English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General > Coders. Releases

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 March 2018, 00:35   #221
grelbfarlk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cego View Post
is it by default running on Warp3D? i just wondered because it looks like software rendered. When i change it in the setup from "default" to "voodoo" i'll get messed up graphics (both menu and ingame).

regarding sound, when i activate s_initsound 1, i'll get a grey screen and the game wont start at all. its the same when i do this via console.
Yes by default WOS version is running in Warp3D. You don't want to play with the video options too much otherwise you get that grey screen issue you experienced. Delete your .cfg file and let it create a new one.

Attached is my Q3config if this might be of help-attachment upload says this is an invalid file for some reason. I think I left it in vertex lighting mode. Vertex lighting looks worse but is something like 5-20% faster.

I did test 16-bit sound with the SB128 which sounded "ok" once. But after I started screwing with the options it started to get distorted so I reverted.

Code:
// generated by quake, do not modify
unbindall
bind TAB "+scores"
bind ENTER "+button2"
bind ESCAPE "togglemenu"
bind SPACE "+moveup"
bind + "sizeup"
bind - "sizedown"
bind / "weapnext"
bind 0 "weapon 10"
bind 1 "weapon 1"
bind 2 "weapon 2"
bind 3 "weapon 3"
bind 4 "weapon 4"
bind 5 "weapon 5"
bind 6 "weapon 6"
bind 7 "weapon 7"
bind 8 "weapon 8"
bind 9 "weapon 9"
bind = "sizeup"
bind [ "weapprev"
bind \ "+mlook"
bind ] "weapnext"
bind _ "sizedown"
bind ` "toggleconsole"
bind a "+moveleft"
bind c "+movedown"
bind d "+moveright"
bind s "+back"
bind t "messagemode"
bind w "+forward"
bind ~ "toggleconsole"
bind PAUSE "pause"
bind UPARROW "+forward"
bind DOWNARROW "+back"
bind LEFTARROW "+left"
bind RIGHTARROW "+right"
bind ALT "+strafe"
bind CTRL "+attack"
bind SHIFT "+speed"
bind DEL "+lookdown"
bind PGDN "+lookup"
bind END "centerview"
bind F1 "vote yes"
bind F2 "vote no"
bind F3 "ui_teamorders"
bind F11 "screenshot"
bind MOUSE1 "+attack"
bind MOUSE2 "+strafe"
bind MOUSE3 "+zoom"
bind MWHEELDOWN "weapnext"
bind MWHEELUP "weapprev"
seta g_allowVote "1"
seta g_filterBan "1"
seta g_banIPs ""
seta g_logSync "0"
seta g_log "games.log"
seta g_warmup "20"
seta g_teamForceBalance "0"
seta g_teamAutoJoin "0"
seta g_friendlyFire "0"
seta capturelimit "8"
seta g_maxGameClients "0"
seta sv_maxclients "8"
seta timelimit "0"
seta fraglimit "20"
seta dmflags "0"
seta cm_playerCurveClip "1"
seta cg_trueLightning "0.0"
seta cg_oldPlasma "1"
seta cg_oldRocket "1"
seta cg_oldRail "1"
seta ui_bigFont "0.4"
