English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Misc > MarketPlace

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 February 2011, 22:24   #1
Smiley
Amiga-less!
Smiley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,350
Wii for sale

Not Amiga but runs UAE nicely

The Wii's DVD drive does not read discs. I never tried to fix it and played all my games via USB. You can replace or repair the drive but its probably better just to use an external USB drive.

The Wii is softmodded and will play all your legit backup ISOs from any USB mass storage.

Comes with all cables, 2 wiimotes and 1 nunchuck.

I really only ever used it for emulation and playing virtual console games but I havn't touched it in about 6 months.

PM me an offer. I don't really know what this lot is worth.
Smiley is offline  
Old 17 February 2011, 01:12   #2
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
Dropped you a pm about this m8! Any news?
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 17 February 2011, 02:40   #3
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,727
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smiley View Post
Not Amiga but runs UAE nicely
Still needs alot of work, would love to continue work on this, maybe after PSPUAE 0.80 is released.
FOL is offline  
Old 18 February 2011, 04:15   #4
Smiley
Amiga-less!
Smiley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElectroBlaster View Post
Dropped you a pm about this m8! Any news?
Hi sorry. Have a bad habit of not logging in if I'm just lurking. Will send you a PM tomorrow.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL
Still needs alot of work, would love to continue work on this, maybe after PSPUAE 0.80 is released.
Plays Apidya and Ruff n' Tumble at full speed with sound. Good enough for me
Smiley is offline  
Old 18 February 2011, 11:45   #5
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,727
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smiley View Post
Plays Apidya and Ruff n' Tumble at full speed with sound. Good enough for me
Really, . You will find its running on Frameskip 2, I defaulted it to this, to make stuff payble.
As first release was very slow as it had FS hardcoded to 0.

Anyways, playing amiga games on the Wii is a hole different experience all together.
Enabling "wii wheel function" is great fun, using wii remote as a steering wheel is quite nuts on lotus, .
FOL is offline  
Old 19 February 2011, 17:50   #6
Smiley
Amiga-less!
Smiley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Really, . You will find its running on Frameskip 2, I defaulted it to this, to make stuff payble.
As first release was very slow as it had FS hardcoded to 0.
Well I never noticed

I'm withdrawing the Wii from sale as it really isn't worth much and it appears to be having problems with the controllers. The Wii struggles to recognize them and they lose connection a lot.

I think it is best I keep it for now given its condition, problems and lack of worth.

Thanks.
Smiley is offline  
Old 19 February 2011, 19:11   #7
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 61
Posts: 3,896
Hey Smiley,

What firmware are you on? My Wii drive gave up about 3mths ago, I'm not too bothered because, like you, I use a USb drive.

Regarding the Wiimotes, mine tend to loose connection with homebrew alot, sometimes I've re-installed HBC or re flashed the Nand with a back up to cure it. Could also be battery's or bluetooth board, but who knows with a Homebrew Wii?

I have seen replacement DVD Drives on fleebay, but I'm not sure if they seem genuine. Can anyone confirm this?
Arnie is offline  
Old 19 February 2011, 20:13   #8
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
No probs, thanx for letting me know

Still I would love to hack our wii BUT the problem is its brand new and I dont have the nads to try it

What is the amiga emulation like on a wii anyway? is it good enougth to enjoy some classics?
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 19 February 2011, 21:20   #9
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,727
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElectroBlaster View Post
What is the amiga emulation like on a wii anyway? is it good enougth to enjoy some classics?
Yes, .

There easy to hack, you would have to be very silly to brick it.
FOL is offline  
Old 20 February 2011, 02:19   #10
scrappysphinx
Registered User

scrappysphinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Nottingham
Age: 34
Posts: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElectroBlaster View Post
No probs, thanx for letting me know

Still I would love to hack our wii BUT the problem is its brand new and I dont have the nads to try it

What is the amiga emulation like on a wii anyway? is it good enougth to enjoy some classics?
If its brand new then i assume its under warranty?

If so why not try the soft mod, its only software so if anything goes wrong return the wii to where you bought it

I did it with a free one i got with my mobile phone from carphone warehouse.
scrappysphinx is offline  
Old 20 February 2011, 12:52   #11
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 61
Posts: 3,896
Nintendo can tell if you have installed any mod on your Wii. If you send it to them modded then they will charge you for it.

But as FOL said it's rare to brick a Wii if you use common sense.
Arnie is offline  
Old 21 February 2011, 19:20   #12
Smiley
Amiga-less!
Smiley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,350
@ElectroBlaster

Search ebay for a Wii with a faulty drive. You can probably get one for around £50. You could replace the drive but there is really no need if you are going to mod it.

The Wii is very simple to mod. I can't quite remeber how I did mine but it just involved putting a few files on an SD card and running them. You can even play games of a HDD online if you want.

Modded Wiis are a great little thing to have around for classic gaming since they are so small.
Smiley is offline  
Old 21 February 2011, 20:52   #13
scrappysphinx
Registered User

scrappysphinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Nottingham
Age: 34
Posts: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
Nintendo can tell if you have installed any mod on your Wii. If you send it to them modded then they will charge you for it.

But as FOL said it's rare to brick a Wii if you use common sense.
Thats only if you send it directly back to Nintendo.

My first Wii i soft-modded and then found out it had a faulty dvd drive so i deleted the Homebrew Channel and returned to Gamestation under warranty.

My contract of purchase is with them so thats where i return it and never had a problem.

But its always your choice and i can't guarantee it will work.
scrappysphinx is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Modded 360 and Wii for sale Smiley MarketPlace 3 14 July 2013 17:50
For Sale: Wii Games... PowerPie5000 MarketPlace 0 14 May 2011 00:07
For Sale: Nintendo Wii Console... PowerPie5000 MarketPlace 1 26 April 2011 14:18
Last Ninja: Wii killergorilla Retrogaming General Discussion 7 16 September 2007 15:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07979 seconds with 15 queries