English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 September 2012, 16:43   #1
VoltureX
Registered User
VoltureX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 165
Playing CD32 games on my A1200

Hi.

What kind of hardware do I need to play CD32 games on my A1200?

I have ordered a DVD slim drive so far.

Thanks.

Volt.
VoltureX is offline  
Old 22 September 2012, 17:55   #2
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,737
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by VoltureX View Post
Hi.

What kind of hardware do I need to play CD32 games on my A1200?

I have ordered a DVD slim drive so far.

Thanks.

Volt.
Setup the cd32 emulator that comes with squirrel pcmcia adapter.
If you feel brave, alter your startup as I did to check if cd32 disc is in drive. If it sees disc it boots it.
Works perfect for my cd32 needs.
FOL is offline  
Old 22 September 2012, 18:30   #3
VoltureX
Registered User
VoltureX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 165
I don't know about the squirrel thing for PCMCIA.

But could I use a 4way ide adapter to connect my IDE DVD ROM?

And from where do I get the power to the DVD ROM?

Volt.
VoltureX is offline  
Old 22 September 2012, 18:42   #4
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,737
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by VoltureX View Post
I don't know about the squirrel thing for PCMCIA.

But could I use a 4way ide adapter to connect my IDE DVD ROM?

And from where do I get the power to the DVD ROM?

Volt.
Yep, you can use an a large molex to floppy connetor to split the power.
Highsoft squirrel driver disk has the emulator.
FOL is offline  
Old 22 September 2012, 18:46   #5
VoltureX
Registered User
VoltureX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 165
Cool, thanks.

And how exactly do I connect my IDE cable inside the Amiga, I already have a CFcard attached to the IDE pins?

My DVD-ROM looks like this on the back. That doesn't look too good I guess.


Volt.

Last edited by VoltureX; 22 September 2012 at 19:04.
VoltureX is offline  
Old 22 September 2012, 21:18   #6
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,393
Quote:
Originally Posted by VoltureX View Post
And how exactly do I connect my IDE cable inside the Amiga, I already have a CFcard attached to the IDE pins?
You need a JAE to IDE adapter for the drive.
You will probable also need a buffered IDE adapter.
I believe Amigakit has those???

Depending on the ports on the buffered IDE adapter, you will need a JAE - 40pin IDE or a JAE to 44pin IDE.

I was going to do that, but then got a deal on a squirrel and went that way..

Good luck

desiv
desiv is offline  
Old 22 September 2012, 22:01   #7
VoltureX
Registered User
VoltureX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 165
Thanks for all your great help. Looking forward to try build and external DVD-ROM drive

Regards

Volt.
VoltureX is offline  
Old 23 September 2012, 01:11   #8
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 52
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
yep that black bit unscrews and ya put your JAE to IDE adapter there

though I`m not a fan of cd/dvd in geaneral, personally think there are better solutions
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 23 September 2012, 01:18   #9
VoltureX
Registered User
VoltureX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 165
Are there better ways when you want music tracks from a CD32 disc?

Volt.
VoltureX is offline  
Old 23 September 2012, 01:50   #10
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,737
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by VoltureX View Post
Are there better ways when you want music tracks from a CD32 disc?

Volt.
Ah, almost forgot about that.
You will need to mix the cd audio with the paula output via resistors.

If you use an external drive via squirrel, it does cd audio through that, if I recall.
Been years since I done it that way though.
FOL is offline  
Old 23 September 2012, 17:59   #11
VoltureX
Registered User
VoltureX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 165
Thanks for the info FOL, much appreciated

Volt.
VoltureX is offline  
Old 24 September 2012, 04:07   #12
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,393
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
If you use an external drive via squirrel, it does cd audio through that, if I recall.
Unless I have mine setup wrong (which is possible..)...

Mine, when I played Banshee, had no CD audio played from my Amiga.
I had to hook up some external speakers to my external CD drive (It's an Apple CD ROM and has external RCA jacks) to get CD audio.

I was planning on getting some RCA splitters to merge the audio or something rather than having the extra set of speakers...

Of course, if there's a way to get CD audio without doing that, I'm all ears. ;-)

desiv
desiv is offline  
Old 24 September 2012, 04:09   #13
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,737
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by desiv View Post
Unless I have mine setup wrong (which is possible..)...

Mine, when I played Banshee, had no CD audio played from my Amiga.
I had to hook up some external speakers to my external CD drive (It's an Apple CD ROM and has external RCA jacks) to get CD audio.

I was planning on getting some RCA splitters to merge the audio or something rather than having the extra set of speakers...

Of course, if there's a way to get CD audio without doing that, I'm all ears. ;-)

desiv
Try IDEFIX cd32 emu, Im sure one of them does it.
FOL is offline  
Old 24 September 2012, 20:55   #14
VoltureX
Registered User
VoltureX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 165
Is this one good enough to connect both my CF Card and DVD-ROM?
4xEIDE'99 Buffered Interface (with Allegro CDFS)

And would there be available space when I have a Scan Doubler sitting over the LISA chip?

Or should I wait for the IDE Fix coming for sale again?

It has to be fast enough to play music CDs and CD32 games.

Thanks.

Volt.
VoltureX is offline  
Old 25 September 2012, 00:35   #15
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,393
Quote:
Originally Posted by VoltureX View Post
It has to be fast enough to play music CDs and CD32 games.
I'll let Amigakit answer the tough questions, but...
The CD32 was (I believe) just a 2X drive..
Speed won't be an issue for Audio or CD32 games...

desiv
desiv is offline  
Old 25 September 2012, 09:44   #16
moijk
License to Bubble

moijk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Grimstad, Norway
Age: 42
Posts: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by desiv View Post
I'll let Amigakit answer the tough questions, but...
The CD32 was (I believe) just a 2X drive..
Speed won't be an issue for Audio or CD32 games...

desiv
Does it replicate the ginormous 1kB of save game ram? :P
moijk is offline  
Old 25 September 2012, 11:18   #17
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,737
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by moijk View Post
Does it replicate the ginormous 1kB of save game ram? :P
I dont think so.


@VultureX
4xEIDE'99 Buffered Interface (with Allegro CDFS) should be enough.
Dont worry about speeds, as any 2x+ will work fine for both games and music.
FOL is offline  
Old 27 September 2012, 04:54   #18
bbond007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: MIAMI/USA
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by VoltureX View Post
Hi.

What kind of hardware do I need to play CD32 games on my A1200?

I have ordered a DVD slim drive so far.

Thanks.

Volt.
I ordered this thing:

http://systembash.com/content/zalman...ive-enclosure/

Hopefully I could just put a bunch of CD-32 ISO images on this drive and it would be able to run them without ever burning a CD. I did not buy it primary for that, but it it does work I may buy a dedicated one for my CD-32 ISOs.

I hope this thing cuts down on the amount of CDs I burn all together...
bbond007 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Playing audio tracks on CD32 games BuckoA51 project.WHDLoad 7 27 June 2012 06:32
Playing CD32 Games in an Amiga 1200 paulo_becas support.Apps 4 05 March 2010 11:32
Playing classic amiga games on a CD32 pcut Retrogaming General Discussion 12 03 December 2009 17:13
Playing CD32 games on A4000 piemmeweb support.Games 23 09 October 2009 19:27
A1200 Tower Conversion - Quesion About Playing CD32 Games dire_wolf support.Hardware 3 24 July 2009 16:52

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09402 seconds with 13 queries