English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 January 2013, 15:46   #21
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,675
Quote:
Originally Posted by PJM View Post
This is possible but you would have to sacrifice an AMIGA 1200 and it would require a heat gun to remove the components. I would then place them in sockets for ease of building and diagnosis.

The biggest issue is that they are more complex, would require more layers and cost more $$$.

If I have to design my own and if theres demand I would try and do an AGA version. An AGA or AA design in an A2000 case, now that would be cool.

Hi,

Thanks for the kind words earlier. What would be the specs of the board size and layers, i can see what i can get them made for to see if its economically doable
kipper2k is offline  
Old 23 January 2013, 18:01   #22
PJM
Registered User
PJM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lyneham, UK
Posts: 152
If I can get the eagle files I can get all the info. If I can't then it will be my own design and that's some way away. I've contacted the original author so we will see what happens.
PJM is offline  
Old 24 January 2013, 07:18   #23
billt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by PJM View Post
If I have to design my own and if theres demand I would try and do an AGA version. An AGA or AA design in an A2000 case, now that would be cool.

I'd go for atx, maybe for 2000. wouldn't mind 3000. miniitx could be neat too.
whatever you might do, consider doing pci instead of isa slots, line things up so we can plug in mediator bridge or build-in prometheus? if it's a non-profit board?
billt is offline  
Old 24 January 2013, 11:54   #24
hese
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by PJM View Post
If I can get the eagle files I can get all the info. If I can't then it will be my own design and that's some way away. I've contacted the original author so we will see what happens.
You can get the eagle files here http://www.gb97816.homepage.t-online...1kboard_00.zip.
hese is offline  
Old 24 January 2013, 13:59   #25
PJM
Registered User
PJM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lyneham, UK
Posts: 152
Wow - how the... well done that man.
PJM is offline  
Old 24 January 2013, 14:00   #26
PJM
Registered User
PJM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lyneham, UK
Posts: 152
kipper2k can you get quotes based on those? I can convert them to a gerber file if needed.
PJM is offline  
Old 24 January 2013, 20:39   #27
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,675
Quote:
Originally Posted by PJM View Post
kipper2k can you get quotes based on those? I can convert them to a gerber file if needed.

I sent the file for a quote (25 of them) so hopefully tomorrow may have a $ value
kipper2k is offline  
Old 24 January 2013, 22:12   #28
PJM
Registered User
PJM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lyneham, UK
Posts: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by billt View Post
I'd go for atx, maybe for 2000. wouldn't mind 3000. miniitx could be neat too.
whatever you might do, consider doing pci instead of isa slots, line things up so we can plug in mediator bridge or build-in prometheus? if it's a non-profit board?
Chances are I will now end up doing my own board anyway as well as a gba1000. Mini itx is too small to fit even the AGA based Amiga hardware. A flex ATX board might be possible. if I develop the concept they would be ATX based with Amiga replacement boards further down the line.

It woud be a not for profit build your own board concept as with the GBA1000.

First things first though, lets make gba1000s!
PJM is offline  
Old 24 January 2013, 22:20   #29
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,675
I also sent away a quote for some 33, 40 and 50mhz CPU's... My place normally can find em if they exist (NOS) so hopefully there may be good news in that department. I don't trust ebay for chips too often, especially the pricy ones

Edit, if the board was 2 layers then price for the board would be (before shipping, customs, brokerage fees etc) ~ $45 each
kipper2k is offline  
Old 25 January 2013, 16:22   #30
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,675
I just received the quote for the motherboards...

$25 each

Dont forget shipping and customs, etc need to be added so probably about $34 in my hands
kipper2k is offline  
Old 25 January 2013, 18:17   #31
billt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
I just received the quote for the motherboards...

$25 each

Dont forget shipping and customs, etc need to be added so probably about $34 in my hands
I'm interested in one!
billt is offline  
Old 25 January 2013, 18:46   #32
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 44
Posts: 748
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
I just received the quote for the motherboards...

$25 each

Dont forget shipping and customs, etc need to be added so probably about $34 in my hands
Damn! That's cheap!

edit: I asked before, who will provide the programmable chips, I know most of us can't do it our selves. That's a show stopper for me.
Also, did anyone crated a spreadsheet with current pricing of all components?
amiman99 is offline  
Old 25 January 2013, 18:53   #33
PJM
Registered User
PJM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lyneham, UK
Posts: 152
We have the official go ahead.

Quote:
Hello,

you can make it. Use the newer version Revision 4, please. The files are containing at the download from my homepage.
Revison 4 supports the newer agnus chip and has a divider (74F74) for the oscillator. And a Port for the indivision-ecs- flicker fixer, if you want it.....

regards,
Georg Braun
PJM is offline  
Old 25 January 2013, 18:55   #34
PJM
Registered User
PJM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lyneham, UK
Posts: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by amiman99 View Post
Damn! That's cheap!

edit: I asked before, who will provide the programmable chips, I know most of us can't do it our selves. That's a show stopper for me.
Also, did anyone crated a spreadsheet with current pricing of all components?
I know a few guys at uni who had the equipment so will try them, if not our best bet is asking on a1k.org.

The spreadsheet in the package above shouldn't be far off.
PJM is offline  
Old 25 January 2013, 19:05   #35
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 44
Posts: 748
Quote:
Originally Posted by PJM View Post
I know a few guys at uni who had the equipment so will try them, if not our best bet is asking on a1k.org.

The spreadsheet in the package above shouldn't be far off.
I see it. Thanks.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 25 January 2013, 19:05   #36
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,675
Still waiting on the price of the CPU's, Do you have the rev 4 schematic? i am assuming the size of the motherboard is the same. The quotes i got for the board are gold plated too so that is a plus.

It is possible (maybe) thati can create custom cases once i get settled in with my new toy.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 25 January 2013, 19:13   #37
PJM
Registered User
PJM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lyneham, UK
Posts: 152
I think what you asked for Kipper is the revision 4 anyway. - Check out the guys other work -

http://www.gb97816.homepage.t-online.de/

A 040/060 accelerator for the GBA1000 and a custom Picasso II graphics card!

I still think an ATX version would work well at a later date, if it can be fitted onto a full ATX board.
PJM is offline  
Old 25 January 2013, 19:17   #38
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,675
the board has -04 on it so i am assuming it is the rev 4.

Anyone know what a reasonable price for the 68030's are going for nowadays ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by PJM View Post
I think what you asked for Kipper is the revision 4 anyway. - Check out the guys other work -

http://www.gb97816.homepage.t-online.de/

A 040/060 accelerator for the GBA1000 and a custom Picasso II graphics card!

I still think an ATX version would work well at a later date, if it can be fitted onto a full ATX board.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 25 January 2013, 19:18   #39
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 950
How about the A2000 version
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 25 January 2013, 19:43   #40
PJM
Registered User
PJM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lyneham, UK
Posts: 152
I'm trying to gather some dead A2000 boards to examine but for now we'll concentrate on getting this GBA1000 made.
PJM is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GB1000 for sale lopos2000 MarketPlace 4 11 April 2009 14:35
Anyone interested in CDTV? mabus MarketPlace 15 29 March 2009 15:53
how to run winuae and run Tau Ceti Academy ??? funkycatspangky support.Games 7 22 July 2007 18:51
Interested in these? Feltzkrone project.SPS (was CAPS) 16 19 August 2004 11:21
Interested in some of these? jesterrace request.Old Rare Games 8 03 June 2002 11:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09730 seconds with 14 queries