English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 November 2014, 14:22   #1
tekopaa
Registered User
tekopaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 117
Pcmcia USB card

I didnt belive that pcmcia bus could handle usb but dx offers these cards

http://www.dx.com/p/wbtuo-bc168-note...1#.VFoVMPmsXRw

Would these be compatible with Amiga if driver/support .. be available
tekopaa is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 November 2014, 14:23   #2
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,226
They're CardBus, which is 32-bit. The Amiga only supports 16-bit PCMCIA.
jbenam is offline  
Old 05 November 2014, 15:42   #3
tekopaa
Registered User
tekopaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 117
but in picture it looks like 16bit PCMCIA.

http://bixnet.net/images/PCCard-16Bit-CardBus.jpg
tekopaa is offline  
Old 05 November 2014, 15:46   #4
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,226
Indeed, but the sticker and the description says otherwise

I'm not even sure if the golden grounding strip is needed at all (maybe for Cardbus slot sensing?)...
jbenam is offline  
Old 05 November 2014, 17:05   #5
Oli_HD
Collector

Oli_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: No longer active
Posts: 157
Just on a side note theres no reason why the PCMCIA port cant support USB, Zorro 2 can and the chip used on the Thylacine is 8bit so could be interfaced to a C64 if you really wanted to.
I know the chip on the Thylacine had a developers board that was an 8 bit ISA card. (XT)

Doesnt matter though as yes, that card is cardbus.
Oli_HD is offline  
Old 10 November 2014, 18:58   #6
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oli_HD View Post
Just on a side note theres no reason why the PCMCIA port cant support USB, Zorro 2 can and the chip used on the Thylacine is 8bit so could be interfaced to a C64 if you really wanted to.
I know the chip on the Thylacine had a developers board that was an 8 bit ISA card. (XT)

Doesnt matter though as yes, that card is cardbus.
Looks like a good upgrade for the next version of Sakura, the 4MB PCMCIA card made by strim and friend!
jbenam is offline  
Old 11 November 2014, 03:32   #7
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,508
Many many years ago I saw non-CardBus (16 bit) PCMCIA USB 1.1 cards.
I should have bought one, because they disappeared long ago .

I have an old notebook which has no USB ports, and one of those cards would be the only solution for it (its two PCMCIA slots are not CardBus-compatible).
Supamax is offline  
Old 11 November 2014, 16:07   #8
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
What about something like this......

http://www.ratocsystems.com/english/products/CFU2U.html
Arnie is offline  
Old 11 November 2014, 16:16   #9
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,590
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
What about something like this......

http://www.ratocsystems.com/english/products/CFU2U.html
Accept, you cant get them now.
FOL is offline  
Old 11 November 2014, 16:24   #10
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Or this......

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Cablematic-C...FfMZtAoduigA9Q
Arnie is offline  
Old 11 November 2014, 16:25   #11
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
Cardbus, won't work in the Amiga.
jbenam is offline  
Old 11 November 2014, 17:04   #12
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
maybe this.......

http://www.smartphonemag.com/cms/blo..._your_handheld
Arnie is offline  
Old 11 November 2014, 18:17   #13
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
IIRC CompactFlash I/O should be pin-compatible with PCMCIA.

That could work, but good luck in finding them nowadays On the other hand, building a new PCMCIA solution using the Thylacine chip should be perfectly doable.

strim is the man for this discussion (If only he would pop in here!)
jbenam is offline  
Old 11 November 2014, 18:42   #14
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,947
The only 16-bit PCMCIA USB1.1 bridge chip is the Oxford Semiconductors / PLX Technologies CFU950 (which I worked on).

I donated several including FPGA development boards to Michael Boehmer and Chris Hodges. I am sure they are now lost in the mists of time.

I did have several more but I think I junked them just recently (I got too many boxes full of crap as it is). I'll have an eyeball around the Amiga boxes tonight.

I think only one company made a product with this chip (in the USB configuration) SolarExpress PDA II

Last edited by alexh; 11 November 2014 at 18:53.
alexh is offline  
Old 12 November 2014, 15:03   #15
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,947
Looking in the cupboard at work I found the last three 16-bit PCMCIA FPGA devkits.

I can provide the schematics for the boards, the Xilinx pinmap UCF file and possibly an example top-level VHDL file.

I cannot give the design (obviously).

So who wants will use them? You could make your own PCMCIA->USB 1.1 bridge.
alexh is offline  
Old 12 November 2014, 15:13   #16
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Looking in the cupboard at work I found the last three 16-bit PCMCIA FPGA devkits.

I can provide the schematics for the boards, the Xilinx pinmap UCF file and possibly an example top-level VHDL file.

I cannot give the design (obviously).

So who wants will use them? You could make your own PCMCIA->USB 1.1 bridge.
You should PM strim. I'm sure he'd be interested in them for Sakura2
jbenam is offline  
Old 12 November 2014, 15:46   #17
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,947
What is Sakura2?

Unfortunately they are pretty much single purpose.

PCMCIA connector-> (FPGA + Config PROM) ->USB connector.

I think maybe one has a breakout header
alexh is offline  
Old 12 November 2014, 16:32   #18
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
What is Sakura2?

Unfortunately they are pretty much single purpose.

PCMCIA connector-> (FPGA + Config PROM) ->USB connector.

I think maybe one has a breakout header
Sakura is a new PCMCIA RAM expansion which came out some months ago:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...cia+ram&page=3

strim was thinking of making a new version ("Sakura2" was my name, there's still no official naming) with Ethernet and other goodies on it - maybe he can also stick a 16-bit USB port on it?
jbenam is offline  
Old 12 November 2014, 21:41   #19
strim
NetBSD developer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 398
Quote:
strim was thinking of making a new version ("Sakura2" was my name, there's still no official naming) with Ethernet and other goodies on it - maybe he can also stick a 16-bit USB port on it?
I think I'll stick with RAM, Ethernet, Flash and SD controller for now. Okay, feature list for Sakura Mk2 is still open, but I have to be very careful to keep the price at acceptable level. Adding stuff like FPGAs would increase the cost. I'll try to keep it all in one CPLD + ASICs.

Work in progress: http://c0ff33.net/drop/sakuramk2-v0.pdf
(very very slow progress, since I am busy with Decelerator 4030 now)
strim is offline  
Old 13 November 2014, 11:29   #20
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by strim View Post
I think I'll stick with RAM, Ethernet, Flash and SD controller for now. Okay, feature list for Sakura Mk2 is still open, but I have to be very careful to keep the price at acceptable level. Adding stuff like FPGAs would increase the cost. I'll try to keep it all in one CPLD + ASICs.

Work in progress: http://c0ff33.net/drop/sakuramk2-v0.pdf
(very very slow progress, since I am busy with Decelerator 4030 now)
Thanks for taking the time to reply!

Maybe a dedicated USB-PCMCIA solution (I know there's request for such thing!) could keep the costs low enough for it to be an interesting proposal?
jbenam is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A600: CF in IDE, SRAM card in PCMCIA... how to add a 'to PC transfer card'? Photon support.Hardware 9 15 January 2011 19:17
PCMCIA to USB adaptor? Fingerlickin_B support.Hardware 5 02 August 2008 16:52
Adapter PCMCIA to USB frikilokooo support.Hardware 12 15 October 2007 00:59
PCMCIA Squirrel + PCMCIA Network Card tootoid support.Hardware 1 18 April 2007 13:13
030 card, Kingston pcmcia card! ElectroBlaster MarketPlace 1 04 October 2004 14:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25905 seconds with 12 queries