English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 March 2018, 18:03   #101
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 2,650
@elenachen

I've just built this and can confirm that it works perfectly, even with a very noisy/jittery switch. It's a simple enough design, and you could probably use the single-gate version of the Schmitt inverter (74HCT1G14) to save board space if you don't need the other 5 gates in the package. C7 and C8 are just decoupling capacitors for the two logic chips.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ATX-Control.png
Views:	88
Size:	48.1 KB
ID:	57303  
Daedalus is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 March 2018, 18:28   #102
MigaTech
Only Amiga !!

MigaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 399
@Daedalus, Nice design really easy to read. Can I just ask about the 40K R5 and the 18K R6, why those values?
MigaTech is offline  
Old 16 March 2018, 18:42   #103
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 2,650
R6 and C6 create an RC circuit that absorbs all the switch jitter. 1uF was picked as a standard value, and the resistor chosen to give a long enough fall time to cover the switch bounce but still give a quick response. The 40K resistor is a pull-up for the circuit, and is part of the RC circuit for when the button is released, giving a slow rise time and also ensuring that the capacitor doesn't charge instantly. The exact values aren't that critical, but the ratios need to be something along those lines to get the input into the Schmitt inverter around the right level. In my prototype I used 18K and 39K resistors as they're more standard values.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 16 March 2018, 18:51   #104
MigaTech
Only Amiga !!

MigaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 399
Fascinating stuff!! I could read this sort of reply all day long. You always offer excellent explanations. This helps considering how complicated electronics can get and that we never stop learning! Thanks Daedalus.
MigaTech is offline  
Old 16 March 2018, 19:26   #105
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 2,650
No bother. The specifics of the calculation are written down on a piece of paper lost on my desk somewhere, but I recommend reading up on RC circuits and Schmitt triggers.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 16 March 2018, 22:25   #106
elenachen
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Nürnberg
Posts: 64
Thx for your work, will take this in to the schematic :-)
elenachen is offline  
Old 17 March 2018, 00:47   #107
elenachen
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Nürnberg
Posts: 64
Well, not as pretty as yours, but it's included now
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ATX4000.jpg
Views:	111
Size:	471.8 KB
ID:	57306  
elenachen is offline  
Old 18 March 2018, 20:17   #108
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 2,650
Good stuff Looking busy! Just wanted to check that you're not connecting between R2 and R3 in your diagram?
Daedalus is offline  
Old 18 March 2018, 20:18   #109
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 307
btw please do the 64MB hack available on the board. (or... the 112 one..)
Chucky is offline  
Old 18 March 2018, 22:08   #110
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky View Post
or... the 112 one..
Does this actually exist?
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 18 March 2018, 22:32   #111
elenachen
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Nürnberg
Posts: 64
Whoops, there really is a mistake with R2 and R3. Where can I find that hack? Is there a good source?
elenachen is offline  
Old 18 March 2018, 23:33   #112
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by elenachen View Post
Whoops, there really is a mistake with R2 and R3. Where can I find that hack? Is there a good source?
I don't think it's a terribly good idea. I would say just add jumpers to make it an option with a socket for the GAL, as it makes SpeedRamsey not work (usually) and is less tolerant of overclocking, in my experience. Also it interferes with old softkicking tools, though there are newer ones now that I think work. Otherwise it works fine.

The original thread is here:
http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=57613

There's also this one buy some guy named John Hertell, can't trust that though seems like it has dark magic swirling around it:

http://wordpress.hertell.nu/?p=303

And.
http://retrocu.blogspot.com/2014/02/...4000-mobo.html
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 19 March 2018, 03:02   #113
jediknight
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: bolton
Posts: 100
what would be the cost of building one of these love to know?
jediknight is offline  
Old 19 March 2018, 09:49   #114
elenachen
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Nürnberg
Posts: 64
Sry, I don't know the cost yet, but should be rather expensive, because you probably need to buy the parts in low quantity (Cut Tape) --> high price per piece

I think I leave the Ram Mod out for the first Prototype. I want to have a working one here first and then do mods, if thats ok with you guys. Want to test such things first and implement them then.

