English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 June 2006, 21:22   #1
BippyM
Registered User

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 8,785
2.5 --> 3.5 converter

View this

can it be used in an amiga?

Also can the newer model PC 2.5" laptop HDs be used in an amiga, and also the newer 3.5" pc drives?
BippyM is offline  
Old 30 June 2006, 22:01   #2
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,064
Yes.

You can use any ATA drive. But, you might not be able to use all of the capacity due to limits of the onboard IDE.

Update: More info: I have an ATA-4 Hitachi Travelstar 20GB in my A1200 on a 4xEIDE'99 interface (the only reason I have the controller is to keep the LED from coming on all the time). Of course, I don't get ATA-4 speeds or DMA out of a PIO interface but it works.
adolescent is offline  
Old 30 June 2006, 23:23   #3
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,222
The limits of the onboard IDE are purely software... arnt they?

With IDEFix97 software and a newer version of FFS you should be able to overcome these limits.
alexh is offline  
Old 30 June 2006, 23:33   #4
BippyM
Registered User

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 8,785
I was only asking out of curiosity, don't plan to buy one (not yet)

The onboard IDE is limited (It is unbuffered, so not worth risking) and it doesn't support faster speeds..
BippyM is offline  
Old 01 July 2006, 00:07   #5
DoctorQ
What?? Who?? DoctorQ!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Rødding/Denmark
Age: 38
Posts: 314
Send a message via MSN to DoctorQ
The IDE port is limited to 127 GB, but haven't tested with IDEfix. Somehow I doubt IDEfix will make one exceed the 127 GB, so I'm guessing the limitation is of the actual IDE interface.

The adaptor in the link can't be used, due to the size of the PCB, but the adaptors which do fysically fit, can be used without problems. Have used one myself, like the one in the picture attached.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	252IDE.jpg
Views:	225
Size:	7.0 KB
ID:	11459  
DoctorQ is offline  
Old 01 July 2006, 00:12   #6
sarek2k
E.A.B Addict and Proud
sarek2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: England
Age: 51
Posts: 543
Send a message via MSN to sarek2k
@bippym They are ok for taking your 2.5" hd out of your amiga and attaching to pc to backup etc (picks up in winuae etc) Great for transfering loads of files!
sarek2k is offline  
Old 01 July 2006, 02:48   #7
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,064
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorQ
The adaptor in the link can't be used, due to the size of the PCB, but the adaptors which do fysically fit, can be used without problems. Have used one myself, like the one in the picture attached.
??? Physically fit where? I have used a similar board on my A4000 and old PC with no problems. If you're talking about running it off the A1200 m/b then it's the wrong adapter to get. Better to use a simple cable rather than a circuit board in that case.
adolescent is offline  
Old 01 July 2006, 09:21   #8
DoctorQ
What?? Who?? DoctorQ!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Rødding/Denmark
Age: 38
Posts: 314
Send a message via MSN to DoctorQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by adolescent
??? Physically fit where? I have used a similar board on my A4000 and old PC with no problems. If you're talking about running it off the A1200 m/b then it's the wrong adapter to get. Better to use a simple cable rather than a circuit board in that case.
Well, doesn't physically fit for connecting in an A1200. And yes, I know it's the wrong adaptor to get if using it in an A1200, that's why I attached a picture of an adaptor that actually fits.

Why should I spend 5 UKP on a cable, when I can use an adaptor that does exactly the same, but only costs half, fits perfectly and allows me to replace the cable, in case I need the headers somewhere different.

If it's just a matter of connecting a 2.5" drive to a 3.5" cable, then the adaptor in the auction works fine. Can't understand why AmigaKit charges £4.89 for a £0.50 adaptor though.
DoctorQ is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IFF to Raw converter h0ffman Coders. General 7 13 January 2011 22:59
RGB to SVIDEO with A-22 Converter crazyegg support.Hardware 122 13 May 2010 05:44
Scart converter Washac support.Hardware 5 12 February 2010 02:17
Help - Joystick Converter HogWild Retrogaming General Discussion 19 04 September 2007 21:28
Looking for Keferens Converter Blip support.Apps 3 19 June 2007 17:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06913 seconds with 16 queries