English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 September 2009, 01:45   #1
Muzer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 144
Eek How I installed ClassicWB with Linux, an A1200, an A600, and WB2.04

OK, the situation: 1 computer with Linux and an IDE port. 1 Amiga 1200. 1 Amiga 600. 1 set of WB2.04 disks. You also need the Workbench 3.x ADFs.
Steps:
1) Download ClassicWB and fiddle with it in UAE. You need to install Classic WB virtually first. You can mount the classic WB image in Linux (sudo mount -o loop System.hdf mount_point -t affs), then start uae as root to access it.
2) Stick the HDD in the A600 and insert the 2.04 Install disk. Type 0 when it asks if you want to change keymap.
3) Partition it using HDToolBox (max 2GB I believe per partition)
4) When you're there, name the partition WB_2.x
5) Run the hard drive format tool also on the install disk (NOT Format on the workbench disk). It will format the WB_2.x partition automatically (so make sure you don't have another partition called WB_2.x you want to keep). Answer no when it asks you if you want to install workbench. Open up the partitioner again and rename the disk to System.
6) Power off computer, put HDD in. Mount the HDD and the virtual image (sudo mkdir /media/real /media/virtual; sudo mount /dev/sdx1 /media/real -t affs; sudo mount -o loop System.adf /media/virtual -t affs)
7) Copy all the files across from virtual to real (sudo cp -av /media/virtual/* /media/virtual/.[^.]* /media/real)
8) Unmount both directories and delete them (sudo umount /media/{real,virtual}; sudo rmdir /media/{real,virtual})
9) Power off, insert into A1200, and GO!



EDIT: Sorry for the stupid post icon, must have accidently clicked it...

Last edited by Muzer; 20 September 2009 at 19:13.
Muzer is offline  
Old 20 September 2009, 19:21   #2
Muzer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 144
It's amazing how fast it it goes, even faster than the emulator! I can't wait to get some Fast RAM and really see it fly...
Muzer is offline  
Old 20 September 2009, 19:58   #3
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Thanks for your experiences Muzer. Glad you got it up and working.
Bloodwych is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how the hell do i get this classicwb installed leytond project.ClassicWB 43 20 April 2019 22:17
Does ClassicWB 3.9 installed ixemul.library? NovaCoder project.ClassicWB 5 12 October 2011 14:15
ClassicWB under Linux (guide by Muzar) Muzer project.ClassicWB 4 30 March 2010 19:18
A600 - Microdrive installed and working, but HDD light never comes on... mancalledSun support.Hardware 3 26 March 2010 05:11
Which version of ClassicWB for my A600? Frimann project.ClassicWB 5 02 November 2008 22:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.05830 seconds with 13 queries