English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 February 2007, 19:47   #1
fortytwo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Darmstadt/Germany
Posts: 13
TCP Stack for KS/WB 1.3

Hi,

i'm looking for a TCP/PPP Stack for my A500 (68020, 2-5 MB RAM). The only thing i got working up to now is a Terminal Emulation on the Amiga Side and getty on the PC Side.

I have:
-Nullmodem cable
-Laplink Cable
-Modems
-PC (Linux/WinXP) and of course my A500 (KS1.3, 2 MB atm, tomorrow 5 MB)

is it possible without upgrading Kickstart?

Greets,
Stephan
fortytwo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 06 February 2007, 01:04   #2
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
Heys fortytwo,

Welcome to the EAB, i am sure you will like it here..

as far as i know there are but few TCP/PPP / IP stack is

one is ANT (wich is no more if memory serves correctly but used to be VERY small), Genisis and AmiTCP 1,2 and 3

there is one that cames with a dongle.. from here http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...3469e7e9d80700

the interesting and most important thing here is easynet, i have yet to find it elsewhere other than at amigakit.

If i had the time i would write a free tcp/ppp/ip stack wich you could specify an amiga port to its just a pain in the backside that you cannot specify a port to lump a tcp/pp/ip stack to... PC's can do it now.... its unfair
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 06 February 2007, 01:09   #3
superBuster
superFreak
superBuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: planet earth
Age: 45
Posts: 156
Send a message via AIM to superBuster
amitcp (later genisis) is IMO the best stack. I belive even genisis will run on 3.1, you might be able to install it from a 3.9/3.5 cd if you have one.
Sofar I have been able to do everything I needed with amitcp, including mounting NFS network file systems.
superBuster is offline  
Old 06 February 2007, 09:21   #4
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,672
@all:

he was asking for kick 1.3, not 3.1.

AFAIK there is no TCP/IP stack for Kick 1.3.
thomas is offline  
Old 06 February 2007, 09:26   #5
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 2,292
Doesn't Termite TCP work on 1.3 ?
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 06 February 2007, 10:13   #6
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
Aha! it wasn't ANT it was Termite i was thinking of!

thanks musashi!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 06 February 2007, 16:13   #7
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by musashi5150
Doesn't Termite TCP work on 1.3?
Nope, it needs at least KS2.04 and 1Mb ram:

http://www.aminet.net/package/biz/demo/TermiteDemo

Termite has the lowest requirements of any TCP/IP stack on Amiga AFAIK.
DrBong is offline  
Old 06 February 2007, 16:24   #8
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 2,292
I trust DrBong's input - he's quite an authority. I've never used the software, but I could have sworn it ran on 1.3... I guess not then
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 06 February 2007, 17:01   #9
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 37
Posts: 1,158
AmigaNOS.
That's pretty ancient, might work. (Should be available on aminet)
ppill is offline  
Old 06 February 2007, 19:01   #10
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
Thread moved to ยป Requests > req.Apps
Paul is offline  
Old 06 February 2007, 20:29   #11
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by musashi5150
I've never used the software, but I could have sworn it ran on 1.3... I guess not then
That's what I thought initially, but I thought I'd better check Aminet in case my memory was playing tricks on me (and it was!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ppill
AmigaNOS.
That's pretty ancient, might work. (Should be available on aminet)
Should be fine for serial transfers between Amiga and PC if that's all the OP wants to do, but there might be more user-friendly software on Aminet for that:

http://aminet.net/search?query=serial+transfer

Wouldn't recommend ancient TCP/IP stacks like AmigaNOS for net access on an A500, though, as they don't allow you to directly connect to the net. Far easier to upgrade an A500 to KS 2.x and use Termite (more user-friendly and light on resources). Of course, it all depends on what the OP wants to do exactly.

@fortytwo
What is it exactly that you want to do? Connect your A500 to the net or just transfer files to/from your PC?
DrBong is offline  
Old 08 February 2007, 05:05   #12
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 34
Posts: 1,146
hmm why is your 020 A500 still running under K1.3, I thought it would come with K2+ as standard
redblade is offline  
Old 08 February 2007, 15:46   #13
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by redblade
hmm why is your 020 A500 still running under K1.3, I thought it would come with K2+ as standard
Why? There were already a handful of 020 and even a few 030 accelerators available for the A500 before KS2 was released in '91.
DrBong is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free TCP Stack for 3.1 (no MUI) Leandro Jardim support.Apps 4 28 May 2012 04:45
TCP/IP stack: Most optimized//small? Akira support.Apps 17 14 June 2008 00:42
TCP/IP stack Doc Mindie request.Apps 14 20 September 2007 15:58
TCP/IP stack help please! Chris1965 support.Apps 9 24 March 2007 12:00
TCP/IP Stack redneon Amiga scene 18 24 July 2005 16:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07757 seconds with 15 queries