English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 August 2006, 19:33   #1
alewis
Monochrome and 8 bit

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Underbarrow, Gods Country
Age: 51
Posts: 587
Bloody floppy drives!

Right, anyone got a pinout of the A4k desktop floppy connector, and the A4K floppy drive?

I need to know which is pin 1 on each. Just replaced the drive (yes, you know whats coming) and it don't work. I either get the drive light on permanently, or a seek sound, and a DF0:NDOS type icon whenever I put a disk in....

HEEEELP!
alewis is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 August 2006, 19:43   #2
lopos2000
Zone Friend
lopos2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cider is best In The West
Posts: 1,238
Quote:
Originally Posted by alewis
.. DF0:NDOS type icon whenever I put a disk in....

HEEEELP!
Did you check the two pins at the front of your disk drive? I had the problem with DF0:NDOS when one of the pins was a bit sticky. Cleaned the two pins and the problem went away.
lopos2000 is offline  
Old 06 August 2006, 13:58   #3
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,769
heys there,

okies i have made a lil pic to help.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	a1200-4000 floppy pins.png
Views:	175
Size:	8.4 KB
ID:	11782  
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 06 August 2006, 16:48   #4
alewis
Monochrome and 8 bit

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Underbarrow, Gods Country
Age: 51
Posts: 587
Ecellent! Many thanks. Will check as soon as can
alewis is offline  
Old 06 August 2006, 17:19   #5
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,895
Try using the second connector on a 2x floppy ribbon cable.
alexh is offline  
Old 06 August 2006, 17:31   #6
dirkies
Zone Friend

dirkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Belgium
Age: 44
Posts: 1,183
KNOWN A4000 ISSUE

I had this when I bought my A4000 and the second diskdrive did this. All you had to do is switch 2 cables which were wrongly assembled into the plug (C= fault!)

I do not remember which 2 ones it were (sorry, was 11 years ago!), but they were all by one side. Check the wiring on the plug which works and then do the same for the other plug.

if you still can't find it, I will open up my 4000 and take a pic of the wirings in the plugs
dirkies is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Floppy Drives peter taft New to Emulation or Amiga scene 12 21 June 2010 08:46
PC Floppy Drives adewakd support.Hardware 1 14 March 2008 19:36
replacing amiga floppy drives with hard drives Gordon support.Hardware 2 06 March 2007 01:44
Floppy Drives Dave_wb support.Hardware 4 06 October 2005 01:06
Bloody WinUAE, bloody ADFs, bloody Workbench... Shrub New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 27 July 2005 02:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11691 seconds with 13 queries