matter is this:the accelorator will more that likey outlast the 1200,several 1200's sometimes.

at the end of the day you buy and spend what you can afford.

Last edited by roy bates; 27 May 2013 at 22:01.
roy bates is offline  
Old 27 May 2013, 22:01   #16
pudwink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: nottingham
Posts: 19
I dont mind spending the money as long as i notice a difference.
pudwink is offline  
Old 27 May 2013, 22:06   #17
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 51
Posts: 2,824
you will notice the speed difference between the cheapest(slowest) compared to the more expensive one(fastest)

and it will be a more pleasent experience from harddrive.

workbench will redraw faster games should load faster some games will play faster and smoother.

it will mostly be a more pleasant experience with a faster cpu,but with that said you will get away with a slower card.
and youll probably never use the 128mbs thats on it anyway.
roy bates is offline  
Old 27 May 2013, 22:09   #18
pudwink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: nottingham
Posts: 19
so there is a big difference between 16.67 and 33 mhz
pudwink is offline  
Old 27 May 2013, 22:14   #19
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 51
Posts: 2,824
i would say yes,its twice the speed.
roy bates is offline  
Old 27 May 2013, 22:29   #20
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,388
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by pudwink View Post
so there is a big difference between 16.67 and 33 mhz
I own both cards and I can say the 030 @33mhz is a really big boost over the 020 @16.7mhz - aside from the extra 16.3mhz the 030 is an uprated processor, think Pentium II vs Pentium III

But if you just want to play WHDLoad Games with a basic Workbench the 020 card is perfectly adequate.

If you want to experiment further with you Amiga, using a more advanced Workbench(better icons,backdrop, etc) Emulation (Spectrum/Master System/Gameboy/NES/MacOS), 3D Games, etc then go for the faster card.
fitzsteve is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please help. Accelerator card breaks startup-sequence scsi.device (CF Card)? ibsimpson Hardware mods 1 09 May 2012 17:12
WTB-A1200 - Accelerator or ram card for WHDLoad machine tekkendp MarketPlace 0 15 June 2010 07:41
Accelerator Card Memory pan1k New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 20 June 2006 17:36
How do I i.d. my accelerator card? Spadger support.Hardware 4 31 March 2006 13:36
Help with Blizzard IV accelerator card technium support.Hardware 14 02 September 2004 21:38

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11132 seconds with 13 queries