English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 January 2019, 03:50   #21
cloverskull
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: California
Posts: 31
Hypothetically speaking, how much of a stretch would it be to expand upon the design of these to something which includes RAM?
cloverskull is offline  
Old 17 January 2019, 03:52   #22
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,669
Quote:
Originally Posted by cloverskull View Post
Hypothetically speaking, how much of a stretch would it be to expand upon the design of these to something which includes RAM?

Chucky was looking into that but I don't think he got very far. Could certainly be done but it takes work.

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=87971&page=11

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...&postcount=217
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 19 January 2019, 00:00   #23
macce2
Retro maniac

macce2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 874
Guess one would expect to get slightly more from a Commodore 68020/ 68030 card ( with Fpu), clocked;
compared to a basic A3640 card ??
macce2 is offline  
Old 19 January 2019, 01:04   #24
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,669
Quote:
Originally Posted by macce2 View Post
Guess one would expect to get slightly more from a Commodore 68020/ 68030 card ( with Fpu), clocked;
compared to a basic A3640 card ??

No, an A3640 has an 040 the A3630 has an 030, the A3630 is the lowest accelerator for the A4000.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 19 January 2019, 01:50   #25
macce2
Retro maniac

macce2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 874
Oh I' m sorry.. it waz a typo. I did mean, compared to a A3630 card ! ?
macce2 is offline  
Old 19 February 2019, 05:53   #26
macce2
Retro maniac

macce2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 874
Hey... From where to get the 68060 libraries ? Version ?
macce2 is offline  
Old 11 March 2019, 11:33   #27
Megatron
Peace through tyranny!

Megatron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 24
So let me first say that I bought one of these cards from TbTorro.. and... I like it. It is new hardware, made to last for as long as I may still be into this Amiga thing.. and.. it is made with precision as I was once fortunate to see how he makes these...

About the speed... and the RAM... sure, a Cyberstorm MK3 is faster also due to the RAM being on-board but I doubt us being able to notice it in the day-to-day job unless you still use your Amiga for rendering activities.. and if you do.. it will be just out of nostalgic reasons.

Did I mention your Microwave at home might be quicker? :-)
Megatron is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building a A3660 kit Cav Hardware mods 1 07 January 2019 22:26
Let me present the A3660 Chucky Hardware mods 51 13 July 2018 10:08
Pushing the A3660 to the next step Chucky support.Hardware 15 27 November 2017 23:44
512kb & 1Mb PCMCIA SRAM Mem cards - for Amiga 1200 / 600 on ebay drebhaklett MarketPlace 0 25 February 2005 02:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07831 seconds with 14 queries