English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 August 2006, 17:08   #1
alewis
Monochrome and 8 bit

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Underbarrow, Gods Country
Age: 51
Posts: 587
X-Surf problem

Frankenstein is getting there!

The Mig has the WarpEngine up and running, C64/3D (with default v2 cgx drivers), CD-ROM, and a floppy that works when it wants.

MUI, MagicWB, King-CON, Dopus, all installed.

Added the X-Surf, and the Mig doesn't boot. Naja. Nothing. Any ideas what might be wrong? Just a grey screen, an no activity.No jumpers to set on the card, nothing I can think of the set on the A4K.

I'm *sure* that 18months ago the system did boot with it installed...
alewis is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 August 2006, 17:33   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,542
Clean the contacts, try another slot, make sure it is seated properly.

There is nothing on the card which can make the system fail, just the Autoconfig(tm) logic.

Also make sure you didn't loose one of the other cards while inserting the X-Surf, especially the processor board.
thomas is offline  
Old 07 August 2006, 23:45   #3
alewis
Monochrome and 8 bit

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Underbarrow, Gods Country
Age: 51
Posts: 587
Nope, just swapped out into another slot. No joy. Swapped with another X-Surf.. no joy.

Anyone out there running a Wapr Engine, Cyberstorm64/3D, and an X-Surf without problems?

Remove either card, not touch/reseat anything else, and the system boots fine.
alewis is offline  
Old 08 August 2006, 11:13   #4
alewis
Monochrome and 8 bit

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Underbarrow, Gods Country
Age: 51
Posts: 587
Gets even better. Powered up this morning, and it works. Swapped with the other X-Surf.. and it works.

I don't think the A4K will be staying in the desktop case for much longer!
alewis is offline  
Old 08 August 2006, 15:50   #5
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,769
LOL, glad its alive alewis!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 08 August 2006, 16:09   #6
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,895
I've found that the order of cards in Zorro Slots to be very picky. Once I found a working combination I stuck with it.

Question: Does your A4k always want blood?

No matter how many times I open / change things in my A4000D I always cut myself

Especially when trying to remove the Picasso IV (which is tighter than a very tight thing) or the XSURF which isnt long enough and so there is nothing to grab hold of / get leverage at one end.
alexh is online now  
Old 08 August 2006, 16:13   #7
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,769
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh
Question: Does your A4k always want blood?

No matter how many times I open / change things in my A4000D I always cut myself
LOL you know thats all to true... you would think that after 15years of PC / computer building repairing etc one would be immune to the fine metal cuts on the knuckles or the phalanxes... but NOOoo.. i think all computers need human blood.. its part of the make up.


hey did anyone manage to find out what the orientation is for the clockports on the XSURF 2?
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 08 August 2006, 16:32   #8
alewis
Monochrome and 8 bit

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Underbarrow, Gods Country
Age: 51
Posts: 587
Well, I get a link light on the router and card, but no joy with software; can't find/open the device x-surf.device

Might be related to my OS3.9 issues (in prb apps or summat)
alewis is offline  
Old 08 August 2006, 19:53   #9
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,895
Do you have the xsurf.device SANAII driver installed? It comes on the floppy disk that comes with the XSURF or is online at http://www.ami.ga

Have you configured Genesis to use this driver?

I recommend using Amiga-Explorer rather than SAMBA or the likes.
alexh is online now  
Old 08 August 2006, 23:17   #10
alewis
Monochrome and 8 bit

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Underbarrow, Gods Country
Age: 51
Posts: 587
The x-surf.device that goes into SYS:Networks\somewhere (cant remember path off top of head). Yes. Genesis now finds it, it turns out it didn't like the uppercase filename after I had copied from PC -> CD -> Mig. The problem I have now is that Genesis complains AmiTCP is not installed.

Which is interesting. I *thought* Genesis was an IP stack. I thought OS3.9 came with Genesis as an IP stack. I installed from the 3.9 CD...
alewis is offline  
Old 08 August 2006, 23:58   #11
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,064
Genesis is AmiTCP. If you removed (or told setup not to add) the AMITCP: assign from user startup you'll get an error. Just assign AMITCP: to wherever you installed Genesis. I also usually do a "path AMITCP:bin add" also so the cosole commands (ping, etc.) are in the path.
adolescent is offline  
Old 09 August 2006, 15:31   #12
alewis
Monochrome and 8 bit

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Underbarrow, Gods Country
Age: 51
Posts: 587
Eureka - ip connectivity! Hmm, samba, envoy, or a.n.other!
alewis is offline  
Old 09 August 2006, 15:34   #13
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,895
http://www.amigaforever.com/ae/

There is nothing better.
alexh is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
X-Surf MNI ant512 support.Hardware 8 29 October 2013 02:16
X-Surf problems brett71 support.Hardware 1 31 May 2012 00:57
Help with X-Surf ensoniqman support.Hardware 3 27 February 2010 07:38
Fun things to do with an X-Surf? Iznougoud support.Hardware 21 23 October 2009 21:39
My surf squirrel Pixel support.Hardware 8 12 March 2002 22:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22831 seconds with 12 queries