English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 May 2011, 07:43   #1
c0dehunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 182
Amiga 1000 or other Amiga systems?

I have an option of getting an A1000. It is a complete package with a monitor and all software in pristine condition. The asking price is $350. My question is that should I get this? I mean what is so special about A1000 that stands out? Can it run games, demos, etc. which A500 can play?

Thanks for your comments and recommendations!
c0dehunter is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 25 May 2011, 09:57   #2
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,629
There's nothing special apart from it being the original Amiga team's vision of what an Amiga is. A relic / conversation piece.

Chip RAM tops out at 512k and the oldest ones didn't support halfbrite. Finding A1000 specific expansions is also a pain, as is feeding in the kickstart disk every cold boot.

The price is a tad on the high side, but I'm not that well versed in the market value of these in USA.
Jope is offline  
Old 25 May 2011, 10:42   #3
moijk
License to Bubble

moijk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Grimstad, Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by c0dehunter View Post
I have an option of getting an A1000. It is a complete package with a monitor and all software in pristine condition. The asking price is $350. My question is that should I get this? I mean what is so special about A1000 that stands out? Can it run games, demos, etc. which A500 can play?

Thanks for your comments and recommendations!
The a1000 was the first Amiga, and I'd love to own one just because of that. However, I would leave it as original as I could.

But I'd be sure the package was worth it before I paid US$350 for it. As much as I love the Amiga, that gives you a well expanded a1200 that would probably be more fun to play with.
moijk is offline  
Old 25 May 2011, 18:34   #4
c0dehunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 182
OK, thanks for your input!
c0dehunter is offline  
Old 25 May 2011, 20:59   #5
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,178
A lot depends on condition and if it's local.
Shipping for a system like that with a monitor could be near $100 itself, so if it's local, that helps a lot. ;-)

Generally you can get A1000's for less than that, but they tend to be in bad shape. No keyboards, missing floppy eject buttons, missing slot covers, etc..
Missing original mouse (the original A1000 mouse has a special right-angled plug and are kind of (not "can't find", but..) rare. A lot of A1000's come with a normal Amiga mouse, which works, but it isn't original..)

If it's in great shape, that's always a huge plus.
Also, what does it have in it?
Memory expansions? (You'd want at LEAST the extra 256K that goes in the front and for that price, you might be looking for some type of "Insider" memory expansion.

With the 256k expansion, it's almost identical compatibility wise to a plain A500...

Personally, having bought my really beat up A1000 for less than that, I'd think hard about $350 for a really clean one...

desiv
desiv is offline  
Old 25 May 2011, 22:38   #6
c0dehunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 182
Yes, it is local and this is what it includes:

MOUSE

KEYBOARD, , HIGH-RESOLUTION FULL-COLOR MONITOR,

512 INTERNAL MEMORY

1X EXTERNAL DRIVE

OPERATING MANUAL

OPERATING SOFTWARE including WORKBENCH.

He claims that it is in perfect working condition, looks great.
c0dehunter is offline  
Old 25 May 2011, 22:52   #7
Leffmann

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,098
If I was into collecting, I would buy it. If I was looking for an Amiga to use I would put that money in an A1200 with a fastmem expansion and a compact flash hard drive.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 26 May 2011, 05:52   #8
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,203
If you want to get into the Amiga I would get a A500 or 2000. For way half that price, and it can be expanded to 1MB+ easier. If you want to collect a nice unit, that might be a good start too. Its up to you...
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 26 May 2011, 07:13   #9
ChrisUnionNJ
Amibay Mod/Staff

ChrisUnionNJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Union NJ
Age: 55
Posts: 191
Yeah but the 1000 is for pure history buy if it has everything that came with
it and the box in good shape I would say thats a good dealI got a ok one
for $50 box was good not the right mouse no kickstart disk..

ChrisUnionNJ is offline  
Old 26 May 2011, 08:38   #10
c0dehunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 182
Thanks for your inputs. I already own an A600HD, so this A1000 is very tempting. The real challenge is that when I buy this A1000, how can I convert all my ADF games and demos into real floppies to be used with my new A1000 however...
c0dehunter is offline  
Old 26 May 2011, 08:54   #11
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,203
I use an A4000 for just that. I burn the ADFs to CD on the PC, then write them to disks on the Amiga...

