English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 April 2007, 06:51   #1
webmany
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Oakbank, Canada
Posts: 85
How about a new A1200 accelerator card?

Has anyone ever looked into designing a new accelerator card for the 1200? Could we not use a dead blizzard for the idea on how to make one and then use newer parts, like a freescale G4?

It just seems there is a market for it, and if minimig can recreate a 500 and a compact flash floppy is in the works, then why not a accel card to?
webmany is offline  
Old 23 April 2007, 08:01   #2
EmuChicken
Senior Member
EmuChicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Nagoya, Japan (moved!)
Age: 37
Posts: 735
lol, I dont need a faster accelerator card... The 030 is fast enough to run all the old a500 / 1200 games via whdload anyways
EmuChicken is offline  
Old 23 April 2007, 08:02   #3
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,532
Not enough people are going to buy it, hence it doesn't make sense to design one.
Jope is offline  
Old 23 April 2007, 08:21   #4
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
noone bothers.... so just get a 2nd hand on eBay...
keropi is offline  
Old 23 April 2007, 09:32   #5
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 54
Posts: 1,749
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope
Not enough people are going to buy it, hence it doesn't make sense to design one.
well that would depend on price.. the eBay Blizzards are expensive. If someone had a £50 accelerator that was half decent I'd say they'd sell a fair few... but the economics would probably prevent design of a £50 accelerator.
Methanoid is offline  
Old 23 April 2007, 11:27   #6
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,236
You cannot make a £50 accelerator.

You cannot source the chips for that price, let alone make it.

The only "practical" new accelerator would be a 100MHz 68060 accelerator but you'd be talking production runs of 100-200 and prices of £200-£300
alexh is offline  
Old 23 April 2007, 15:38   #7
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
@alexh

wasn't there that cold fusion thing that used the nv4 core at 200mhz ? that was supose to be under £100..... not sure there was going to be a trap-door version though
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 23 April 2007, 15:40   #8
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 37
Posts: 2,480
I would for sure buy a new 060, even if it costed 300 new..

Heck second hand 060 gets almost that price now.
kriz is offline  
Old 23 April 2007, 15:48   #9
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
the coldfire would be uselless for classic stuff, because the 68k is not directly supported... at least that is what I understood from previous discussions on a.org... so if it cannot run classic stuff, what is the point?
keropi is offline  
Old 23 April 2007, 16:32   #10
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
I was under the impression it was a risk based 68k opti-code with only few *hardly used* instructions removed...

was it jens that mentioned something about building one that had a small firmware bios type instruction trapping method that could be flashed for an upgrade etc... hmmm... may have to digg this one out.... it would be much cheaper than a 100mhz 060 solution.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 23 April 2007, 16:39   #11
tootoid
Registered User
tootoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 37
I think coldfire is supposed to be "compatible enough" to run old m68k programs but what this means in the real world is anybody's guess.

Doesn't seem much point in this though, all the recent Amiga development's been moving away towards PPC so why release an accelerator that only runs m68k stuff?
tootoid is offline  
Old 23 April 2007, 17:50   #12
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,456
The Dragon price range is was ment to be about £150 Emulating 68k code it doesnt have.Also alowing programs to be compiled for its processor.

This card seems cool but maybe a simpler card would be better -Basic Trap door Version and make it cheaper
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 23 April 2007, 17:57   #13
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,236
The results of the Dragon and other Coldfire testing *MUST* have been that they run 68k software SLOWER than a 50MHz 060 otherwise they would have been released.
alexh is offline  
Old 24 April 2007, 09:33   #14
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 54
Posts: 1,749
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh
The results of the Dragon and other Coldfire testing *MUST* have been that they run 68k software SLOWER than a 50MHz 060 otherwise they would have been released.
I think *MUST* is a rather bolloxy statement. It is *QUITE PROBABLE* that was the reason but there could be any one of a dozen reasons why we have no CF accelerators (Oli HD couldn't manage it, Elbox thought the market was too small to justify the expense, etc etc etc).
Methanoid is offline  
Old 24 April 2007, 09:35   #15
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
what? we saw on the Dragon videos that it was not that fast! and do you think Elbox or any other company designed some piece of hardware all this time, only to can it? the amiga market was known, as well as it's volume... and I don't think it decreased that much in the past 5 months Dragon was shown!
bah, it must be crappy, like the mediator1200 that has all sorts of limitations....
keropi is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Accelerator card not working A1200 twenty90seven support.Hardware 2 11 July 2013 15:59
A1200 accelerator card question JonB support.Hardware 3 04 July 2013 00:00
Accelerator card A1200 lolafg support.Hardware 2 20 March 2011 14:57
Looking for an A1200 accelerator card ami_junkie MarketPlace 7 28 April 2009 13:51
Accelerator Card for A1200/2000 Frog MarketPlace 0 31 December 2005 09:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08267 seconds with 13 queries