English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 June 2019, 11:11   #1
Mark sealey
Registered User

Mark sealey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 191
Amiga A500+ Repair Help Needed

Hi all...sorry if this is in the wrong place.

Right I took a Gamble On a A500+ from Facebook market place......

Asked the seller about the useual Green flashing light issues etc....

Anyway got the A500+ friday.....powered it up briefly to see if it worked...got to kickstart screen..and booted to a intro on a floppy.

Powered down.....ready for a stripdown and clean.....as we all know what could be lurking inside

Right there was little battery damage visible....took the battery out...and gave the whole motherboard a clean with pcb cleaner....both sides...left for a few hours...then reassembled.

Now ive powered up the A500+ rev 8 and now i just get a power light..not flashing at all....no system check with the LED like my rev6a does.....

so...removed all the chips reseated....no change

Removed one chip at a time and tried a kmown working one...no change
(apart from Agnus)

Tried another PSU

cleaned all sockets again

There is no output through RGB at all...not a flicker just a constant power light..not as bright as my A500 rev6a though.

No visible damage front or back of the PCB...no corrosion etc

The only thing i did fined was a green bit in the Gary socket that i cleaned away.

Any ideas....?

Thanks
Mark sealey is offline  
Old 24 June 2019, 11:13   #2
BrooksterMax
Registered User
BrooksterMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norfolk UK
Age: 38
Posts: 417
Keyboard connector and floppy cable plugged back in correctly (right way round too)? I think this can cause non-booting weirdness.
BrooksterMax is offline  
Old 24 June 2019, 11:53   #3
Mark sealey
Registered User

Mark sealey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrooksterMax View Post
Keyboard connector and floppy cable plugged back in correctly (right way round too)? I think this can cause non-booting weirdness.
Yes mate...tried it with my Geotec

Also first power up there was no floppy drive clicking.....second power up (with disk in) the floppy worked.

Thanks for the reply
Mark sealey is offline  
Old 24 June 2019, 19:04   #4
Mark sealey
Registered User

Mark sealey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 191
found this thread interesting......

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?p=922723
Mark sealey is offline  
Old 24 June 2019, 23:55   #5
Mark sealey
Registered User

Mark sealey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 191
Well as I type this the A500+ is switched on....still faulty...but...

Cpu...........warm
Rom chip......cold
Agnus.........warm
Paula.........warm
Gary..........cold
Denise........warm
Odd CIA......warm
Even CIA......cold

Chip ram......cold

No caps lock light.
Mark sealey is offline  
Old 25 June 2019, 12:24   #6
project23
Used Register

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Liverpool
Age: 36
Posts: 427
swap the CIA chips and see if behaviour changes?
project23 is offline  
Old 25 June 2019, 12:36   #7
solarmon
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 183
You might have damaged a component or trace during the clean? Might be worth to double-checking again for any damage, maybe with a microscope?

Try pressing down on some chips/components as there might be hairline fractures or cold joints that could be the cause of the issue.
solarmon is offline  
Old 25 June 2019, 12:42   #8
Mark sealey
Registered User

Mark sealey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by project23 View Post
swap the CIA chips and see if behaviour changes?
Tried known working ones made no change.
Mark sealey is offline  
Old 25 June 2019, 12:43   #9
Mark sealey
Registered User

Mark sealey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarmon View Post
You might have damaged a component or trace during the clean? Might be worth to double-checking again for any damage, maybe with a microscope?

Try pressing down on some chips/components as there might be hairline fractures or cold joints that could be the cause of the issue.
Thats what i think....might buy a usb type microscope.
Mark sealey is offline  
Old 26 June 2019, 11:07   #10
Mark sealey
Registered User

Mark sealey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 191
Found a broken trace near the battery area....

https://www.facebook.com/AmigaDudeA6...type=3&theater
Mark sealey is offline  
Old 26 June 2019, 11:43   #11
solarmon
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark sealey View Post
Found a broken trace near the battery area....

https://www.facebook.com/AmigaDudeA6...type=3&theater
Looking at the images from 22nd June on your Facebook page, I think you can just about see the broken trace - near C12 and one of the battery pin holes? Or maybe that is just dirt and/or the lighting?
solarmon is offline  
Old 26 June 2019, 12:07   #12
Mark sealey
Registered User

Mark sealey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarmon View Post
Looking at the images from 22nd June on your Facebook page, I think you can just about see the broken trace - near C12 and one of the battery pin holes? Or maybe that is just dirt and/or the lighting?
thats what i think too...its that trace that has no continuity.....the youtube video in the other post has the same issue/fix

thanks for the reply
Mark sealey is offline  
Old 26 June 2019, 13:00   #13
solarmon
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 183
Well, it is either that, or the via holes either side of the trace - so check those.

The leg and hole of the R101, and probably R113/R915, resistors looks corroded - so you might want to check those out with a multimeter.
solarmon is offline  
Old 26 June 2019, 15:59   #14
Mark sealey
Registered User

Mark sealey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarmon View Post
Well, it is either that, or the via holes either side of the trace - so check those.

The leg and hole of the R101, and probably R113/R915, resistors looks corroded - so you might want to check those out with a multimeter.
yes at the moment R101 has no continuity between that leg and the lower solder point next to the word "battery" second point down

*
>>> * BATTERY
*
*
*

Mark sealey is offline  
Old 02 July 2019, 10:54   #15
Mark sealey
Registered User

Mark sealey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 191
All fixed......found one broken trace....DTAK signal.
Mark sealey is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A500 Revision 3 Repair Druon support.Hardware 12 06 November 2018 21:54
Amiga motherboard repair A500+ roy bates support.Hardware 7 06 January 2014 20:08
FS: Amiga A500+ spares or repair JonB MarketPlace 9 25 November 2013 00:06
A3000 Repair Needed merlin1968 support.Hardware 3 03 June 2013 12:56
MiniMig Repair (needed INFO) Zetr0 Hardware pics 9 29 March 2010 07:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07843 seconds with 13 queries