English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 December 2004, 19:35   #1
Chaeo
Monkey Slapper
Chaeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: UK
Age: 46
Posts: 71
A1200 Composite versus Video

On the back of my 1200 there's a small round composite video output, there's also a video port. I've just seen on ebay a lead that runs from the Amiga's video port and 2 audio sockets, to a scart lead. Would this video socket output (to scart) offer any improvement in clarity over a regular composite to scart?

Btw, I'm like this on any forum. I type stuff out, it makes sense to me, but in all actuality - reads like utter nonsense, typed by a headcase.
Chaeo is offline  
Old 15 December 2004, 19:41   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,681
Quote:
Would this video socket output (to scart) offer any improvement in clarity over a regular composite to scart?
Yes. But the TV has to have a full-featured scart connector, i.e. support the RGB input. Most TVs don't.
thomas is offline  
Old 15 December 2004, 19:44   #3
Chaeo
Monkey Slapper
Chaeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: UK
Age: 46
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas
Yes. But the TV has to have a full-featured scart connector, i.e. support the RGB input. Most TVs don't.
Yes, it definitely supports RGB, I used to run my DVDPlayer in that mode. I think I'll give this a try then, thanks
Chaeo is offline  
Old 15 December 2004, 22:17   #4
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,122
Most TV's DO support RGB input on one of the SCART sockets. However there is an RGB sense pin (sometimes called FastBlank) which needs to be driven for the TV to recognise the RGB signals.
alexh is offline  
Old 16 December 2004, 00:06   #5
Npl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Vienna / Austria
Age: 39
Posts: 257
Most TVs of the last 5-10 years have a RGB-capable Port, but usually just 1 of them.
Some descriptions on the net are however incomplete, you need apart from 2xAudio and 3xVideo a few other connections - one is sync, one is a "RGB-Switch" which needs to be some odd Voltage like 2V and I think there was another one I forgot.

PS. I think the Amiga-Port has a Pin called composite, I kinda expected the Cable I built to run with non-RGB Scart too, but it doesnt?

Oh and RGB Picture Quality is kinda like 3 times better

Edit: Theres the Scart Pinout

Pin 8 should go to 12V
Pin 16 should go to 1-3V (connect through a Resistor around 700 - 800Ohm to 12V )

Last edited by Npl; 16 December 2004 at 00:30.
Npl is offline  
Old 16 December 2004, 21:41   #6
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,122
Quote:
I think the Amiga-Port has a Pin called composite, I kinda expected the Cable I built to run with non-RGB Scart too, but it doesnt?
The Amiga has pin10 which is composite SYNC not composite VIDEO. It's just the H_BLANK and V_BLANK signals combined in a funky way on a single wire. You connect that to the composite video input on the SCART, but it's used just for sync.

Amiga's cannot produce composite video without a modulator. A500's had the A520, 1200's and 600's have an internal chip that goes to the comp-sync Phono jack.

There is unfortunately no way to make a 100% functional RGB & Composite video cable with just wires.

Last edited by alexh; 16 December 2004 at 21:47.
alexh is offline  
Old 17 December 2004, 14:20   #7
Npl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Vienna / Austria
Age: 39
Posts: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh
The Amiga has pin10 which is composite SYNC not composite VIDEO. It's just the H_BLANK and V_BLANK signals combined in a funky way on a single wire. You connect that to the composite video input on the SCART, but it's used just for sync.

Amiga's cannot produce composite video without a modulator. A500's had the A520, 1200's and 600's have an internal chip that goes to the comp-sync Phono jack.

There is unfortunately no way to make a 100% functional RGB & Composite video cable with just wires.
What if I would connect instead of Pin10 the A1200`s composite-jack (and leave the rest as it is) ? Im to lazy to mess with the cable, especially since im not sure it would work
Npl is offline  
Old 17 December 2004, 15:04   #8
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,681
Then you get the same bad picture as if you connect the compisite connector directly to the TV.

The advantage of the Scart thing is that the TV uses the RGB lines without any quality loss.

Using the composite line in the Scart plug does not make any sense unless your TV does not have a composite-in connection.
thomas is offline  
Old 17 December 2004, 15:32   #9
Npl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Vienna / Austria
Age: 39
Posts: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas
Then you get the same bad picture as if you connect the compisite connector directly to the TV.

The advantage of the Scart thing is that the TV uses the RGB lines without any quality loss.

Using the composite line in the Scart plug does not make any sense unless your TV does not have a composite-in connection.
I know bout that. What I meant is if the Cable then uses the RGB-Lines when plugged in a RGB-Capable Port of the TV AND also works with a non RGB-Capable Port. Currently a non RGB-Capable wont show a Picture as alexh explained.

I only have 1 RGB Port on my TV, which is not enough for a PS2 and an Amiga. Why should I keep seperate Cables for RGB and nonRGB if a single one could work?
Npl is offline  
Old 17 December 2004, 17:05   #10
Chaeo
Monkey Slapper
Chaeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: UK
Age: 46
Posts: 71
http://www.jeacle.ie/publications/articles/scart/


This thread has gotten a little too technical for me, but does that webpage above look right to anyone?
Chaeo is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga A1200 RGB & composite video problem solution! Anemos support.Hardware 24 24 September 2015 08:36
A1200 poor quality composite video out jess74 support.Hardware 1 27 January 2013 04:50
A1200 composite video plug faulty Akira support.Hardware 5 12 October 2012 02:37
A1200 composite/rgb video port flakey? Akira support.Hardware 2 17 April 2012 23:44
No composite video output on A1200 Jonathan Drain support.Hardware 7 16 October 2011 04:34

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07125 seconds with 13 queries