English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 July 2020, 15:09   #1
wiz12
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ireland
Posts: 275
Individual Computer's new PSU

I see you can now pre-order icomp's new dedicated Amiga PSU called the "CA-PSU" for A500, A600 & A1200. It's rated at 50W with a few interesting features like "cable drop compensation" but is fairly pricy too.

https://icomp.de/shop-icomp/en/shop/...mpact_200-240V


Are existing Pico & Meanwell PSUs not reliable enough compared to this?
wiz12 is offline  
Old 05 July 2020, 19:41   #2
thgill
Registered User

thgill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mason, Ohio / USA
Age: 44
Posts: 391
I’ve been waiting to see what he designed as a psu replacement and I’m somewhat disappointed. That two brick design is straight up ugly looking. And I’m not a fan of having two anyways. Seems to me there could be a better way to implement it.
thgill is offline  
Old 05 July 2020, 20:03   #3
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,747
Wow. What a terrible product. Poorly designed, overpriced, and just simply ugly.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 05 July 2020, 20:10   #4
robinsonb5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 804
Quote:
Originally Posted by thgill View Post
I’ve been waiting to see what he designed as a psu replacement and I’m somewhat disappointed. That two brick design is straight up ugly looking. And I’m not a fan of having two anyways. Seems to me there could be a better way to implement it.
I think the reason for that is to avoid the much more expensive regulatory approval that would be required if the new PSU were directly mains AC powered. This would be prohibitively expensive in a market as small as ours - so instead it incorporates an off-the-shelf mains AC brick.

Edit: I do like the fact that the DC part is in what's basically a C64 cartridge shell!
robinsonb5 is offline  
Old 05 July 2020, 20:19   #5
thgill
Registered User

thgill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mason, Ohio / USA
Age: 44
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by robinsonb5 View Post
I think the reason for that is to avoid the much more expensive regulatory approval that would be required if the new PSU were directly mains AC powered. This would be prohibitively expensive in a market as small as ours - so instead it incorporates an off-the-shelf mains AC brick.

Edit: I do like the fact that the DC part is in what's basically a C64 cartridge shell!
Ahhh. Good point. For some reason I thought he at some point mentioned that the psu brick was custom too. But it does look like an off the shelf design.
thgill is offline  
Old 05 July 2020, 20:26   #6
wiz12
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ireland
Posts: 275
I think the bulk of the cost is going towards the custom CA-PSU converter rather than the off the shelf PSU brick, it makes me wonder though if we could attach any easily available PSU brick to this and make it work?
wiz12 is offline  
Old 05 July 2020, 20:42   #7
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,710
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
Wow. What a terrible product. Poorly designed, overpriced, and just simply ugly.
You’re an expert in power supply design, are you?
trixster is offline  
Old 05 July 2020, 20:49   #8
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 9,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by trixster View Post
You’re an expert in power supply design, are you?

I am sorry to say I have to agree with Hewitson (a first time for everything).


I cannot comment on the specification, but for what it is.. Looks ugly, and seems waaaaaaay overpriced!!


But alas.. What do I know?
BippyM is offline  
Old 05 July 2020, 21:23   #9
apex
Registered User
apex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Amigaplanet
Posts: 490
How can a power supply look ugly?
Next to this the inner values are important to have a stable AMIGA.
apex is offline  
Old 05 July 2020, 21:38   #10
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,710
@bippym sure it looks a bit rubbish, but I’m wondering how Hewitson can comment that it’s “poorly designed” and a “terrible product”?
trixster is offline  
Old 05 July 2020, 21:49   #11
Akiko
Registered User
Akiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 173
"It's ugly"

I don't know about anyone else but I'm fussy about cable management, so don't keep any of my commodore power supplies on display.

I recently got an uprated power supply for my CD32, Elsat Pro module, TF330 combo, and for some reason the pro module hates it so had to revert back to the original supply. I don't mind paying extra for something that is high quality and delivers.
Akiko is offline  
Old 06 July 2020, 00:24   #12
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 1,732
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
Wow. What a terrible product. Poorly designed, overpriced, and just simply ugly.
Terrible product? Lets not judge this new book by its cover and price alone just yet? It may not be an elegant design, and it seems to cost more than some available solutions... but the 2 part solution is actually somewhat useful, because the smaller (cartridge box) unit has on / off switch and is small enough to keep close to the Amiga on your desk while the actual off the shelf PSU can be hidden somewhere behind the desk.
And according to the description... " It is the first power supply on the market that fully complies with the original Commodore specifications".

So the price is not great but for a niche product we will never get mainstream prices. And iComp are rarely the cheapest option.
AmigaStore.eu has a couple of replacement models already, starting at €55. Don't know anything about the build quality etc of those, but on paper they look like a better deal, especially if you want single brick design.

