English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 October 2011, 07:29   #1
atchoo
SWOS enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Italy
Age: 43
Posts: 45
Monitor like a TV

Which settings should I use to replicate tv on my monitor (CRT, 800x600, 100Hz)?
DISPLAY
Fullscreen: 800x600
No buffering
Native: Fullscreen Low latency VSync
Default on other options
FILTER
Scaling: ?
Aspect Ratio Correction: ?

For example. SWOS native resolution is 672x544 (336x272 doubled), if I choose to replicate 1:1 pixel per pixel isn't like on a tv. Cannon Fodder (320x224 doubled, I guess) is the same.
atchoo is offline  
Old 14 October 2011, 08:49   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,960
Game's "native" resolution is meaningless, some games have overscan (part of display is hidden behind TVs bezel), some (=most games) have black borders.

Selecting "TV" from filter select menu enables approximate TV screen size simulation.

btw, are you trying to match real Amiga display size or are you attempting to match "game's resolution"?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 14 October 2011, 17:56   #3
atchoo
SWOS enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Italy
Age: 43
Posts: 45
My english isn't so good, I hope to explain well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Game's "native" resolution is meaningless, some games have overscan (part of display is hidden behind TVs bezel), some (=most games) have black borders.
Ok, I remember many Amiga games with black borders, but could I understand if a game has overscan or black borders from "native" resolution?
For example:
SWOS 336x272 -> overscan
Speedball 2 320x240 -> black borders
Old magazine reviews don't help me: they often cropped black borders in their shots.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Selecting "TV" from filter select menu enables approximate TV screen size simulation.
Good, I'll try it.
But when should I use Aspect Ratio Correction box? If I have to use...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
btw, are you trying to match real Amiga display size or are you attempting to match "game's resolution"?
My dream is to play like developer wished...
And here is a problem: was developer considering PAL pixel aspect ratio (it's 1,066 if I'm not wrong) or not?
However it's the first you said and I think I'd have to use Fullscreen (TV). To match "game's resolution" I'd choose No scaling (in Fullscreen mode) or Automatic resize (in Windowed mode).

Thank you very much, you are very kind.

Last edited by atchoo; 15 October 2011 at 00:05.
atchoo is offline  
Old 17 October 2011, 00:24   #4
lordofchaos
TinkerTailorContentMaker

lordofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bedfordshire
Age: 42
Posts: 1,140
I have a little tip for a good screen calibration but it requires both WinUAE and a real Amiga running at the same time.

First I boot up the Real machine on my CRT TV and load a game up on it as a the reference image then I load up same game on WinUAE. I tend to use both "Agony" and "Project X". Agony pretty much uses maximum overscan.. I think and is good for calibration, Projext X has some nice HUD overlays which is useful too.

Using the scaling sliders in WinUAE I try to match the Image from the real Amiga as close as possible.. this does take some patience and is not for everybody but I have found it to be very useful.

I should also add that CRT tv`s tend to give different results depending on the model and whether or not the picture is going through RGB Scart or Component. I found once I got the image the same size and position as my CRT every game looked great

Last edited by lordofchaos; 17 October 2011 at 00:37.
lordofchaos is offline  
Old 17 October 2011, 07:21   #5
atchoo
SWOS enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Italy
Age: 43
Posts: 45
If I had a real Amiga...
And a good crt tv*, too...

* not-so-good ones have a very annoying overscan.
atchoo is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monitor or TV? NytroX86 Retrogaming General Discussion 29 06 December 2013 20:12
C Monitor 2.02 redblade request.Apps 3 10 January 2010 09:42
Which Monitor ? blade002 support.Hardware 3 29 August 2006 15:48
Which monitor? BippyM support.Apps 2 28 June 2006 22:34
Which monitor do you use? oldpx support.Hardware 35 06 April 2002 20:38

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06597 seconds with 15 queries