English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.OtherUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 May 2015, 15:05   #1
lubomyr
AMIGA EMU DEV
lubomyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lviv, Ukraine
Posts: 511
Send a message via Skype™ to lubomyr
Uae4arm (arm jit)

TomB released first alpha version UAE with ARM JIT engine

more info
http://boards.openpandora.org/topic/...alpha-uae4arm/

sources included
lubomyr is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 May 2015, 16:22   #2
stainy
Zone Friend
stainy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Concord, NC, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,386
Send a message via ICQ to stainy Send a message via MSN to stainy
This is fantastic.. trying it now! I prefer the gui already
stainy is online now  
Old 03 May 2015, 21:18   #3
lubomyr
AMIGA EMU DEV
lubomyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lviv, Ukraine
Posts: 511
Send a message via Skype™ to lubomyr
comparison for jit and non-jit mode with android port of uae4arm (device thl w200, 4x cortex a7 1.5ghz)

screenshots
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...it-sysinfo.png
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...it-sysinfo.png

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...t-aibb-cpu.png
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...t-aibb-cpu.png

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...writepixel.png
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...weitepixel.png

Sysinfo (Dhystones)
nojit - 12104
jit - 90153

AIBB (CPU)
nojit - 12.51
jit - 44.02

AIBB (WritePixel)
nojit - 7.75
jit - 47.27
lubomyr is offline  
Old 03 May 2015, 21:47   #4
stainy
Zone Friend
stainy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Concord, NC, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,386
Send a message via ICQ to stainy Send a message via MSN to stainy
wow
stainy is online now  
Old 03 May 2015, 21:57   #5
pete_uk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Stevenage / England
Age: 35
Posts: 50
that is impressive
pete_uk is offline  
Old 04 May 2015, 12:29   #6
Chips
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Rennes / France
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by lubomyr View Post
comparison for jit and non-jit mode with android port of uae4arm (device thl w200, 4x cortex a7 1.5ghz)

screenshots
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...it-sysinfo.png
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...it-sysinfo.png

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...t-aibb-cpu.png
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...t-aibb-cpu.png

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...writepixel.png
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...weitepixel.png

Sysinfo (Dhystones)
nojit - 12104
jit - 90153

AIBB (CPU)
nojit - 12.51
jit - 44.02

AIBB (WritePixel)
nojit - 7.75
jit - 47.27
According to TomB:

"We lost some performance, because the newcpu core is a bit slower than FAME/C"

Did you make some benchmark between UAE4ALL with Fame and this version with JIT ? The TomB sentence is unclear...
I could look at what would be the gain on Raspberry Pi 2 anyway...
Chips is offline  
Old 04 May 2015, 17:33   #7
lubomyr
AMIGA EMU DEV
lubomyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lviv, Ukraine
Posts: 511
Send a message via Skype™ to lubomyr
Sysinfo (Dhystones)
nojit - 12104
jit - 90153
famec(115mhz) - 26997

AIBB (CPU)
nojit - 12.51
jit - 44.02
famec(115mhz) - 14.75

AIBB (WritePixel)
nojit - 7.75
jit - 47.27
famec(115Mhz) - 25.08

But all this results are very relative
famec in current state not support calculating real speed (for example results in benchmark will be same for slow and fast devices)

In real games&demos, for example i tested with game Breathless AGA
performance newcpu jit and famec (56Mhz) are very similar for my device

Last edited by lubomyr; 04 May 2015 at 17:39.
lubomyr is offline  
Old 05 May 2015, 01:49   #8
rhester72
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: New York / USA
Posts: 134
Does the new (slower) core improve things like Cinemaware Wings (wildly fast or slow, depending on the mission type) or the ending credits of the Alcatraz Odyssey demo (repeated characters)?

