English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 January 2009, 19:16   #1
Frimann
Registered User
Frimann's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Copenhagen / Denmark
Age: 35
Posts: 55
Buffer overflow when transfering lots of files

Hi all!

I would like to move Bloodwych's preinstalled Classic WB Lite 68k HDF-image to my 4gb CF card using winUAE. My CF is formated as a single FFS partition (3.7GB - well under the 4GB limit) and have just used the settings proposed by HDToolBox (buffer, blocksize, transfer rate etc.).

The way I tried to go about the problem was to open a shell and type in the following command:
dh0: ALL to dh1:
The miggy copies happily along but stops after 20 minutes or so with a buffer overflow error. Can any of you guys pinpoint the problem?

Another question: I've setup winUAE to closely resemble the specs of the miggy the CF card will eventually go in, which amounts to a rather slow machine:
  • A600, 68k
  • 2MB chip mem
  • 8MB fast mem
  • 3.1 ROM
Is it possible to setup winUAE in a way that benefits from the massive CPU power of the PC it is run upon without causing havoc? As I see it, file transfers are every bit as slow as on my real miggy.
Frimann is offline  
Old 30 January 2009, 00:38   #2
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
i'm not sure, but try to copy less files at once, sort of:
copy dh0:libs dh1:
copy dh0:devs dh1:
and so on.
maybe a file utility like dopus or filemaster have better copy routines and can manage the whole at once.

the winuae issue:
Hardware -> CPU and FPU -> Fastest possible ...
and Hardware -> Floppy -> Floppy Drive Emulation speed
hit is offline  
Old 30 January 2009, 01:08   #3
Slayer
Amiga Member
Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Zealand
Age: 52
Posts: 695
So it's just that one file? Perhaps the name is too long or has some unsupported symbols that the real AmigaFFS doesn't support and Amiga emulation does.

Perhaps the hdf is actually too big? block size on your PC might be 4096 or something and blocksize on CF is 512.

Your title does say it's lots of files so maybe there is a strange file where it chokes on, surely the procedure identifies it though?

Also, did you format verify that CF stick? to ensure your settings are not out of bounds and also the structure is correct and free of errors. The HDtools program might get the physical structure of your CF incorrect (read definitions) and you might have to guess it?

More questions, less answers ;-)

Last edited by Slayer; 30 January 2009 at 01:13.
Slayer is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need help transfering files Scolioza New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 17 March 2012 21:35
transfering files from PC to amiga 500 via null-modem radio waves New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 04 November 2007 23:00
SysEx buffer overflow Ducktale support.WinUAE 1 30 August 2007 13:20
Transfering .adf files to amiga Raffaz New to Emulation or Amiga scene 18 08 July 2007 12:39
Transfering files from PC to winuae... Narf the Mouse support.WinUAE 16 13 January 2007 02:55

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07559 seconds with 13 queries