English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 September 2019, 14:28   #1
Overmann
Registered User

Overmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 208
Shapeshifter not working after BestWB 1.2

Helloes,

So I've got a strange issue. I had a super stable system going here with 1260, P96, WB 3.1.4 and BestWB 1. I recently updated to Bestwb 1.1 and then 1.2 and apart from my shortcuts dissapearing and my WB-colors going a bit strange things seem to be working fine, but Shapeshifter is no longer working.

I have a separate SCSI HDD dedicated to shapeshifter and it will no longer boot. I just get a question mark when I start shapeshifter. I also tried using one of the hardfiles I found in the zone (known to be good) and shapeshifter crashes.

What in BestWB could be causing this? Any help is greatly appreciated!
Overmann is offline  
Old 10 September 2019, 14:50   #2
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,330
Check the MMULib stuff or start without S-S and then manually Shapeshifter to see if that works.
daxb is offline  
Old 10 September 2019, 21:12   #3
paul1981
Registered User

paul1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: England
Posts: 153
Look for absence of MuMove4K entry somewhere at the very top of the Startup-sequence.


It can be found in this package: http://m68k.aminet.net/package/util/libs/MMULib


What exactly do you mean by you get a question mark? I think if the MuMove4K or equivalent is missing from the Startup-sequence then you get an immediate crash when trying to start the actual ShapeShifter emulation. Anyway, I thought I'd inform you of the above if you didn't already know it.


When you say that your shorcuts have disappeared are you referring to left out icons? If so, those are stored on the root path of your disk as file '.backdrop' (without the quotes).
paul1981 is offline  
Old 10 September 2019, 23:05   #4
Overmann
Registered User

Overmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul1981 View Post
Look for absence of MuMove4K entry somewhere at the very top of the Startup-sequence.


It can be found in this package: http://m68k.aminet.net/package/util/libs/MMULib


What exactly do you mean by you get a question mark? I think if the MuMove4K or equivalent is missing from the Startup-sequence then you get an immediate crash when trying to start the actual ShapeShifter emulation. Anyway, I thought I'd inform you of the above if you didn't already know it.


When you say that your shorcuts have disappeared are you referring to left out icons? If so, those are stored on the root path of your disk as file '.backdrop' (without the quotes).
There is definently an absence of MuMove4k in the startup sequence. Should it be there? I've reinstalled MMUlibs now and placed mumove4k in the startup sequence but it doesn't change things I'm afraid There is so long between every time I have to fiddle with Shapeshifter that I forget everything, but my setup has been rock solid for a long time now.
When I start the emulation with the filedisk i get a 80000004 error. When I start with my scsi HDD I just get the little smilyface macintosh (but he looks disgruntled) that never goes away. The first time i started it today I got a floppy with a question mark in it (I think it was a floppy) and no progress.

Quote:
Originally Posted by daxb View Post
Check the MMULib stuff or start without S-S and then manually Shapeshifter to see if that works.
Would it be possible to start Shapeshifter without loading all sorts of stuff in S-S? I'll give it a spin.

Last edited by Overmann; 10 September 2019 at 23:33.
Overmann is offline  
Old 11 September 2019, 03:59   #5
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 41
Posts: 1,978
MuMove4k is not required if you are running 3.1.4.

Maybe try disabling FullPalette in the startup-sequence where it says SYS:Prefs/FPPrefs by adding a ";" at the beginning of that line.

As an alternative try disabling programs in WBStartup.

There are no other things which can potentially cause issues.
gulliver is offline  
Old 11 September 2019, 08:54   #6
Overmann
Registered User

Overmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by gulliver View Post
MuMove4k is not required if you are running 3.1.4.

Maybe try disabling FullPalette in the startup-sequence where it says SYS:Prefs/FPPrefs by adding a ";" at the beginning of that line.

As an alternative try disabling programs in WBStartup.

There are no other things which can potentially cause issues.
I notice that I am also getting some graphicsl garbage when running AmiQuake and Strife. There is a garbled vertical bar slightly to the left of the image. This is also new..
Overmann is offline  
Old 11 September 2019, 12:00   #7
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 41
Posts: 1,978
Also have you tried with the manufacturer's libraries for your 1260 card?
gulliver is offline  
Old 11 September 2019, 13:43   #8
Overmann
Registered User

Overmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 208
just deleted the PRAM file, and now everything is working. I just stubled across that as a solution to a similar problem. I still get garbled/graphics during system boot (only on RTG, not when using AGA screenmodes) but apart from that it seems to have solved t he problem.

What does the PRAM file contain that could cause this?
Overmann is offline  
Old 11 September 2019, 14:35   #9
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 41
Posts: 1,978
The PRAM contains all sort of hardware settings. So chances are that the hardware configuration of the original machine of the drive image was very different from your virtual machine.

For the gfx glitches try reinstalling P96, and making sure it is correctly set.
gulliver is offline  
Old 11 September 2019, 15:47   #10
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,330
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overmann View Post
Would it be possible to start Shapeshifter without loading all sorts of stuff in S-S? I'll give it a spin.
Yes it should. Shapeshifter docs say nothing about special requirements. At least the first 8k of chipmem must be free. So you need to start a program (there exists different solutions) before Shapeshifter that does this for you. SetPatch of OS 3.1.4 does it like gulliver wrote already. I.e.: Start without S-S, enter SetPatch and then Shapeshifter. See if it works or not. Just for the record.

Last edited by daxb; 15 September 2019 at 14:46.
daxb is offline  
Old 15 September 2019, 14:09   #11
paul1981
Registered User

paul1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: England
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by gulliver View Post
MuMove4k is not required if you are running 3.1.4.
That's sacrilege...
paul1981 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BestWB 1.0 gulliver News 49 11 September 2019 14:28
BestWB 1.2 gulliver News 30 14 August 2019 00:04
BestWB 1.1 gulliver News 65 18 July 2019 00:22
ShapeShifter Doc Mindie support.Apps 23 21 March 2018 17:41
SavagePPC for ShapeShifter not working Bamiga2002 support.Apps 8 19 February 2012 16:52

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06894 seconds with 14 queries