English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.KGLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 December 2007, 00:01   #41
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 37
Posts: 2,482
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Humphrey View Post
WHDLaunch? Not very exciting, I know.
call me boring, but im inclined to agree!

simple, effective, no messing about
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 10 December 2007, 00:36   #42
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,227
Some more?

AmiSlave or Amiga Slave
VanillaGorilla
No More Floppies
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 10 December 2007, 00:40   #43
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 32
Posts: 11,047
I quite like AmiSlave.

Though I still prefer WHDLaunch
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 10 December 2007, 01:00   #44
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 36
Posts: 2,451
WHDLaunch yep
kriz is offline  
Old 10 December 2007, 01:12   #45
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 7,924
Hello!

Firstly, cheers for drawing up a background ppill, whatever you decide on I'll include it once the menu's finished

The menu is completely skinnable so feel free to put a few together if you so wish, the more the merrier (this goes for anyone else as well).

As for naming, I won't be calling it WHDLaunch, one becuase I don't like it and whatever I say goes And 2, because it's not only for WHDLoad, you can load anything you like from it.

I may name the scanner something to do with WHDLoad but not the launcher itself.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 10 December 2007, 02:35   #46
Dexther
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: italy
Age: 41
Posts: 145
this project work on amiga ?
are a dream come true for my 1200 ...
Dexther is offline  
Old 10 December 2007, 08:34   #47
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
nice nice!
as for name, I would call it KGLoad or KGLaunch
keropi is offline  
Old 10 December 2007, 09:30   #48
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 7,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi View Post
nice nice!
as for name, I would call it KGLoad or KGLaunch
MUCH BETTERS
killergorilla is offline  
Old 15 February 2008, 14:34   #49
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,988
Few questions will this Launcher work on non AGA Amigas?
and whats the best way to resize Images for AGS?
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 15 February 2008, 14:37   #50
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 7,924
Well I had planned on making a non-aga version after I'd finished this but the non-AGA version.

You don't need to resize the images for AGS as AGS takes the screenshots in 302x256. Just save them out as iff and make sure they use the same palette as the background image.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 15 February 2008, 14:43   #51
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,988
Ok thanks for reply -Ill have another go Im just getting images from Lemon but was haveing some problems.

Seems a shame that AGS doesnt work on Non-Aga -600 would make a nice games machine do you know of any similar Launchers that would work?
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 15 February 2008, 15:02   #52
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 7,924
I'm afraid I don't

For a non-aga amiga you'd need to use 32 colour screenshots which really won't look all the great.

Unfortunately at the moment all my sources are on my home computer so I can't continue work until I go home and get it all.

I'm currently busy on another project at the moment anyway.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 10 July 2008, 02:51   #53
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 7,924
Right, I thought I'd post a small update on this...

I've very nearly finished the database for my frontend which displays info for every whdload game in my packs.

I have to thank both HOL (Cody) and Gamebase Amiga (Belg) for helping me get the bulk of the data. It's now paired up to the info from my packs so it should be good to go.

It's gonna need some testing, which thankfully Horace has offered to help out with so I should have the frontend up and working soon enough.

I would really appreciate people who will actually use this frontend to speak up. If you REALLY are going to use it then I'd love to hear from you.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 10 July 2008, 02:53   #54
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 37
Posts: 2,482
"offered" lol....


"roped into" i think is the term
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 10 July 2008, 03:01   #55
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,227
I would test it. Do you have more infos? You said something about a boot menu with a WB/KG Launcher selection. Can we start zipped WHDLoad games, like in Gamebase Amiga?
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 10 July 2008, 05:16   #56
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 41
Posts: 2,029
Gimmie, Gimmie, Gimmie!
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 10 July 2008, 09:26   #57
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,158
I'd like to give it a go. Where can I get it?
ppill is offline  
Old 10 July 2008, 09:48   #58
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 41
Posts: 2,029
Ahh, re-read the post and its not ready, you want us to speak up... maybe some kind of folder scanner that looks for games then adds them to the menu?

Also a way to launch anything you can run from the shell. And OCS compatibility.

Skinable too, make it skinable.
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 10 July 2008, 12:06   #59
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 7,924
Okey...

I'll give some more info on this...

Well it's currently very much a WIP. How many of the final features I want to go in to the menu depends on how much time I get to put into it and how easy adding them is

The menu itself can be used to run whatever you like, just involves you writing your own scripts/database to load stuff into the menu at boot time.

My database is a complete database of everything in my (games) whdload packs, and will be used by the scanner to check which games you have 'installed'. Let's call this the "master database" oooh!

So... you have a dir called "WHDGames" (imaginitive I know) and you point the scanner at it. The scanner checks through all of the directories in the games dir comparing any icons it finds with the ones stored in the "master database". When it finds a match it creates a "user database" and adds any further game matches to that database.

Then when you run the lovely frontend it uses your "user database" to show which games you have installed. Magic.

To start with you'll need to run the scanner everytime change the contents of your WHDGames dir but I may change this (add game function, remove game function... etc.)

When you click to load a game, it looks at the icon file for that game, reads out the tooltype info, and passes them as command line arguments to the whdload exe. This means that you can maintain your tooltypes in the Workbench environment as well. I'll be adding a function to edit the tooltypes directly from the front end (somewhere down the line).

There will also be a "script" directory where you can add a script such as "Menace.run". When you choose to run Menace from the menu it will check here first if such a script exists, if it does it'll attempt to run it, if not it'll continue to load using the .info file.

You could put whatever you like in the script directory, but you'd need to edit the database to let the frontend know your script was there. I may add auto scanning of the script dir at some stage but this could really slow down the frontend if there are a lot of scripts involved.

This will start off as an AGA menu, which as you ask THB will be fully skinnable (although initially you can't change the size/location of the elements on screen just what images are used) but I will be releasing an OCS version somewhere down the line, but probably without screenshots as I'm not sure they'll look all that good with a 32 colour set palette (we'll see). It will probably still require KS2 or above though.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 10 July 2008, 13:55   #60
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,227
Sounds very good so far. There's no need to unpack the games?
Retro-Nerd is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Who's tried KGLoad in the new ClassicWB packs? Bloodwych project.KGLoad 17 04 May 2012 04:50
where is kgload frontend? s4m project.KGLoad 6 04 May 2012 02:10
KGLoad Requirements killergorilla project.KGLoad 32 06 May 2010 09:55
KGLoad - Help Needed killergorilla project.KGLoad 34 11 March 2009 12:06
KGLoad - Feature List killergorilla project.KGLoad 0 20 January 2009 12:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10927 seconds with 14 queries