Rodney
rhester72 is offline  
Old 05 May 2015, 15:27   #9
lubomyr
AMIGA EMU DEV
lubomyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lviv, Ukraine
Posts: 511
Send a message via Skype™ to lubomyr
Odyssey demo - looped at one scene without any continue. I saw same problem on E-UAE with it.
lubomyr is offline  
Old 05 May 2015, 18:00   #10
lubomyr
AMIGA EMU DEV
lubomyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lviv, Ukraine
Posts: 511
Send a message via Skype™ to lubomyr
Multiplatform source (added sdl based sound.cpp)
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...5052015.tar.gz

Android test (alpha) version
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...t-05052015.apk

known android-related problems:
- gui element is too small, it can be problem for smartphones (will be fixed soon)
- onscreen control UI - not present (will be added soon).
- (update) HDF adding - works (but not stable, adding can works after few attempts) (will be fixed soon)

Last edited by lubomyr; 05 May 2015 at 21:50.
lubomyr is offline  
Old 06 May 2015, 10:39   #11
Higgy
Registered User

Higgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 397
Nice work. I hope to try this on my OUYA like UAE4ALL2
Higgy is offline  
Old 06 May 2015, 22:32   #12
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 853
I can't get this to make on my rpi2. Any tips?
trixster is offline  
Old 07 May 2015, 00:40   #13
Chips
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Rennes / France
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by trixster View Post
I can't get this to make on my rpi2. Any tips?
Why are you so angry to test it
You can try my work-in-progress version:
http://fdarcel.free.fr/uae4arm-rpi-beta.bz2
Sound and double buffering using dispmanX are working. launch it from Xwin, use ctrl to go back to menu. it's not fullscreen since I don't close dispmanX when going back to menu...
But you'll see that speedwise there is not so much improvement...

Last edited by Chips; 07 May 2015 at 01:01.
Chips is offline  
Old 07 May 2015, 02:17   #14
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,598
Is there a detailed guide on how to get this on a rpie2? I'm a Linux noob. And a recent purchaser of a raspberry pie 2 and would love to get a decent amiga emulator on it?
ransom1122 is online now  
Old 07 May 2015, 18:10   #15
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 853
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chips View Post
Why are you so angry to test it
You can try my work-in-progress version:
http://fdarcel.free.fr/uae4arm-rpi-beta.bz2
Sound and double buffering using dispmanX are working. launch it from Xwin, use ctrl to go back to menu. it's not fullscreen since I don't close dispmanX when going back to menu...
But you'll see that speedwise there is not so much improvement...
Angry!? just keen to try the latest emulation.

In my opinion this is a great improvement. Games like Alien Breed 3D II run much smoother under this implementation - 040 at the faster emulatable speed on an overclocked rpi2. Now, when you can enable full screen it'll be fabulous.

There's a snag with the controls at the moment though - it's not registering button presses on either my ds4 pad, USB competition pro joystick or 9-pin original competition pro joystick.

Thank you for taking the time to upload this, it's appreciated.

Last edited by trixster; 07 May 2015 at 19:16.
trixster is offline  
Old 08 May 2015, 17:37   #16
endre1952
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Hungary
Posts: 47
UAE4ARM - HDF file selection works on my JXD S7800B. It does not work on my Samsung Galaxy Ace 4. I was able to transfer the saved config file from the S7800 to the Ace 4 and edit it to reflect the phone's SD card structure. I can use the HDF file this way.
endre1952 is offline  
Old 08 May 2015, 19:26   #17
lubomyr
AMIGA EMU DEV
lubomyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lviv, Ukraine
Posts: 511
Send a message via Skype™ to lubomyr
Very interesting to see on benchmark speed for different arm devices (as Pandora, PI2, or android devices) for comparison. Maybe someone can test with modern cores as Cortex A15/A17 or with faster cpu ?
lubomyr is offline  
Old 08 May 2015, 19:34   #18
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 43
Posts: 919
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
What graphics drivers are you using for the RasPi2? I've run into a few programs that try to access the graphics core under Raspbian that require OpenGL/Mesa or use the X-Server only to be greeted by unaccelerated framebuffer support. Is there an OpenGL-ES or -ES2 backend for the emulator?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lubomyr View Post
Very interesting to see on benchmark speed for different arm devices (as Pandora, PI2, or android devices) for comparison. Maybe someone can test with modern cores as Cortex A15/A17 or with faster cpu ?
I'd rather see the chipset emulation running on another core. Even if it's not much faster we could profile the system to find whether it is the lack of graphics acceleration or poor JIT performance that is the real culprit.
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 09 May 2015, 12:24   #19
Chips
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Rennes / France
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai_Crow View Post
What graphics drivers are you using for the RasPi2? I've run into a few programs that try to access the graphics core under Raspbian that require OpenGL/Mesa or use the X-Server only to be greeted by unaccelerated framebuffer support. Is there an OpenGL-ES or -ES2 backend for the emulator?
It use dispmanX, which is a low level 2D rendering engine proprietary to broadcom chip. it should be faster than gles.
Chips is offline  
Old 09 May 2015, 18:30   #20
SKOLMAN_MWS
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Poland
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by lubomyr View Post
comparison for jit and non-jit mode with android port of uae4arm (device thl w200, 4x cortex a7 1.5ghz)