seta ui_smallFont "0.25"
seta cg_noProjectileTrail "0"
seta cg_noTaunt "0"
seta cg_smoothClients "0"
seta cg_scorePlums "1"
seta cg_cameraOrbitDelay "50"
seta cg_noVoiceText "0"
seta cg_noVoiceChats "0"
seta cg_teamChatsOnly "0"
seta cg_drawFriend "1"
seta cg_drawTeamOverlay "0"
seta cg_deferPlayers "1"
seta cg_forceModel "0"
seta cg_teamChatHeight "0"
seta cg_teamChatTime "3000"
seta cg_bobroll "0.002"
seta cg_bobpitch "0.002"
seta cg_runroll "0.005"
seta cg_runpitch "0.002"
seta cg_railTrailTime "400"
seta cg_lagometer "1"
seta cg_simpleItems "0"
seta cg_crosshairY "0"
seta cg_crosshairX "0"
seta cg_crosshairHealth "1"
seta cg_crosshairSize "24"
seta cg_drawRewards "1"
seta cg_drawAttacker "1"
seta cg_drawAmmoWarning "1"
seta cg_drawIcons "1"
seta cg_draw3dIcons "1"
seta cg_drawSnapshot "0"
seta cg_drawFPS "0"
seta cg_drawTimer "0"
seta cg_drawStatus "1"
seta cg_draw2D "1"
seta cg_gibs "1"
seta cg_fov "90"
seta cg_zoomfov "22.5"
seta cg_drawGun "1"
seta cg_shadows "0"
seta cg_stereoSeparation "0"
seta com_hunkMegs "64"
seta com_altivec "0"
seta com_maxfps "85"
seta com_blood "1"
seta logfile "0"
seta com_ansiColor "0"
seta com_maxfpsUnfocused "0"
seta com_maxfpsMinimized "0"
seta com_introplayed "1"
seta in_mouse "1"
seta in_joystick "1"
seta joy_threshold "0.15"
seta vm_cgame "2"
seta vm_game "2"
seta vm_ui "2"
seta sv_hostname "noname"
seta sv_minRate "0"
seta sv_maxRate "0"
seta sv_minPing "0"
seta sv_maxPing "0"
seta sv_floodProtect "1"
seta sv_dlURL ""
seta sv_master2 ""
seta sv_master3 ""
seta sv_master4 ""
seta sv_master5 ""
seta sv_lanForceRate "1"
seta sv_strictAuth "1"
seta cl_timedemoLog ""
seta cl_autoRecordDemo "0"
seta cl_aviFrameRate "25"
seta cl_aviMotionJpeg "1"
seta cl_yawspeed "140"
seta cl_pitchspeed "140"
seta cl_maxpackets "30"
seta cl_packetdup "1"
seta cl_run "1"
seta sensitivity "5"
seta cl_mouseAccel "0"
seta cl_freelook "1"
seta cl_allowDownload "0"
seta r_inGameVideo "1"
seta cg_autoswitch "1"
seta m_pitch "0.022"
seta m_yaw "0.022"
seta m_forward "0.25"
seta m_side "0.25"
seta m_filter "0"
seta cl_maxPing "800"
seta cl_lanForcePackets "1"
seta cl_guidServerUniq "1"
seta cl_consoleKeys "~ ` 0x7e 0x60"
seta name "UnnamedPlayer"
seta rate "3000"
seta snaps "20"
seta model "sarge"
seta headmodel "sarge"
seta team_model "james"
seta team_headmodel "*james"
seta g_redTeam "Stroggs"
seta g_blueTeam "Pagans"
seta color1 "4"
seta color2 "5"
seta handicap "100"
seta sex "male"
seta cl_anonymous "0"
seta cg_predictItems "1"
seta cg_viewsize "100"
seta r_allowExtensions "1"
seta r_ext_compressed_textures "0"
seta r_ext_multitexture "0"
seta r_ext_compiled_vertex_array "0"
seta r_ext_texture_env_add "0"
seta r_ext_texture_filter_anisotropic "0"
