English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

Old 15 June 2011, 03:09   #1
hawker

How to get out of Amiga dos?

Installed an IDE hard disk & CD drive since my SCSI controller croaked. Want to instal workbench 3.0 but it always comes up with an Amiga DOS screen when i reboot, instead of the Workbench screen. How do i get out of it so i can format the HDD & instal the OS? This is on an Amiga 4000/040
Complete noob, as you can tell
Thanks
Old 15 June 2011, 03:20   #2
prowler
Global Moderator

Are you booting from the Installer 3.0 disk?

It should certainly boot into Workbench, but maybe the startup-sequence has been deleted, renamed or edited.

At the CLI, enter 'dir' to make sure it's got some files on it and then enter 'loadwb' (without the quotes of course).

If that doesn't bring up the Workbench, you're going to need a replacement disk.
Old 15 June 2011, 04:42   #3
hawker

Nop, doesn't boot into workbench, only Amiga DOS but was able to get into it by using LOADWB. Is there a jumper i need to set for it to recognize the IDE HD drive as it will not see it to format it? Is there a limitation to the size of HD i can put in there? Right now i have a 260gig one in there.
Old 15 June 2011, 08:41   #4
Hewitson

Make sure you've got HDToolBox tooltype set to the appropriate device.
Old 15 June 2011, 09:54   #5
hawker

Hi Hewitson, The IDE HD doesn't show up when i try to partition or format it so don't know what else to do.
I might have a chance to buy a SCSI controller board but not sure if it's worth it to blow $100 including shipping on that system.