English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 August 2006, 14:52   #1
robotriot
Tubby mechanical friend
robotriot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Regensburg / Germany
Posts: 103
Send a message via ICQ to robotriot
Blizzard 1260 dead?

I'm having trouble with my A1200 again :/

When I've got the Blizzard 1260 attached, it refuses to boot. I get a black screen at first, and after a while I get grey stripes (see attached photo). The 1200 boots fine without the card installed. I tried removing the RAM from the accelerator, didn't make any difference though. Is there anything else that could be wrong or is the card dead? Unfortunately I don't have a second A1200 mobo to test it with.

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1260fail.jpg
Views:	150
Size:	39.4 KB
ID:	11792  
robotriot is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 August 2006, 15:39   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,895
If you consider selling the board at a later date in its dead state I would be interested.

If you do determine that it is the 1260 that is dead, you might consider sending to the the Amiga Repair Center in France, but be prepared for a heavy charge.

Advice:

Clean all contacts. Check for damaged connectors etc.

Check components looking for any burnt / corroded areas of the PCB.

Check Crystal including orientation, if it is socketed and has dropped out and been fitted the wrong way round you may need a replacement.

Check heat from CPU. If it doesnt get warm, it could indicate that the power supply cannot feed enough power, or that the crystal is dead.
alexh is offline  
Old 08 August 2006, 19:24   #3
robotriot
Tubby mechanical friend
robotriot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Regensburg / Germany
Posts: 103
Send a message via ICQ to robotriot
There's a small scratch on the back of the board, but I don't think it touched any conductor paths - also, I believe it's been there for a long time when the card still worked. The CPU does get warm when it's running, so this shouldn't be the problem. I guess I'll have to send it in, thanks for the tip.
robotriot is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A1200 + Blizzard 1260 + Blizzard SCSI + ACard + CF test setup Toni Wilen Hardware pics 69 18 August 2011 14:49
Dead Blizzard 1230-IV Doc Mindie MarketPlace 1 26 October 2010 21:42
WTB: Blizzard 1260 or Apollo 1260 OldB0y MarketPlace 1 14 April 2010 00:42
My Apollo 1260 keeps pretending to be dead, then works again. StevenJGore support.Hardware 9 02 October 2008 11:46
Apollo 1260 32MB FAST or Blizzard 1260 64MB FAST? prart support.Hardware 36 19 June 2008 01:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.10933 seconds with 13 queries