At one point I was in contact with Ray Carlsen and while I was ok with his asking price, the whole thing with shipping from US + taxes, import charges, VAT would land at 3 times the price of this one, so local availability is another factor of course...
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 06 July 2020, 00:50   #13
aeberbach
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 219
I have seen a video where Jens talks about power supplies. Several are tested. True, the Mean Well units have higher ripple than the Amiga originally specified (but so do pretty much all of the supplies tested). How do we know that the low ripple specified by Commodore engineers was actually required? What incredibly sensitive component is on an Amiga that requires such low ripple?

I doubt very much that the Individual Computers supplies are poorly designed. More likely they are over designed and for that reason are too expensive. They fix a problem (excessive ripple) that I don't think exists.

My Amiga certainly worked for a long time with a power supply that was far out of spec with its dodgy old capacitors, then it was replaced with a Mean Well and has performed flawlessly since. Aesthetically I hate the two-box solution but that's just a personal opinion. On the plus side you do get the power switch up where you can reach it.
aeberbach is offline  
Old 06 July 2020, 01:31   #14
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeberbach View Post
I have seen a video where Jens talks about power supplies. Several are tested. True, the Mean Well units have higher ripple than the Amiga originally specified (but so do pretty much all of the supplies tested). How do we know that the low ripple specified by Commodore engineers was actually required? What incredibly sensitive component is on an Amiga that requires such low ripple?
Yes, this is all very valid stuff. I should point out that there are a huge number of Meanwell models, and many of them do meet the 50mV ripple requirements of the original Commodore specification, just not the cheapest or smallest modules (which are also likely to be the ones used in the PSUs tested). It should be noted, of course, that the original Amiga PSUs generally don't meet that spec either. They probably did 20-30 years ago, but none that I have here now do. And all of them work fine, including with expanded Amigas, such as an A1200 with a Blizzard 1230, mechanical hard drive and CD-ROM drive, despite having ripple voltages well beyond the Commodore specification, the ATX specification and even the looser Meanwell specification. It's something I must sort out, but anyway...

It should be noted too that ripple specifications are generally stated for maximum load, and that the ripple is lower when the PSU isn't operating at its peak. Given that most Amiga setups don't even max out the original PSUs' specified capacities, let alone a modern Meanwell, it can be assumed that the normal-use ripple from a Meanwell-based PSU will be lower than the specification given in the datasheets, because a typical Amiga setup is likely much lower than the PSU's rating. My tests on a very small sample of PSUs would indicate that this is the case anyway. Of course, heavy consumers like 040+ or PPC cards are a different story...
Daedalus is offline  
Old 06 July 2020, 02:19   #15
R4M
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: /home
Posts: 95
I would guess, that a seizable portion of the price goes to the insurance company:

"CA-PSU is covered by a German product liability insurance."
R4M is offline  
Old 06 July 2020, 02:27   #16
AmigaHope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Sandusky
Posts: 725
Honestly this looks like a great product. Off-the-shelf AC brick, then a custom power conditioner. Yeah it's an extra box but if it delivers best-in-class power, that's worth it.
AmigaHope is offline  
Old 06 July 2020, 07:25   #17
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,916
Looks inconvenient with the cables going from the same direction into the C64 cart. Fine if you never go to demo parties with your amiga, annoying if your machine is regularly on the move. :-) Just thinking about the use case when packing up and tying your cables neatly.

Let's see once people start getting theirs.
Jope is offline  
Old 06 July 2020, 08:20   #18
Steril707
Tigerskunk!

Steril707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Amiga Island
Posts: 1,552
I think this looks a bit crappy, but it seems to have some practical reasons behind it for that.
The price is not much higher than what the competition asks for.
And my experiences with Jens' products have been outstanding so far.

If you are travelling to retro exhibitions with your Amiga a bit, or like visiting your friends place, the large CBM power brick is always kind of an unconvenience if you just want to have everything in one backpack.

This would solve this problem for me.
Steril707 is offline  
Old 06 July 2020, 09:01   #19
alpine9000
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 804
Lots of the competitors in this space don't even have a power switch
alpine9000 is offline  
Old 06 July 2020, 09:17   #20
Etze
A3000-Fan

Etze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 206
I would have loved the power switch to be near (or in) the connector at the Computer.
Etze is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A4000 PSU -> Mini-ATX PSU mod keropi Hardware mods 53 09 December 2019 03:52
ATX PSU in original Amiga PSU casing TTSAddict Hardware mods 8 15 April 2018 17:01
Amiga 500 PSU ref P.312503-03 singapore (Heavy PSU) dlfrsilver support.Hardware 14 27 August 2015 18:18
Amiga 500 PSU ref P.312503 WEST-GERMANY (Light PSU) dlfrsilver support.Hardware 0 18 November 2014 00:54
4 individual outs for Paula Kola New to Emulation or Amiga scene 21 07 October 2012 15:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09348 seconds with 13 queries