English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 March 2013, 08:47   #1
Obliterator
Registered User
Obliterator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Perth Western Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 89
Question A570 help needed to get working again

Hi

I just got my A570 CD drive for my Amiga 500 in the post last week and I hooked it up and powered it up nothing just a black screen just a tad upset

So I set it all up was a very happy little camper too I switched on the CD power pack then the A500 power pack and got the said black screen the A570 had a blinking power light dull then bright
so I turned all the the power packs off and set the volume knob to off on the A570 as from memory that turns the A570 off so I switch everything back on again the A500 works fine so I switched the A500 off again and set the volume switch back on and and fitted my spare power pack to the A570 thinking It mite had been just a power pack issue the blinking power light so again starting with the A570 power pack and then the A500s and the same again It goes white grey then the black screen but the power light isnt blinking now

Does anyone have any ideas ? as to why I keep getting that black screen please
Obliterator is offline  
Old 02 March 2013, 13:19   #2
Loedown
Precious & fragile things

 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,945
I don't own nor have I used an A570 but from the little knowledge I have gleaned from a few pages worth of reading I would assume it's like the A590 in that it locks up the Amiga until it boots, which is also a black screen. Check what signals it needs from the Amiga to function and then check, if any, logic chips in the unit itself along with the usual voltage checks.
Loedown is offline  
Old 04 March 2013, 17:31   #3
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,121
Could someone have stolen the Extended ROM's inside to upgrade a CDTV?
alexh is offline  
Old 28 October 2017, 23:52   #4
big-ted
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Leicester UK
Posts: 33
Did you ever get this working or find some manual to test from ?

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
big-ted is offline  
Old 29 October 2017, 04:40   #5
dalek
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NSW/Australia
Posts: 214
Do you have 1MB chip ram? You need it.
dalek is offline  
Old 21 February 2018, 17:10   #6
trolleymaster
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Suffolk,UK
Posts: 18
A570 stuck in reboot loop

Hi All

Hope someone can help. I have an A570 cd-rom, which was working fine.
It now however gets stuck in a perpetual boot/reboot loop - exactly the same cycle as the original post from "Obliterator"

When disconnected from the A500, the Amiga loads up and boots fine from the floppy.

I believe the kickstart/extended ROM is faulty inside the A570.
Its a v2.30 , p/n 391298-01

I was informed that the CDTV extended rom v2.30 would be compatible - so I ordered one - but it only has 32 pins. The A570 rom has 40 pins.

Can anyone help/advise or even better supply a rom ?
trolleymaster is offline  
Old 21 February 2018, 19:13   #7
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,653
Check if both PSU's working correctly (A570 require separate PSU and A500 require separate PSU). PSU for A570 and for A500 should be same (i mean they are interchangeable).
pandy71 is offline  
Old 21 February 2018, 21:25   #8
trolleymaster
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Suffolk,UK
Posts: 18
Hi Pandy

thanks for that.
I have swapped over psus (one powering the Amiga and cd-rom vice versa) and it makes no difference.
I have also got trap door 512kb installed - again I have tried with and without.

the thing is, it was working.
Then I tried to run a CDTV disc, it started to load (i saw the loading screen), crashed and then that was it.
trolleymaster is offline  
Old 22 February 2018, 19:15   #9
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by trolleymaster View Post
the thing is, it was working.
Then I tried to run a CDTV disc, it started to load (i saw the loading screen), crashed and then that was it.
Vibrations?

After so many years this may be some connector issue (try to reconnect few times unpowered A570 and A500) - perhaps you need to clean both connectors (i mean PCB part and A570 connector) - use some dedicated chemistry for this (you can also use some dedicated glass fibre brush), another issue can be cold/cracked solder joint - perhaps it will be good to inspect A570 connector area for this - both devices are quite heavy and bulky and connector is really loaded and under mechanical stress (not good for signal integrity).

Forgot to add that reseating IC's may be also helpful.
pandy71 is offline  
Old 22 February 2018, 23:47   #10
Lemaru
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Berks, UK
Posts: 83
I dug my A570 out over Christmas after being in storage for 20 years. When hooked up I also got a black screen and nothing much more. Turned out it was just the connection so cleaned the edge connector on the A500 and the connector pins on the A570 and it now boots to the CDTV boot screen fine. May be worth cleaning them up
Lemaru is offline  
Old 23 February 2018, 14:17   #11
trolleymaster
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Suffolk,UK
Posts: 18
thanks for all the suggestions.

