English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 July 2010, 14:28   #1
source
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 702
memory for bridgeboards

I was just wondering if anyone out there could tell me what is the best zip ram to get for a 25 MHz 386sx bridgeboard with a 2 times 486 clip on. I get confused with page mode vs not. I do know that getting 70 ns would be better than 80 or 100.
Thanks
source is offline  
Old 30 July 2010, 14:57   #2
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
@source

I dont think that the 386sx bridgeboard actaully takes any advange of PAGE mode, so its likely to be ignored, although it might be slightly more effcient with EDO, but theres no information on that which I can find (this will be a test it and see =))

I would suggest you have a look around for four 4MB 72pin SIMM's and see how you get on =)

heres a nice set for $13 CAD - fellow amigan too by the looks of it =)
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 30 July 2010, 15:48   #3
source
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 702
I would love to go 16 meg for the bridgeboard, but I do not have the expertise to make the zip to sim converter or the ability to modify the bios to accept the 16 meg. If someone here knows how please let me knowm
Thanks
source is offline  
Old 30 July 2010, 19:38   #4
joeksterz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 55
If it is a commodore 386sx bridgeboard then I can tell you the following:
it will take 8mb of 1m x4 page mode zip ram.
There is an adapter and bios upgrade that will add an additional 8mb using the same kind of chips.

I do have some of the zip chips it uses, pm me if interested
joeksterz is offline  
Old 10 August 2010, 16:58   #5
source
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 702
Thanks for the offer. How fast are they? How much do you want for them? Sorry I did not get back to you sooner, my mother-in-law had a stroke and it has been busy here for the past couple weeks.
source is offline  
Old 11 August 2010, 05:41   #6
joeksterz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 55
They are 70ns NOS, date code 31st week of 1999.
how about $12 per set of 4 (2mb). I should have enough sets if you wanted to fill up the bridgeboard.
joeksterz is offline  
Old 11 August 2010, 07:37   #7
source
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 702
Sure do payment via paypal?
source is offline  
Old 11 August 2010, 08:00   #8
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 53
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
@joeksterz: how many ZIP banks you have spare? I may be interested in order to upgrade my A3000.

Sorry to hijack source's thread. PM me please.
rkauer is offline  
Old 11 August 2010, 18:30   #9
joeksterz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 55
I do accept paypal. Just pm me with the quantity you want and your location. I can total it up and give you my paypal email address. I will have to chck the exact quantity I have, but I'm sure I have at least 32 chips.

I also have 8mb or 12mb worth of static column chips for the a3000. Either fpm or static column will work on the a3000, but the static column are approx 10% faster. A set of 4mb(8 chips) would run $32.
joeksterz is offline  
Old 11 August 2010, 22:46   #10
source
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 702
The manual for the bridgeboard lists the use of page mode zips. I know that in the cmos it does allow for switching between normal and page mode. Which would be the better configuration? Can the bridgeboard use static zips or do they have to be page mode?
source is offline  
Old 11 August 2010, 22:59   #11
joeksterz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 55
Static column ram can be used in place of page mode. The performance will be the same, so it would be better to use the cheaper page mode parts and save the static column for an a3000.
joeksterz is offline  
Old 11 August 2010, 23:21   #12
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 53
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Fast Page may not be faster, but at least is compatible with every accelerator I can put inside my little babe in the future.

I'll PM you.
rkauer is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virtual Memory or Memory Compactor Leandro Jardim support.Apps 2 30 May 2012 00:12
Blizzard Turbo Memory - SMD memory chips doesn't work sanjyuubi Hardware mods 5 26 May 2010 16:40
Bridgeboards. 3 of 'em. 2088, 2286, 2386sx. Somewhat working chiark MarketPlace 1 06 January 2010 14:30
[68000 ASM] Move memory to memory AmigaBoy Coders. General 7 08 December 2009 09:16
DMA memory to memory copy BlueAchenar Coders. General 14 23 January 2009 00:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07593 seconds with 13 queries