English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 August 2020, 16:21   #1
pink^abyss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Untergrund/Germany
Posts: 136
Tiny Bobble Beta Released - A new Bubble Bobble arcade port

Hi, we just released Tiny Bobble. You can download here:
http://www.abyss-online.de/static/do...TinyBobble.adf

Here are some improvements over the original amiga game that you find in TINY BOBBLE:
50 fps (instead of 25fps)
32 colors (instead of 16)
150 items (instead of 40?)
Original screen height of 224 pixel (was only 200 pixel)
Almost all sprite animations (had only ~20% of animations)
Progress Screen (was not available)
Big Enemies every 16th level (was not available)
Player Two Join animation (was not available)
Animated Extend screen (was not animated)
Big Score images (was not available)
Single file (needed a disk)
Animated intro (no bubbles were available)
Animated Boss fight (was a still image)
Multiple endings (had only one ending)


DISCLAIMER: In intense scenes or when playing with two players there can be some slowdown. Playing on A1200 is the cure



Last edited by pink^abyss; 24 August 2020 at 15:46.
pink^abyss is offline  
Old 13 August 2020, 16:31   #2
bebbo
botcher

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 466
wonderful! Congrats!!
bebbo is offline  
Old 13 August 2020, 16:39   #3
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,174
*snatch* *grab* *take* *fetch*
Etc...

Thanks, I'm really looking forward to it
roondar is offline  
Old 13 August 2020, 16:57   #4
pink^abyss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Untergrund/Germany
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by bebbo View Post
wonderful! Congrats!!
Thanks beppo. Good luck with your great compiler work!
pink^abyss is offline  
Old 13 August 2020, 17:05   #5
Overmann
Registered User

Overmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 323
This is GREAT! I have such fond memories of playing this game as a kid and your version is just fantastic! Smooth, nice graphics, responsive controls and nice sounding music!
Overmann is offline  
Old 13 August 2020, 17:20   #6
Neil79
IndieRetroNews
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: -
Posts: 2,755
Neil79 is offline  
Old 13 August 2020, 17:27   #7
pink^abyss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Untergrund/Germany
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overmann View Post
This is GREAT! I have such fond memories of playing this game as a kid and your version is just fantastic! Smooth, nice graphics, responsive controls and nice sounding music!

Thanks a lot. I played the game also often as a kid. Good memories!
pink^abyss is offline  
Old 13 August 2020, 17:27   #8
Bartman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 22
Shameless plug This game was done with Visual Studio Code and my Amiga C/C++ Compile, Debug & Profile extension. So don't let anyone tell you you can't do high-quality games for A500 in C.
Bartman is offline  
Old 13 August 2020, 17:45   #9
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,174
First impressions: this is really nice

Now to beta testing feedback so far (only played a while, so I may come back with some more feedback later):
  • It seems a bit easier than the arcade is (on default settings). Could be on purpose, of course. At any rate, the monsters seem to move quite a bit slower and don't seem to get "angry" unless the hurry up sounds
  • On the other hand, there seem to be far fewer extend letters dropping
  • Occasionally, I can't seem to jump diagonally. Not sure how to reproduce it yet, it seems to have to do with the player being close to a wall.
  • Every now and then, an object (such as a bubble) can disappear from the screen when the player moves next to it. It reappears when the player is on a different Y position than the object.
  • Very occasionally, the game starts in two player mode rather than one when I press the fire button to start. This may be a limit in WinUAE, as I have the feeling this happens after I reactivate the WinUAE window.
  • I've died at least once when colliding with a bubble that itself was colliding with a ghost projectile.

One other things: it seems to run fine on both A500 (with extra memory) and A3000 (68030/8MB fast) emulated environments.

Overall, it's a very good port and looks & sounds great. Runs well too
The above is therefore purely meant to be helpful, not as criticism
roondar is offline  
Old 13 August 2020, 17:45   #10
pink^abyss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Untergrund/Germany
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartman View Post
Shameless plug This game was done with Visual Studio Code and my Amiga C/C++ Compile, Debug & Profile extension. So don't let anyone tell you you can't do high-quality games for A500 in C.
Right Bartman! Without your tool this would have not been possible. Even the music replayer is done in C.