Unfortunately I have tried all these.
I wanted to try the rom to eliminate it either way. Trouble is I cant find one anywhere !

Will a later edition rom fit - eg a V3.1 (one in the a570 is v2.30)
trolleymaster is offline  
Old 23 February 2018, 16:50   #12
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by trolleymaster View Post
Will a later edition rom fit - eg a V3.1 (one in the a570 is v2.30)
There are 3 CDTV Extended ROM binaries v1.0 (only compatible with KS1.3) v2.07 and v2.30

There is no v3.1

I suspect you're getting confused with Kickstart ROM rather than a CDTV Extended ROM.
alexh is offline  
Old 23 February 2018, 17:34   #13
trolleymaster
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Suffolk,UK
Posts: 18
Hi Alex

Thanks for responding.
The one in the A570 is a v2.30 , p/n 391298-01

I did note the CDTV rom types, and I was informed that the CDTV extended rom v2.30 would be compatible - so I ordered one - two arrived (its an "odd" and "Even" set) - but they only have 32 pins.
The A570 rom has 40 pins.

thats why I wondered if the kickstart rom 3.1 (or 3) would work - but I guess not ?

In which case I wanted to get a a570 rom - load of searching and I keep ending up back at the CDTV roms - which dont fit !
trolleymaster is offline  
Old 23 February 2018, 17:52   #14
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by trolleymaster View Post
I did note the CDTV rom types, and I was informed that the CDTV extended rom v2.30 would be compatible - so I ordered one - two arrived (its an "odd" and "Even" set) - but they only have 32 pins.
The A570 rom has 40 pins.
Added after checking - Seem i was wrong - Odd & Even are OK for CDTV board - they are located close to DMAC. U34 Even, U35 Odd. Sorry

Doubt that this is ROM issue.
bellow invalid feedback
Odd & Even + 32 pin suggest that you bought illegal home made clone using 2x 8 bit EPROM IC's, original 40 pin ROM is 16 bit.To use your 2 IC's you will need a board (something like this should work fine http://amigaprj.blogspot.com/2013/05...kickstart.html ) that do conversion from 2x 8 bit EPROM's to one 40 pin socket. Such task should not be a big challenge but i would avoid such solution.

Last edited by pandy71; 23 February 2018 at 19:33.
pandy71 is offline  
Old 23 February 2018, 17:59   #15
trolleymaster
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Suffolk,UK
Posts: 18
Hi Pandy

Thanks for responding.
I got them from here.
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Commodore...-/202221463399

looked like they were designed that way, for the CDTV.

if its not the rom then I dont know what else could be wrong with it.
Thanks anyway.
trolleymaster is offline  
Old 23 February 2018, 19:37   #16
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by trolleymaster View Post
Hi Pandy

Thanks for responding.
I got them from here.
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Commodore...-/202221463399

looked like they were designed that way, for the CDTV.

if its not the rom then I dont know what else could be wrong with it.
Thanks anyway.
Look above for my previous message re-edited - i was unable to re-edit message earlier due some database issue on EAB.
Sorry once again - i just follow your comment about 40 pin ROM and didn't check CDTV schematics blindly applying my experience with CD32 and A500.
pandy71 is offline  
Old 23 February 2018, 19:42   #17
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,773
CDTV has single KS ROM (16-bit, same as in A500) and "extended" is in 2x8 bit ROMs. A570 has single 16-bit "extended" ROM.

Yes, you have version that only fits in CDTV. But I don't think there was official versions of 2.30 for CDTV, because even if 2.30 appears to work fine in CDTV, without floppy drive CDTV title screen has red shade (boot error "color code").
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 24 February 2018, 10:30   #18
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
CDTV has single KS ROM (16-bit, same as in A500) and "extended" is in 2x8 bit ROMs. A570 has single 16-bit "extended" ROM.
This explain why i blindly agreed with 40 pin ROM (extension) - anyway sorry for previous comment . Thx Toni.
pandy71 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help needed getting 8mb 030 working terexuk support.Hardware 14 10 May 2011 19:12
Selling: spare parts from CDTV and (working?) A570 CD drive! gehtjanx MarketPlace 2 19 April 2011 21:41
A570 Help tronko request.Other 13 21 July 2010 02:13
A Few A570 Questions HogWild support.Hardware 4 17 June 2009 09:02
How to mount A570? JackTheKnife support.Hardware 37 21 December 2008 17:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12511 seconds with 15 queries