English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 March 2011, 18:25   #1
BippyM
Registered User

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 8,713
What would you change if you could

If you could go back what would you change.

This has to be what YOU can actually do, no pipe dreams about saving Commodore etc..

I would go back and actually do something more productive than spend yrs doing bits here and there. I would probably learn to program properly and not give up or get distracted with something else.
BippyM is offline  
Old 03 March 2011, 18:30   #2
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 38
Posts: 17,789
No gaming, I have big mess in my head because of old games. I remember them in details but not important things from my life.
s2325 is offline  
Old 03 March 2011, 18:46   #3
humble worm
Registered User
humble worm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: BP/Poland
Age: 40
Posts: 745
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
I remember them in details but not important things from my life.
no worries, life is just a game anyway!
humble worm is offline  
Old 03 March 2011, 19:45   #4
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 42
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
I would of not sold my original A1200 and all the extras I had... I lost so much stuff on that trade in for a ps one, I should of bought it outright and been happy with one game, rather than all the launch games and extra pad and memory card.

I did however keep, my boxed copy of frontier and my save game

And..

Learn to program, the ability to create is something I regret the most... I don't really have the time to do it now with work and family commitments and of course gaming both modern and retro
Djay is offline  
Old 03 March 2011, 20:02   #5
Adropac2
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 46
Posts: 839
Not sure i would change anything.I'm who i am today because of all my mistakes and i could have ended up in a worse place.I count myself lucky.Not being creative is maybe high up on the list of regrets for some i would say but because i was dire at everything else, i embraced this and the one thing i'm good at now

Would love to be good at programming but i'll just have wait on that
Adropac2 is offline  
Old 03 March 2011, 20:54   #6
pmc
rebooting...
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Elsewhere
Posts: 1,595
So many things. A bit cryptic this but probably what I would choose is to have said no instead of yes when I was asked if I wanted to go into town one afternoon in October '95.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bippym
I would probably learn to program properly and not give up or get distracted with something else.
You can still do this bippy

In fact, I'll make you a genuine offer: choose one demo effect, just one, that you would really like to code that you think I could help you with. Forget all the boring system startup stuff - nick that from one of my sources - just concentrate on the effect and code it. Doesn't matter how long it takes you, one line of code a day, anything. Regardless of how long it takes you'll get there eventually and along the way any time you get stuck or need advice or want to bounce an idea off someone, drop me an email and I'll help you.
pmc is offline  
Old 03 March 2011, 20:59   #7
BippyM
Registered User

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 8,713
Like Djay I don't have the time with work and family commitments, when I was younger I'd spend all day knocking this and that together, or drawing in DPaint, using imagine etc etc etc,

I have the intellect and the basic understanding of learning, I was thinking about it today, but it is finding the time and a development setup I am comfortable with.

I am not worrried about the effects but the startup shite and understanding that.. It's been so long, I forgot alot
BippyM is offline  
Old 03 March 2011, 21:00   #8
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 51
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
had a cdtv instead of the A570
not go to uni for my betec an be saddled with a load of debt
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 03 March 2011, 22:33   #9
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel
gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 37
Posts: 3,092
thats easy. I wouldn't piss away my early education... playing on the Amiga and later the PC

After some years of work I went back to school because I wanted to get better papers (in them days it still counted) and figured out I was actually pretty clever at everything I thought I sucked at, including math. I really did some damage to myself in my teenage days by doing everything but study, or socialize for that matter. Thank god I landed a job and learned what responsibility was.
gimbal is offline  
Old 03 March 2011, 22:51   #10
DonAmiga
Registered User

DonAmiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 521
I would have kept hold off all my stuff, Amiga, Spectrum, Sega and Nes,, Also Grandstands Astro wars and Scramble, Which I've just bought but as Adropac2 said we're here today because of what we did, just would have been lighter on the pocket for me
DonAmiga is offline  
Old 03 March 2011, 23:28   #11
spiff
Oh noes!
spiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Neverland
Posts: 675
I'd spend a day with my grandparents, I miss them.
spiff is offline  
Old 04 March 2011, 11:05   #12
Sektor 83
Registered User
Sektor 83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UK
Age: 35
Posts: 143
Like I said in my introductory post, I would have liked to have learned how to code in 68k... but by the time I got a manual for it, my A500+ was on its last legs and in terms of the Amiga, with it being about 1997, it was a little too late. I would have started much earlier, but I was a little hampered by age... although that didn't stop me from learning AMOS, Protracker, OctaMED, sector editors and all that other stuff. The last 'Amiga' I owned was a CD32 which I got rid of sometime in 1999... but I've got to say, I hardly ever used it... once the 500+ went, that was pretty much the end of me and the Amiga until I started using WinUAE a couple of years ago!

Last edited by Sektor 83; 04 March 2011 at 11:20.
Sektor 83 is offline  
Old 04 March 2011, 11:24   #13
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 7,924
I wouldn't change a thing

Every little change back then could have unforeseen circumstances, if I go back and change it I could be dead by now
killergorilla is offline  
Old 04 March 2011, 11:36   #14
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel
gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 37
Posts: 3,092
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
I wouldn't change a thing

Every little change back then could have unforeseen circumstances, if I go back and change it I could be dead by now
Or !_-ALIVE-_!


But yeah its no good to:

- think what if what if
- treat life as one missed opportunity after another

What you don't know about you can't miss! And I would have missed the Amiga, this board and squabbles with mister Killer "smelly monkey banana head" Gorilla. No sir, I wouldn't miss that for the world.
gimbal is offline  
Old 04 March 2011, 12:04   #15
wanderer
I want an A1000

wanderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Pac-Land
Posts: 661
I would take more photos. It's so easy today, but I have almost nothing from those days unfortunately. Also what bippym said, more focus. And a little less gaming.
wanderer is offline  
Old 04 March 2011, 14:07   #16
KevG
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: U.K.
Posts: 93
Quote:
If you could go back what would you change.
I'd do better at school if I could go back. Do A levels then go to university to study geology. Unfortunately, I wasted many years of my life in I.T. which was a total and utter complete waste of time.

Kev G.
KevG is offline  
Old 04 March 2011, 17:08   #17
kamelito
Zone Friend
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 930
I'll wrote games instead of (only) playing them.
kamelito is offline  
Old 04 March 2011, 17:40   #18
zenox98
Komakino

zenox98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: East Yorkshire
Age: 54
Posts: 174
*cough*

Down with that sorta thing!

Last edited by zenox98; 05 March 2011 at 00:01.
zenox98 is offline  
Old 05 March 2011, 15:07   #19
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 2,297
I wouldn't have screwed a friend's girlfriend while at college
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 09 March 2011, 20:51   #20
LuMan
Amigan - an loving it!!
LuMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 49
Posts: 542
@bippym - Like pmc noted, it's never too late. I learned 6502 and Z80 when I was at college* (w-a-y back in the 80s) and then never really did anything with it. Fluffed about with AMOS and Blitz Basic in the 90s and messed around with C in command line mode. Nothing really spectacular. But then, about 2 years ago, I got into SDL and Java and started playing around. There's so many resources online that you can't go wrong (especially if you use pmc's sources ). You'll be amazed at what you can do with a bit of messing about with code.

For example, my rather naff website (which hasn't been updated for ages) has got some examples of what I managed to throw together after about a week's playing around. You'll find:
1. A very simple 'shoot-the-alien' game
2. A parallax scroller with a movable spaceship
3. A gravity-effected bouncing ball
Go to www.luweb.co.uk

If you want the source I'll bung it over to you. Knowing that there's other folk interested in kicking off programming will probably get me going again

*I went to college at Wilmorton. It's in your neck of the woods
LuMan is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I change it? Retrofan support.Apps 1 01 February 2011 20:24
Change partitions frikilokooo project.ClassicWB 16 21 September 2007 14:36
change the cd-rom unit number(sorry wrong place if a moderator can change) turrican3 support.OtherUAE 19 05 May 2007 00:27
I want to change my username! Possible? dex project.EAB 16 19 February 2007 15:17
All change Ian project.EAB 19 12 January 2002 20:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.63566 seconds with 13 queries