seta r_ext_max_anisotropy "2"
seta r_picmip "1"
seta r_roundImagesDown "1"
seta r_detailtextures "1"
seta r_texturebits "0"
seta r_colorbits "0"
seta r_stencilbits "0"
seta r_depthbits "0"
seta r_overBrightBits "1"
seta r_ignorehwgamma "0"
seta r_mode "3"
seta r_fullscreen "1"
seta r_customwidth "800"
seta r_customheight "480"
seta r_customPixelAspect "1"
seta r_simpleMipMaps "1"
seta r_vertexLight "1"
seta r_subdivisions "4"
seta r_stereoEnabled "0"
seta r_ignoreFastPath "1"
seta r_greyscale "0"
seta r_lodCurveError "250"
seta r_lodbias "0"
seta r_flares "0"
seta r_zproj "64"
seta r_stereoSeparation "64"
seta r_ignoreGLErrors "1"
seta r_fastsky "1"
seta r_drawSun "0"
seta r_dynamiclight "1"
seta r_dlightBacks "1"
seta r_finish "0"
seta r_textureMode "GL_LINEAR_MIPMAP_LINEAR"
seta r_swapInterval "0"
seta r_gamma "1"
seta r_facePlaneCull "1"
seta r_railWidth "16"
seta r_railCoreWidth "6"
seta r_railSegmentLength "32"
seta r_primitives "3"
seta r_anaglyphMode "0"
seta r_vertexbuffersize "8192"
seta r_glbuffers "3"
seta r_guardband "1"
seta r_closeworkbench "0"
seta s_volume "0.8"
seta s_musicvolume "0.25"
seta s_doppler "0"
seta s_muteWhenMinimized "0"
seta ui_ffa_fraglimit "20"
seta ui_ffa_timelimit "0"
seta ui_tourney_fraglimit "0"
seta ui_tourney_timelimit "15"
seta ui_team_fraglimit "0"
seta ui_team_timelimit "20"
seta ui_team_friendly "1"
seta ui_ctf_capturelimit "8"
seta ui_ctf_timelimit "30"
seta ui_ctf_friendly "0"
seta g_spScores1 ""
seta g_spScores2 "\l2\1\l1\1"
seta g_spScores3 ""
seta g_spScores4 ""
seta g_spScores5 ""
seta g_spAwards "\a4\40\a1\8\a2\4"
seta g_spVideos ""
seta g_spSkill "2"
seta ui_browserMaster "0"
seta s_initsound "1"
seta ui_browserGameType "0"
seta ui_browserSortKey "4"
seta ui_browserShowFull "1"
seta ui_browserShowEmpty "1"
seta cg_brassTime "2500"
seta cg_drawCrosshair "4"
seta cg_drawCrosshairNames "1"
seta cg_marks "0"
seta server1 ""
seta server2 ""
seta server3 ""
seta server4 ""
seta server5 ""
seta server6 ""
seta server7 ""
seta server8 ""
seta server9 ""
seta server10 ""
seta server11 ""
seta server12 ""
seta server13 ""
seta server14 ""
seta server15 ""
seta server16 ""
seta net_enabled "1"
seta net_socksEnabled "0"
seta net_socksServer ""
seta net_socksPort "1080"
seta net_socksUsername ""
seta net_socksPassword ""
seta sndbits "8"
seta sndspeed "22050"
seta sndchannels "2"
seta com_soundMegs "8"
seta s_khz "22"
seta s_mixahead "0.2"
seta s_mixPreStep "0.05"
seta developer "0"
seta com_zoneMegs "24"
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 26 March 2018, 11:16   #222
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 758
Issues about what works/doesn't work are discussed in this thread but well....

