English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 October 2003, 01:21   #1
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 50
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Question Who can program an xDMS clone with logging ability?

Hi guys,

I'm getting real MAD here. I've currently so many ADFs to test and they originate from DMSes. I unpack these DMSes using xDMS to check whether they contain correct data when inflating.

But this xDMS thing can't LOG nor can it output a limited number of lines! It just runs through! And with this speed, I can't check if there were any possible errors.

I can't even use > for writing to a log file as

xdms u *.dms > output.log

The log file is created, but always empty!
I also tried the option with | more - nothing.

I think for use on Win98/98SE, this thing has to be REWRITTEN for providing a sort of per-page functionality, for I can't even scroll back in the DOS window!

Any ideas how to get this done?
andreas is offline  
Old 02 October 2003, 13:26   #2
mr_0rga5m
Tik Gora :D
 
mr_0rga5m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Round yo momma's
Posts: 1,273
Upgrade your OS .. then you can scroll up in the DOS window (and maybe your pipe redirection may work too) :P

Seriously tho is the source for xDMS available ?
mr_0rga5m is offline  
Old 02 October 2003, 14:01   #3
fiath
Moderator
 
fiath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South East / UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,930
Yes, it is open source. That was the point of it
fiath is offline  
Old 08 October 2003, 01:44   #4
Miggy2TheMax
Junior Member
 
Miggy2TheMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 45
Posts: 381
Hey Andreas,

I think this maybe the problem, xdms is dumping its output to STDERR and piping it or redirecting it to "more" or a filename normally is not going to do much. To catch STDERR output you need to do something like:


xdms u *.dms 2> foo

The 2> will catch STDERR to file "foo"


xdms u *.dms 1> bar 2> foo

The above command will redirect standard output to the file "bar" and standard error to "foo".

Hope this helps, tell me if this fixes your problem.... cheers
Miggy2TheMax is offline  
Old 08 October 2003, 03:10   #5
BippyM
Global Moderator
 
BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 9,355
Use WinUAE and create a dopus script

There are some DMS archives that XDMS CAN-NOT unpack..

If you need a hand with this let me know, but I have created a script that unpacks the dms to a virtual drive, then it rips the drive

Works brilliantly, all full DMS's are unpacked (Only those that are split don't work, but it can easily be modified)

I use it for mas unpacking DMS's off w*r*z CD's for renaming etc
BippyM is offline  
Old 08 October 2003, 05:14   #6
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 50
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
@Bippy: cool -- nice idea ... must consider this perhaps...

@Miggy:
Can't work!
Windows is not UNIX
, mind you.

That would've been easy-peasy, and not worth asking here, but this is plain DOS, and this does not work under dos.
Hint: try before you buy ... eh suggest.
andreas is offline  
Old 08 October 2003, 07:00   #7
adolescent
Powered by Motorola
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 52
Posts: 1,065
Quote:
Originally posted by andreas
@Miggy:
Can't work!
Windows is not UNIX
, mind you.

That would've been easy-peasy, and not worth asking here, but this is plain DOS, and this does not work under dos.
Hint: try before you buy ... eh suggest.
Yes it does. This is standard dos file descriptor (ie. stdin = 0, stdout = 1, stderr = 2). I just tested on XP command prompt and it works just fine.

Edit: Just found reference that it's included in any NT 4.0 or newer, but not Windows 9x DOS. So, your options are to recompile it chaning the stderr to stdout, or upgrade your OS to a modern version.

Last edited by adolescent; 08 October 2003 at 07:06.
adolescent is offline  
Old 08 October 2003, 14:22   #8
BippyM
Global Moderator
 
BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 9,355
Okay for andreas and anyone else who fancies unpacking DMS's properly!!


Basically the idea for this came about when Ian (Emu-UK) asked me to unpack a dms that he could not unpack with XDMS. well he was correct, there are a few archives that XDMS simply can-not unpack (I think they were created with DMS v2+ where-as XDMS only supports archives from DMS1)

Anyway after mucho discussion with Ian and Duke (Mainly about XDMS not working on all DMS files), I had a bash at creating a dopus 4 button, which after some faffing around works quite nicely

anyway you will need to get hold of the following:

FMS.Device (Aminet Link)
DMS (Most of you will have this already!)
Dopus 4 (Aminet Link )
TransADF (Link to it ) (Put this in workbench:C)
the text file attached needs to go into workbench:s/

okay install fms.device

FMS needs to be MOUNTED for this to work

okay the following pic is of my Dopus buttons... set yours the same,



what you cant see is the output window which is also ticked in the listview at the bottom!!

If you want to create a log file instead of selecting output window select output to file and a file should be created in t: or where-ever
Attached Files
File Type: zip return.zip (119 Bytes, 217 views)
BippyM is offline  
Old 08 October 2003, 14:23   #9
BippyM
Global Moderator
 
BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 9,355
there is another way of doing this that doesn't require FMS installing..

Simply makesure you have a blank adf setup in the floppy (Any you want, DF0-DF3) and then makesure the config is as below (Substituting DF0 for whichever frive!!)!

How it works is quite simple, it writes to the floppy instead of virtual floppy, then it creates the image from that.

This way is simpler than installing/mounting ff0: but it will take a little longer (Might be quicker with Turbo or 800% floppy speed)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dopusgrab.jpg
Views:	312
Size:	35.7 KB
ID:	6035  
BippyM is offline  
Old 08 October 2003, 16:17   #10
fiath
Moderator
 
fiath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South East / UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,930
I wouldn't do this on a really miggy though - unless you trust your 10 year old floppies!
fiath is offline  
Old 08 October 2003, 18:23   #11
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 50
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
good point, fiath!

@Miggy
WOW! I didn't know nor believe that MS was that reasonable by putting in separate stderr and stdout just like in Linux in recent Windows versions!

Well @bippy ... this does sound like a good idea, but for me personally it doesn't.
I do not want to open another instance of WinUAE.

When testing DMSes, I have my WinUAE *ALWAYS* open, usually in A500 mode, but no Workbench. I either have to use two instances of WinUAE at the same time therefore, or I always have to switch the WinUAE configurations around each time I want to test a bunch of DMSes. ARGH.

No thanks.

If no one is willing to recompile it, and I too don't succeed in making a "good" version, I'll contact xDMS author Andre R. de la Rocha.
Maybe this is worth a version 1.4 release.

[edit]

I know now how to at least filter out the DMSes with track data CRC error.
Thanks again to adolescent for the tip with stdout and stderr, this again stimulated my brain's creative zone!

- cd to directory

xDMS f >nul *.dms

This will send all "good" output to /dev/null, and ONLY output the errors! That's what I want, eh?
Since those usually aren't much, they're easy to remember and/or write down!

NOTE: This will only work for errors detected with the "pure" DMS; it will NOT work for detecting unpacking errors.

Thanks everybody for participating in this thread so far.

Last edited by andreas; 08 October 2003 at 20:49.
andreas is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A bejewelled clone, deviish clone, columns clone Gordon Looking for a game name ? 10 16 June 2014 19:28
Logging Arexx commands with tco/ts copse support.Other 5 29 October 2012 11:51
Amiga's copying ability. MarkYoungIW New to Emulation or Amiga scene 18 28 February 2009 22:33
Ability to turn one sound channel on and off MethodGit request.UAE Wishlist 11 28 January 2004 22:40

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:33.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08159 seconds with 16 queries