English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 May 2017, 12:53   #41
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by PARALAX View Post
See attachment. Can't use "endcli" after using "loadwb". And "add setpach" are unknown commands under CLI.
If you have a standard system you must have the commands in Directory C, see the attached video.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 18 May 2017 at 00:29.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 14 May 2017, 13:20   #42
PARALAX
Registered User

PARALAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Wuppertal / Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 48
Send a message via ICQ to PARALAX
I meanwhile get it worked but only from CLI shell and without trainer. The Batch file is only executable from workbench. The game seems to need 1,8 MB chip ram which I don't get with trainer and outside from CLI.

Last edited by PARALAX; 14 May 2017 at 13:40.
PARALAX is offline  
Old 14 May 2017, 13:22   #43
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by PARALAX View Post
I meanwhile get it worked but only from CLI shell and without trainer. The Batch file is only executable from workbench. The game seems to need 1,8 MB chip ram which I don't get with trainer and outside from CLI.
File Batch you can run it from Shell with the command "Execute"

Make a test with your configuration see video!

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 18 May 2017 at 00:29.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 14 May 2017, 13:55   #44
PARALAX
Registered User

PARALAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Wuppertal / Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 48
Send a message via ICQ to PARALAX
I could get it work with the no-startup sequence method as well at least from CLI with the "execute t-zero" command but it's very unconvenient in my eyes, even because "y" and "z" are then reverted on german keyboards.

Reducing the number of colours from 256 to 8 also seems to work and is more comfortable, even when just using instead of saving it. The game needs more than 1,85 MB finally.

Thanks anyway!
PARALAX is offline  
Old 14 May 2017, 14:04   #45
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,425
You could create scripts and start the game directly or different start Workbench how's that which I used on my old CD32, see video:

[ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 14 May 2017, 16:25   #46
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 4,003
Indeed T-Zer0 requires lots of chip RAM, and as far as I remember, it came with a script that would reboot the Amiga and run the game without a startup-sequence to free up as much RAM as possible.
idrougge is offline  
Old 15 May 2017, 21:15   #47
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,609
Sorry to hear that you're having issues PARALAX

...as others have said though (and you've discovered) you do need a lot of free Chip RAM unfortunately.

I tested the .LHA archive using WinUAE and a fresh install of "Classic WB 3.1 Lite". There is 1,981,536 bytes free here:



I wonder what it is on your system that's eating the Chip RAM?

Saying that though, booting with no startup-sequence and then typing the following should work before starting the trainer / game:

SetPatch quiet
Assign Env: Ram:
LoadWB
EndCLI

Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
Indeed T-Zer0 requires lots of chip RAM, and as far as I remember, it came with a script that would reboot the Amiga and run the game without a startup-sequence to free up as much RAM as possible.
Well then, your mind / memory must be playing tricks on you.

There is no such script on the original CD-ROM or the v1.01 - CD audio patch update...

I have seen something like what you describe with other games though; "Super Street Fighter II Turbo [AGA]" for example.
DamienD is offline  
Old 15 May 2017, 21:28   #48
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,478
Things that eat Chip RAM:
- Not using FBlit if you have FastRAM and an accelerator
- Every single window and icon displayed on WB Will eat up RAM and if you don't use FBlit that RAM will be Chip RAM.
- Large color count on WB (use less colors)
- Each partition and drive you have on the system will eat up some RAM, how much depends on the filesystem. If you have Fast RAM this will be used instead , but if you don't, then Chip RAM it is.

So yeah not surprised you don't have enough RAM if you have a 256 color WB, try cutting that down to begin with, and installing FBlit if you haven't .
Akira is offline  
Old 15 May 2017, 21:31   #49
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,609
@PARALAX; you could also make a script that you run straight after "Boot With No Startup-Sequence".

Call it "T-Zer0" and store it in say the root of your hard drive for example, which has the following lines (no need to start Workbench):

setpatch quiet
assign env: ram:
cd spiele/t-zer0 (got this location from your screenshot; amend if you've changed)
execute t-zer0

Then all you need to type at the CLI is the following: execute T-Zer0

Edit: I've done this for you, see attached. Just extract the file from the archive to the root of your hard drive. All you need to type is "T-Zer0" (as I've set Script & Execute "protection bits" on the file).

Note to others: don't download this script; it's set up for the folder that PARALAX extracted the .LHA file into on his system... If you really need / want to use it as you suffer from not having enough Chip RAM, then make sure you amend accordingly...
Attached Files
File Type: lha T-Zer0.lha (98 Bytes, 92 views)

Last edited by DamienD; 15 May 2017 at 22:56.
DamienD is offline  
Old 15 May 2017, 23:31   #50
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,612
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by PARALAX View Post
The game seems to need 1,8 MB chip ram which I don't get with trainer and outside from CLI.
Quote:
Originally Posted by PARALAX View Post
I could get it work with the no-startup sequence method as well at least from CLI with the "execute t-zero" command but it's very unconvenient in my eyes, even because "y" and "z" are then reverted on german keyboards.