Do not change stuff from within the game that could reload the render engine: Edit q3config.cfg.
Is the way it is now.

Basically by trial & error when graphics settings are ok, enable sound in cfg s_initsound "1" (that seems missing on grelbfarlk cfg....).

Cannot blindly enable joystick support -functions exists in Q3 but no Amiga event/library stuff is done to check for it-. Maybe toying with setup/move configurations and triggering joy positions simulates it's behaviour.

As some figure out by now, for the 68k version disabling sky ( r_fastsky 1 ) alleviates its render problems.
Cowcat is offline  
Old 19 May 2018, 18:35   #223
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 758
JIT for PPC AKA the beta 4/5.

A Hedeon aproved one, after a couple of hours of testing and code/help from him.

Don't know about older G2 ppc's but increased 10% timedemo on G3 Sonnet. I suspect is faster for online playing.

Last edited by Cowcat; 03 September 2018 at 14:04.
Cowcat is offline  
Old 19 May 2018, 19:58   #224
trixster
Guru Meditating
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 2,337
Great work Cowcat!
trixster is offline  
Old 20 May 2018, 04:19   #225
grelbfarlk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,902
Works well, excellent job by the two of you.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 21 May 2018, 07:20   #226
BULI
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowcat View Post
JIT for PPC AKA the beta 4/5.

A Hedeon aproved one, after a couple of hours of testing and code/help from him.

Don't know about older G2 ppc's but increased 10% timedemo on G3 Sonnet. I suspect is faster for online playing.

Great message
BULI is offline  
Old 21 May 2018, 11:40   #227
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 758
Thanks guys

Starting the game that way from a shell - for testing differences

Code:
quake3-jit +set vm_ui 1 +set vm_cgame 1 +set vm_game 1
,disables the JIT & goes to the interpreted mode (the older way it was compiled).

On Q3 console typing "vminfo" shows what version is running ("interpreted" or "compiled on load").

The vm values are saved on Q3config, so be aware of that: Default is "2" for JIT/vm.

On my system timedemo gives 60.4/9 fps for interpreted and 70-71 fps for "compiled". Standing still at maps shows a noticiable fps increase and I feel that online playing is "better". But, not of this makes OpenArena faster right away (there are other factors), althought multiplayer could be alright (have to test this).

Have to point out that no "compiled" vm's are really loaded. Still have to figure out how those can be build or if it is possible on this Amiga version, but the first step was to figure out "JIT" for PPC. Theoretically having those vm's could enable the game to load famous mods "out there", or for what I could understand.

No, there's no 68k JIT code if you ask.
Cowcat is offline  
Old 22 May 2018, 09:27   #228
BULI
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowcat View Post
Thanks guys

Starting the game that way from a shell - for testing differences

Code:
quake3-jit +set vm_ui 1 +set vm_cgame 1 +set vm_game 1
,disables the JIT & goes to the interpreted mode (the older way it was compiled).

On Q3 console typing "vminfo" shows what version is running ("interpreted" or "compiled on load").

The vm values are saved on Q3config, so be aware of that: Default is "2" for JIT/vm.

On my system timedemo gives 60.4/9 fps for interpreted and 70-71 fps for "compiled". Standing still at maps shows a noticiable fps increase and I feel that online playing is "better". But, not of this makes OpenArena faster right away (there are other factors), althought multiplayer could be alright (have to test this).

Have to point out that no "compiled" vm's are really loaded. Still have to figure out how those can be build or if it is possible on this Amiga version, but the first step was to figure out "JIT" for PPC. Theoretically having those vm's could enable the game to load famous mods "out there", or for what I could understand.

No, there's no 68k JIT code if you ask.
I have speed up on new quake3 with JIT compare to beta3.

I had 23 FPS in DEMO FOUR, now I have 25,7 (JIT)
BULI is offline  
Old 22 May 2018, 14:18   #229
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 758
Almost 12% increase. Not extreme at the end for regular playing but still old vm_ppc code: Newer is difficult to compile.
Cowcat is offline  
Old 22 May 2018, 20:17   #230
BULI
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowcat View Post
Almost 12% increase. Not extreme at the end for regular playing but still old vm_ppc code: Newer is difficult to compile.

Almost 12% increase- Yes, this is nice progress, and in my feeling, game is more smooth
BULI is offline  
Old 22 May 2018, 21:38   #231
trixster
Guru Meditating
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 2,337
12% is a very worthwhile improvement when you're hovering around the 18-23fps mark like Quake3 on a 400mhz sonnet. Again, great work Cowcat! In one week I will be back home and able to try out all your work!
trixster is offline  
Old 23 May 2018, 00:45   #232
grelbfarlk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,902
I'm really very very really very very really curious about the possibility of using other mods? *Me mashes "I would like to know more" button*

Also 28.4 FPS on demo four now.

