English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 April 2014, 20:56   #1
source
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 673
Just wondering about the ACA accelerator line

Does anyone know if there would ever be an ACA1240 or ACA1260 that can plug into the ACA500. If there is a possibility I would like to put my name on the waiting list for one.
source is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 April 2014, 21:28   #2
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Doubt it due to the price and availability of 060 CPU's, not only that I'm sure you'd have to invest a lot of time and resources to design such a card.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 11 April 2014, 22:30   #3
source
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 673
Even an 040 would be nice.
source is offline  
Old 12 April 2014, 08:27   #4
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,135
040 and 060 accelerators are about the same complexity so there probably wouldn't be much of a price difference (apart from the CPU component itself).
ajk is offline  
Old 12 April 2014, 09:15   #5
ShK
In carbonite
ShK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lahti / Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 289
Old ones in the Vesalia:

Motorola 68040/25MHz 24.90€
Motorola 68060/50MHz 79.90€

New ones from the Freescale (Last Order Date 21 Nov 2014 / Last Ship Date 21 Nov 2015):

MC68040RC40A 10000 @ US$282.10 each
MC68060RC60 10000 @ US$458.61 each
ShK is offline  
Old 15 April 2014, 06:02   #6
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShK View Post
Old ones in the Vesalia:

MC68040RC40A 10000 @ US$282.10 each
MC68060RC60 10000 @ US$458.61 each
It's worth noting that Freescale don't actually expect to sell any units (which is why they are so expensive). They have to keep some stock on hand for their military contracts (well that's the rumour).

The only way forward is FPGA
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 15 April 2014, 17:26   #7
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 38
Posts: 734
Freescale is clearly run by Rob Ford who in his crack-smoking stupor moments decides that charging $450 for a 20 year old CPU is a fantastic idea. :P

Meanwhile Bill Mensch is still manufacturing and selling the 14 mhz 6502. If Freescale had the same mentality, at the very least they could be selling 150 Mhz 68060s nowadays.
alenppc is offline  
Old 15 April 2014, 18:24   #8
ShK
In carbonite
ShK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lahti / Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 289
Yes, Freescale's prices are insane. I think biggest job now is to get the FPGA core 1:1 compatible with 68k. It is more important than speed.
ShK is offline  
Old 16 April 2014, 08:03   #9
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 50
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
People used to rip out 68040's from old macs but that supply has shrunk quite a bit.
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 19 April 2014, 02:23   #10
source
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 673
Do you think there is a way to make a FPU board that would plug into the ACA1232 or ACA500? If there is, is there a plan to make one?
source is offline  
Old 17 June 2014, 22:31   #11
Doctor Clu
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Dallas, TX- USA
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unknown_K View Post
People used to rip out 68040's from old macs but that supply has shrunk quite a bit.
That is what I figure people would do. I remember when I updated a Mac with a 68040 from the '030. Made quite a difference.

But I think it just hit me how old these computers are.
Doctor Clu is offline  
Old 18 June 2014, 13:14   #12
Megol
Registered User

Megol's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: inside the emulator
Posts: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by alenppc View Post
Freescale is clearly run by Rob Ford who in his crack-smoking stupor moments decides that charging $450 for a 20 year old CPU is a fantastic idea. :P
If that cost includes restarting production it isn't very high. Keeping things that doesn't sell much in storage costs a lot too.

Quote:
Meanwhile Bill Mensch is still manufacturing and selling the 14 mhz 6502. If Freescale had the same mentality, at the very least they could be selling 150 Mhz 68060s nowadays.
That isn't really comparable - the 6502 chip is much smaller, uses an older less expensive process and is several orders of magnitude less complex to port to other processes than the 68060.
Megol is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLD] ACA 620EC Accelerator gunni MarketPlace 9 19 December 2013 19:47
ACA 1232 128MB Accelerator VoltureX support.Hardware 15 08 December 2012 17:17
ACA 1230/28 A1200 Accelerator FOR SALE vroom6sri MarketPlace 24 03 March 2012 15:42
FA: Amiga 1200 ACA 1230/56 Accelerator CU_AMiGA MarketPlace 6 05 August 2011 20:14
ACA 1230/56 Accelerator Djay support.Hardware 6 19 January 2011 15:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07960 seconds with 13 queries