screenshots
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...it-sysinfo.png
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...it-sysinfo.png

Sysinfo (Dhystones)
nojit - 12104
jit - 90153
SysInfo on MorphOS A1200 PowerPC 603e 240MHz

SysInfo 3.24 (nojit)
http://www.ppa.pl/graffiti/obrazek/3...a-m68k-bez-jit
SysInfo 4.0 (nojit)
http://www.ppa.pl/graffiti/obrazek/3...a-m68k-bez-jit

with JIT emulation 10 x speed up.


Test emulation 68k with JIT on PPC 603e 240MHz (MorphOS)

lame_060 -q 9 st60:test.aiff ram:test.mp3
LAME 3.97 (beta 1, Oct 19 2005) 32bits (http://www.mp3dev.org/)
Using polyphase lowpass filter, transition band: 16537 Hz - 17071 Hz
Encoding st60:test.aiff to ram:test.mp3
Encoding as 44.1 kHz 128 kbps j-stereo MPEG-1 Layer III (11x) qval=9
Frame | CPU time/estim | REAL time/estim | play/CPU | ETA
2199/2199 (100%)| 1:01/ 1:01| 1:01/ 1:01| 0.9374x| 0:00
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Test on nativ 68060 66MHz (AmigaOS 3.9)

lame_060 -q 9 test.aiff ram:test.mp3
LAME 3.97 (beta 1, Oct 19 2005) 32bits (http://www.mp3dev.org/)
Using polyphase lowpass filter, transition band: 16537 Hz - 17071 Hz
Encoding test.aiff to ram:test.mp3
Encoding as 44.1 kHz 128 kbps j-stereo MPEG-1 Layer III (11x) qval=9
Frame | CPU time/estim | REAL time/estim | play/CPU | ETA
2199/2199 (100%)| 1:28/ 1:28| 1:29/ 1:29| 0.6511x| 0:00
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Test on nativ PPC 603e 240MHz (MorphOS 1.4.5)

lame_WOS -q 9 st60:test.aiff ram:test.mp3
LAME 3.97 (beta 1, Oct 19 2005) 32bits (http://www.mp3dev.org/)
Using polyphase lowpass filter, transition band: 16538 Hz - 17071 Hz
Encoding st60:test.aiff to ram:test.mp3
Encoding as 44.1 kHz 128 kbps j-stereo MPEG-1 Layer III (11x) qval=9
Frame | CPU time/estim | REAL time/estim | play/CPU | ETA
2199/2199 (100%)| 0:28/ 0:28| 0:28/ 0:28| 2.0515x| 0:00
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SKOLMAN_MWS is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IPF and ARM jonathan project.SPS (was CAPS) 24 14 October 2015 20:19
DO OR DIE,x86 or ARM? hydragon Amiga scene 19 21 March 2014 13:05
WinUAE for Windows 8 ARM? Mequa request.UAE Wishlist 6 27 October 2011 20:40
Made in Britain - ARM DDNI Nostalgia & memories 2 30 June 2011 11:53
Minimig mod for ARM lolafg support.Hardware 7 17 October 2010 21:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.39981 seconds with 13 queries