But I'll definitely do this, It'll probably be in the released version then anyway. Want to have it working before I release it. Would be a pain for everyone if I release gerber and it wouldn't work. So Keyboard and Mouse hacks have to be enough for now, sry guys.

I can give you all a pre-taste of whats planned in the future after testing then:

64MB Hack
2 Versions of Board --> ATX4000C <--> ATX4000E --- ATX4000C will be classic with zorro and video slots, this is the version as you'll get it first. Later an ATX4000E version will be added.

ATX4000C:
E-ATX formfactor --> Zorro Slots
7 Zorro Slots (if possible)
~4-5 Video Slots --> yes for you toaster freaks :-)
Maybe a version later with Included 68040/68060 onboard.
Replacing GAL's with CPLDs

ATX4000E:
Including 68040/68060 onboard
Replacing GAL's with CPLDs
Scrapping Buster --> Allowing for normal ATX or smaller formfactor
Scrapping onboard RAM except Chipram
Trying to split the bus, to allow native 68060 Bus speed --> 50/66MHz --> the slower half to Chipset --> faster half to a FPGA for PCI/PCIe and to Fast RAM
Adding fast IDE/SATA
Some other onboard stuff, if the PCI/PCIe Bridge works

For now, take this all with a grain of salt. I'm in the process of learning this on the way when I get there. I don't know if I get there and when.

Last edited by elenachen; 19 March 2018 at 10:09.
elenachen is offline  
Old 19 March 2018, 12:29   #115
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 948
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
There's also this one buy some guy named John Hertell, can't trust that though seems like it has dark magic swirling around it
I would not trust anything from that guy, haha
kolla is offline  
Old 19 March 2018, 12:33   #116
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,087
Video Toaster guys don't need 4-5 video slots, just the one for the Toaster, and maybe one for a video slot flicker fixer. Maybe 1 extra for some other oddball video slot device like an Opalvision. What Video Toaster guys need are ISA slots to plug TBCs in, which only draw power. Of course it's not like the old days where you wanted to have a TBC for every input, but at least two of them would be reasonable.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 19 March 2018, 13:27   #117
elenachen
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Nürnberg
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
Video Toaster guys don't need 4-5 video slots, just the one for the Toaster, and maybe one for a video slot flicker fixer. Maybe 1 extra for some other oddball video slot device like an Opalvision. What Video Toaster guys need are ISA slots to plug TBCs in, which only draw power. Of course it's not like the old days where you wanted to have a TBC for every input, but at least two of them would be reasonable.
ISA Slot for Power is a nice Thing to know. Probably need to do ISA with only Power then. I would leave out Bridgeboard support if possible....

So, 3 Video Slots and 2 ISA?

Or 3 Video Slots and 3 ISA?

Last edited by elenachen; 19 March 2018 at 13:35.
elenachen is offline  
Old 19 March 2018, 13:51   #118
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
Video Toaster guys.
...Do those even still exists?

Thats one hell of a niche in a niche in a niche, i cant imagine you could do a viable board run for those amounts of people....
Locutus is offline  
Old 19 March 2018, 13:56   #119
elenachen
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Nürnberg
Posts: 64
I don't plan to do a viable board run. This is an open source project. You either build yourself one or you don't. If you don't want Video Slots or ISA (Power Slots), just leave them unpopulated. The space on the board is there anyways, because of the huge formfactor requirements of the Zorro.
elenachen is offline  
Old 19 March 2018, 13:59   #120
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by elenachen View Post
I don't plan to do a viable board run. This is an open source project. You either build yourself one or you don't. If you don't want Video Slots or ISA (Power Slots), just leave them unpopulated. The space on the board is there anyways, because of the huge formfactor requirements of the Zorro.
Oh i do get the idea.

Do keep in mind that all that drilling time for those slots also costs.
Locutus is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A4000 Motherboard rev F 1time support.Hardware 7 31 July 2012 18:09
Try repair an a4000 motherboard - help TTD support.Hardware 69 13 November 2011 23:03
My DIY A4000 tower Secret Vampire Hardware pics 1 29 July 2006 17:12
[FA] A4000 Motherboard scan_x MarketPlace 6 15 March 2004 15:19
[FA] A4000 Motherboard scan_x MarketPlace 2 12 January 2004 09:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22940 seconds with 15 queries