Last edited by grelbfarlk; 25 May 2018 at 02:26.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 31 May 2018, 13:49   #233
trixster
Guru Meditating
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 2,337
Finally had chance to try jit out on the sonnet!

Demo4 timedemo with brasstime 500, no gun model, no bullet marks, no sound and dynamic lights on went from approx 19fps to just over 25fps! Wow

Rapture 450mhz returns 28fps. Same settings with 8bit sound on is 25fps.

Last edited by trixster; 31 May 2018 at 17:52.
trixster is offline  
Old 01 June 2018, 13:19   #234
trixster
Guru Meditating
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 2,337
I noticed in the ioq3 GitHub readme a new command com_altivec - is it a possibility to get an altivec enabled version for Amiga?
trixster is offline  
Old 01 June 2018, 13:47   #235
BULI
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by trixster View Post
Finally had chance to try jit out on the sonnet!

Demo4 timedemo with brasstime 500, no gun model, no bullet marks, no sound and dynamic lights on went from approx 19fps to just over 25fps! Wow

Rapture 450mhz returns 28fps. Same settings with 8bit sound on is 25fps.

In my configuration difrence are: sound on (8Bit DMA Paula), gun model is on, geometry is MIDLE, texture quality is one step before higest quality, and I have 25.7 on Sonnet 400mhz (1MB cache) - with sound!


What give that difrence?
BULI is offline  
Old 01 June 2018, 14:39   #236
trixster
Guru Meditating
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 2,337
I have dynamic lights on, and geometry high, blood and gibs on. You have same settings?

Quake 3 uses AHI Music Unit or 0 or 1 or 2?
trixster is offline  
Old 01 June 2018, 14:45   #237
BULI
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by trixster View Post
I have dynamic lights on, and geometry high, blood and gibs on. You have same settings?

Quake 3 uses AHI Music Unit or 0 or 1 or 2?

Unit 0


only one difference: geometrry MEDIUM level
BULI is offline  
Old 01 June 2018, 18:29   #238
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 758
Quote:
I'm really very very really very very really curious about the possibility of using other mods?
I should explain better about the qvm's: They exist in pak0.pk3 and taken from it (anyways it's impossible to do anything without those).
My issues are about building "outside qvm's" as the official ioquake3 makefiles do as extras apart from the regular "ioquake3", but don't know about their use with regular gaming as the engine loads the "paked" ones primarily. Maybe they are templates for developers creating new mods (??). I blamed the failure to load some multiplayer arenas because of this, but not sure about that now. Not an easy task to do: To compile qvm's you have to build lcc q3asm tools before and some stuff is missing for Amiga (like fork() function for example).

Quote:
I noticed in the ioq3 GitHub readme a new command com_altivec - is it a possibility to get an altivec enabled version for Amiga?
The altivec switch exists since the beginning of Q3: Of course, not enabled in my version because there's no altivec vbcc support (although vasm has it).

I have to point out that altivec is not the panacea of it all: It doesn't make a "slow Q3 on my system" suddenly faster just for being "altivec". Only three Q3 functions, IIRW, have altivec counterparts. One is in audio, other one belongs to dynamic lighting calculations. How many play Q3 without vertexlight enabled?

Last edited by Cowcat; 01 June 2018 at 18:42.
Cowcat is offline  
Old 01 June 2018, 18:37   #239
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 758
By the way Marlon updated the github with the old beta3 sources. Still a while to clean the "everydaychangingupdating" beta4/5.....
Cowcat is offline  
Old 01 June 2018, 19:07   #240
trixster
Guru Meditating
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 2,337
I use lightmap, not vertex.
trixster is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quake 2 WorkShop Cowcat Coders. General 237 02 May 2023 20:40
Quake, Quake 2 and Heretic 2 don't run after update to Mediator TX Turrican(AEB) support.Games 14 25 August 2008 21:11
Quake Cosmos support.WinUAE 8 11 February 2007 15:54
Quake 2 DDNI request.Apps 2 06 December 2006 00:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:55.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.25741 seconds with 16 queries