English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.Sprites

Old 02 February 2012, 23:53   #1
Cherno

[Wanted] Hired Guns sprites

There is another thread about HG, amonst other games, but it lead to nowhere and I'm pretty sure there is an easier solution than to rip from memeory with gfxrip.

Anyway, when Hired Guns is installed on hard disk there are lots of directories that contain the game graphics files, but they are all in a strange *.gfx format I have found no way to open nor any information about them whatsoever. I suspect that these are custom compressed image files or archives created in-house at DMA Design.

I believe these files are in fact the same kind of images that exist in editable format for the characters (different angles and zoom levels). At least there is one *gfx file for each of the 18 different monsters in the game.

I have no coding experience but from my point of view it could be easy to extract the images/convert the files with a simple program.

I need those monster images for a tabletop/boardgame version of Hired Guns I have planned, because I want to create some paper miniatures out of them
Old 03 February 2012, 00:13   #2
s2325
Zone Friend

Could you see file header with some text editor?
Old 03 February 2012, 00:19   #3
Cherno

Believe it or not, I barely got workbench installed with WinUAE, but I have no text programs or anything on the hard disk directory.
Old 03 February 2012, 00:45   #4
lilalurl
Global Moderator

Send a message via ICQ to lilalurl
You can check them from the Windows side (unless you used a hdf for your virtual Amiga hard drive).

I have uploaded to the zone 2 gfx files (one of a character and one of a monster).

I don't think you can see a header. A quick look through an hex editor does not show anything useful (at least to my eyes). And a program like Irfanview which automatically detect some headers does not recognize it.