Some technical infos:
  • To achieve high performance the game uses a copperlist to do all blits while the CPU uses the idle DMA cycles.
  • Pretracker was used to have minimum chipmem usage (3.7kb) for music
  • Between certain levels Doynax is used to decompress new gfx to chipmem as needed.
  • For player animation a small asm routine is used to copy new images from fast to chipmem as needed. 180 animation frames are in memory for the two players.
  • The game uses 3 chipmem buffers with 256x256 with 5 bitplanes. Two for display and one restore buffer.
  • All tiles are placed in fastmem and copied with the cpu to a backbuffer and blitted to the display buffers
pink^abyss is offline  
Old 13 August 2020, 17:46   #11
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 12,050
I've played only a few levels so far. But it's amazing, compared to the original Amiga port. Better in most if not any aspect. Well done.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 13 August 2020, 17:51   #12
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 42
Posts: 5,990
Send a message via ICQ to Predseda
26. level of 1st try. This port is excellent, just EXCELLENT!
Predseda is online now  
Old 13 August 2020, 17:53   #13
pink^abyss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Untergrund/Germany
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by roondar View Post
First impressions: this is really nice

Now to beta testing feedback so far (only played a while, so I may come back with some more feedback later):
  • It seems a bit easier than the arcade is (on default settings). Could be on purpose, of course. At any rate, the monsters seem to move quite a bit slower and don't seem to get "angry" unless the hurry up sounds
  • On the other hand, there seem to be far fewer extend letters dropping
  • Occasionally, I can't seem to jump diagonally. Not sure how to reproduce it yet, it seems to have to do with the player being close to a wall.
  • Every now and then, an object (such as a bubble) can disappear from the screen when the player moves next to it. It reappears when the player is on a different Y position than the object.
  • Very occasionally, the game starts in two player mode rather than one when I press the fire button to start. This may be a limit in WinUAE, as I have the feeling this happens after I reactivate the WinUAE window.
  • I've died at least once when colliding with a bubble that itself was colliding with a ghost projectile.

One other things: it seems to run fine on both A500 (with extra memory) and A3000 (68030/8MB fast) emulated environments.

Overall, it's a very good port and looks & sounds great. Runs well too
The above is therefore purely meant to be helpful, not as criticism
The game is on the easiest setting. (Its gets hard enough in the higher levels )
I also feel like the EXTEND letters don't come often enough, tho i tried to mimic the Arcade behavior. Need to improve here..

You are right, the accidental starting in 2 Player mode is because of WinUAE mouse handling.

"Occasionally, I can't seem to jump diagonally."
Perhaps you mean when you jump up and are next to a wall? This is how the arcade also works. Its quite different then most games handle jumping.


Thanks for the testing and feedback!
pink^abyss is offline  
Old 13 August 2020, 17:54   #14
DanyPPC
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 232
Many thanks, I will test on my A1200/030 and 060, MiST
DanyPPC is offline  
Old 13 August 2020, 17:55   #15
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,058
Daaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaamn.

Incredible work!
Shoonay is online now  
Old 13 August 2020, 17:56   #16
Jeeg
Registered User

Jeeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: France
Posts: 11
Happy to play this new game, very good work, congratulations.
I reached the 13th level on my first attempt with WinUAE and A1200 configuration.
I saw a lot of bubbles with differents color but only one with the e letter, I had no bonuses.
Jeeg is offline  
Old 13 August 2020, 17:57   #17
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,174
Quote:
Originally Posted by pink^abyss View Post
The game is on the easiest setting. (Its gets hard enough in the higher levels )
Ahh, that explains it
Quote:
"Occasionally, I can't seem to jump diagonally."
Perhaps you mean when you jump up and are next to a wall? This is how the arcade also works. Its quite different then most games handle jumping.
This is probably it, but I didn't notice as much in the Arcade version. I'll try some more and compare with the Arcade to be sure
Quote:
Thanks for the testing and feedback!
No problem, if I see more stuff or have more questions I'll be sure to post some more
roondar is offline  
Old 13 August 2020, 18:20   #18
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 42
Posts: 5,990
Send a message via ICQ to Predseda
Not sure if this was also in the arcade version, but the delay between I collect the flash bubble and the lightning is then released is very long. It is impossible to aim, while it was perfectly useful in old Amiga Bubble Bobble.
Predseda is online now  
Old 13 August 2020, 18:28   #19
VincentGR
Registered User
VincentGR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Greece
Posts: 126
Awesome!!!

Thank you so much.

(Comparison video)

[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by VincentGR; 13 August 2020 at 19:00.
VincentGR is offline  
Old 13 August 2020, 18:31   #20
Neil79
IndieRetroNews
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: -
Posts: 2,755
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartman View Post
Shameless plug This game was done with Visual Studio Code and my Amiga C/C++ Compile, Debug & Profile extension. So don't let anyone tell you you can't do high-quality games for A500 in C.
Bartman, can you reply on IndieRetroNews with that comment? Hopefully AmigaBill will see it too
Neil79 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tiny Bobble pink^abyss project.Amiga Game Factory 91 07 September 2020 01:42
Bubble Bobble for 500+? TenLeftFingers support.Games 30 28 March 2020 18:46
Bubble bobble with 2 buttons zambot3 request.Old Rare Games 3 10 April 2019 18:31
Bubble Bobble 4 CPC :) Vollldo Retrogaming General Discussion 98 12 March 2012 21:09
Encrypted Text In Bubble Bobble? CodyJarrett Nostalgia & memories 6 14 August 2006 08:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10216 seconds with 14 queries