Last edited by TjLaZer; 26 May 2011 at 09:01.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 26 May 2011, 08:59   #12
c0dehunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 182
See my post here as well:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?p=758077#post758077

You guys are all amazing!
c0dehunter is offline  
Old 26 May 2011, 09:00   #13
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,629
I use any of my networked Amigas for that, I have the ADFs on my file server, mount that with smbfs on the Amiga and use transdisk -w filename.adf .. ;-)
Jope is offline  
Old 26 May 2011, 12:55   #14
gehtjanx
WINNING
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vienna / Austria
Posts: 134
A1000 is more a collectors item. With Kick on disk and mostly 512k etc it's better to get you an A500 (for just playing around) or A600 / 600 HD (with litle investment really good machine (HDD, PCMCIA Adapter, Kickstart switch for compatibelity, maybe RAM). A600 is smaller and has compostie video color output. The disk drives are better as the very old a1000 ones. Or if you really want to a bit more, start with A1200. But for getting into Amiga 500/600 is OK.

You should be able to get an A1000 as discribed at 50-80 Euros. Monitor would be plus 20 to 40 Euros. So this is a max. total of 130 Euros ending up in 184 USD $.

512 INTERNAL MEMORY is "nromal", except this is a special extra hardware bumping it to 1 MB. A1000 have 256 KB and nearly all systems were deliveres with extra 265 KB in front port. So ending up with 512K as you describe. Internal expansions are rare and I do not think that it will have a total of more then 512 K.


EDIT:
Saw you own an A600. So there is NO POSSIBILITY TO CONVERT an ADF. ADF is an "image file" of the CONTENT of an Amiga floppy disk. You can write the CONTENT back to a real disk very easy on A600 to a real floppy disk and then, they are useable and fully compatible with A1000 (when the A1000 disk drive is OK and the software is compatible with OCS / 512K/Kick1.x)

gehtjanx
gehtjanx is offline  
Old 26 May 2011, 17:14   #15
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,178
Of course, there is the usual bit about ADFs and copy protection.
Basically, if your ADF is 880k, your probably fine to write it back to a floppy.
It's it's larger than that, it is an "extended ADF," which is great for WinUAE, but not for writing back to real floppies...

Still, most images should work for you..

Oh wait, you're in the USA as am I, then a LOT of images will work great for you... Most???
Well, we have that whole NTSC/PAL issue to deal with, but none of this is A1000 specific. ;-)

desiv
desiv is offline  
Old 27 May 2011, 00:23   #16
c0dehunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 182
The person who is selling the A1000 is going to be flexible. I am going to drive to his location (30 minute drive) and see it up close and personal.

p.s. I do not own any monitor for my My A600HD, so I might be able to occasionally use the A1000 for my A600HD.

What is a fair price for this unit? What should I offer? $200 USD?

Thanks!
c0dehunter is offline  
Old 27 May 2011, 03:37   #17
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
$150 maybe. This assumes it has a decent Amiga monitor and not some hacked PC one. The A1000 keyboards are different then the rest and hard to find, same with original mice (oddly enough I have one that is useless on another model because of clearance).

A stock A1000 is not that usefull for playing anything but early games, as others have said an A500 with 512K trapdoor is better. Any upgrades will cost an arm and a leg.

I mostly game with my systems (A500/2000/3000/4000/1200) and never seen the need for adding a 1000 or 600 to my collection. People get the 1000 because it completes their collection and it was the original Amiga, but I would think they use different models and the 1000 collects dust (unless they spent $$$$ on upgrades).
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 27 May 2011, 08:42   #18
ChrisUnionNJ
Amibay Mod/Staff

ChrisUnionNJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Union NJ
Age: 55
Posts: 191
You can use A500 expansion's also just upside down I have a memory expansion that way but you must have the angled mouse for that to
work..

Chris
ChrisUnionNJ is offline  
Old 27 May 2011, 20:58   #19
orange
Registered User
orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Belgrade
Posts: 567
its a 'slippery slope'. one day you might end with bunch of Amigas that you don't use at all..
orange is offline  
Old 28 May 2011, 07:55   #20
c0dehunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 182
I am glad that I didn't buy that A1000. It was really dirty, (although working) and it was really not worth $350 at all. Thanks for your comments!
c0dehunter is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Real Unity: Directory Opus Magellan II for all Amiga and Amiga-like systems. spoUP News 0 19 March 2012 02:09
Amiga 1000 Inboard 1000 by Spirit - help needed amiman99 support.Hardware 0 13 December 2011 04:50
The Amiga 1000 on PC World - 25 Years of Amiga AmigaFriend Amiga scene 5 25 July 2010 18:18
Connecting Amiga 1000 DKB Insider to 1000 without daughterboard huggies support.Hardware 0 05 October 2008 11:10
Will the Amiga 500 or Amiga 1000 run workbench 2? anim8 support.Hardware 12 18 August 2001 05:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09014 seconds with 13 queries