Reducing the number of colours from 256 to 8 also seems to work and is more comfortable, even when just using instead of saving it. The game needs more than 1,85 MB finally.
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
Indeed T-Zer0 requires lots of chip RAM, and as far as I remember, it came with a script that would reboot the Amiga and run the game without a startup-sequence to free up as much RAM as possible.
Close. You're thinking of Capital Punishment (V1.1 update only IIRC).

IMHO the idea behind it provides a much more elegant solution than messing around with CLI, scripts or WB colour prefs. These type of solutions have been around on Aminet for ages, and I have provided links to them in the HOL notes for the T-zer0 and Capital Punishment entries in recent weeks.

Some of the Aminet utilities actually provide custom game launchers (with reboot) for particular games like T-zer0, while others are simply generic and can be used to launch any game suffering from a shortage of chipram comfortably from Workbench. Below are just a few that I've successfully used in the past. Hopefully one of them will come in handy for those here having the same chipram problems with T-zer0 and other games as the OP above!

- Reboot-Start V4.2 (contains custom game launchers with reboot for T-zer0, Capital Punishment and a few others; has degrading abilities + forces games to use PAL/NTSC screenmodes also) [readme, download]

- Da Cool Booter V1.7 (generic game launcher with reboot + create custom game launchers) [Developer readme, Aminet readme, download]

- Da Cool Installer V1.7 (generic game launcher with reboot + create custom game launchers + a lot more) [readme, download]

EDIT: If anyone wants the *registered* version of Da Cool Installer, then let me know and I'll dig it out for you!

Last edited by DrBong; 23 September 2017 at 23:32. Reason: Fixed broken links!
DrBong is offline  
Old 22 May 2017, 00:34   #51
PARALAX
Registered User

PARALAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Wuppertal / Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 48
Send a message via ICQ to PARALAX
Thank you all guys for the effort, especially DamienD for the script.

Last edited by PARALAX; 22 May 2017 at 00:40.
PARALAX is offline  
Old 22 May 2017, 01:00   #52
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,609
No problem at all

I presume now that the game & trainer from the .LHA archive I created are working on your system without issue when using this script?

To make it easier, you could always rename the script from "T-Zer0" to say "T0"; less to type.
DamienD is offline  
Old 24 May 2017, 05:52   #53
PARALAX
Registered User

PARALAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Wuppertal / Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 48
Send a message via ICQ to PARALAX
It works but I prefer to decerase the number of colours in the workbench instead because it's the faster way for me.
PARALAX is offline  
Old 16 September 2017, 21:50   #54
macce2
Retro maniac

macce2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 990
How to get the CDDA audio tracks working ? Which CD file system should be used ? If I remember right, it doesn't work with CacheCDFS..
macce2 is offline  
Old 18 October 2017, 02:14   #55
lineacero
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Madrid
Posts: 17
Hello partners.
Someone could upload t-zero hdf.game
please
lineacero is offline  
Old 18 October 2017, 02:42   #56
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,609
Hey there lineacero,

Welcome to EAB

All files I created are on the EAB File Server under ~Uploads/DamienD

... HDFs - for emulator users.
... LHAs - for real Amiga users.
DamienD is offline  
Old 16 January 2021, 14:02   #57
normanx9
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: france
Posts: 2
Hello

how to have the game in lha and hdf?
~ Uploads / DamienD does not exist
normanx9 is offline  
Old 16 January 2021, 17:06   #58
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,609
Quote:
Originally Posted by normanx9 View Post
Hello

how to have the game in lha and hdf?
~ Uploads / DamienD does not exist
Heya normanx9,

Welcome to EAB

I deleted my ~Uploads folder back when the Amiga File Server cleanup occurred in June last year.

Anyway, I've reuploaded somewhere and sent you a PM

Please let me know once you've download as I need the space...
DamienD is offline  
Old 16 January 2021, 23:53   #59
normanx9
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: france
Posts: 2
Thank you DamienD
normanx9 is offline  
Old 17 January 2021, 14:04   #60
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,609
Quote:
Originally Posted by normanx9 View Post
Thank you DamienD
You're welcome normanx9, enjoy

I assume you've downloaded now, so can I remove the archive from the hosting site?
DamienD is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[AmigaCD] Genetic Species - .LHA (for real Amiga users) DamienD Amiga scene 106 10 March 2019 21:06
[AmigaCD] The Big Red Adventure - .HDF & .LHA (for real Amiga users) DamienD Amiga scene 49 25 June 2018 05:30
[AmigaCD] The Strangers - .HDF & .LHA (for real Amiga users) DamienD Amiga scene 24 06 October 2017 02:52
[AmigaCD] onEscapee - .HDF & .LHA (for real Amiga users) DamienD Amiga scene 49 26 May 2017 03:46
[AmigaCD] Uropa²: The Ulterior Colony - .LHA (for real Amiga users) DamienD Amiga scene 2 18 April 2017 18:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09580 seconds with 16 queries