English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 January 2019, 03:56   #1
macce2
Retro maniac

macce2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 874
New A3660 cards on eBay

Has anyone tried these:

NEW Commodore Amiga 4000 68060 CPU card A3660 professionally built +patched KS | eBay<br>
https://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-Commodo...AAAOSwVvRbEEwi

Any experiences ?
How much would my A4000D benefit from that card, compared to my current 3640 card ( 040@25) ?
macce2 is offline  
Old 08 January 2019, 05:18   #2
jediknight
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: bolton
Posts: 135
that is impressive and i had an 060 in my 4000 and it was fast really awesome.
jediknight is offline  
Old 08 January 2019, 07:28   #3
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,247
Looks like tbtorro's builds: http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?103654

It's a nice upgrade, the only negative thing is you don't have fast RAM on the board itself (which is due to it being based on the original A3640 which also doesn't). Motherboard fast RAM is slower and you can't have very much of it. Even so, the 060 is much faster.

I built one also and it's working nicely in my A3000: http://ajk.kapsi.fi/retro/amiga/a3000/a3660_1.jpg
ajk is offline  
Old 08 January 2019, 09:58   #4
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 2,904
That's a very cheap 060 card. Even if it is crippled by having no onboard memory.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 08 January 2019, 12:52   #5
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 307
Cheap is a relative term

I've seen CS mk1 sell around this price in the past year, and those can have 128MB fast-ram with a SCSI option.
I even bought my BPPC (060 variant) for less, but that was some years back.
UberFreak is offline  
Old 08 January 2019, 22:36   #6
macce2
Retro maniac

macce2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 874
Nowadays, I think Amiga hardware is more and more insanely expensive. About 560 Euros is a lot of money. For me, at least, it certainly is. I was thinking, if that card was worth it. (?!) - So, how much would I expect to get for my original A4000 030 processor card ? Or my A3640 card, which i' m currently using ?
macce2 is offline  
Old 09 January 2019, 00:07   #7
debiani386
New generation Amiga user

debiani386's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: West jordan
Posts: 25
I got one a few months ago for my Amiga 4000, just because it was built with newer parts and is an upgrade from the stock 68040. It works pretty OK for me for the most part (some of the applications I have were hard coded for the 68030 and earlier, but even most of those still work).

You will need to have the 68060 libraries installed, since the 68040 libraries won't load with the 060 board installed.

For games such as Doom, I noticed about a 10fps increase (from 15 - 20 fps to 20 - 30 fps) on the doomattack engine and about as much with GeneticSpecies. I imagine that a 68060 accelerator would have much better frame rates.

Hoping that we can get some replica PowerPC accelerator cards in the future

Here is my configuration:
68060 @ 50mhz, Patched KS3.1 rom
20mb Fast ram
Workbench 3.1
1 40 gb hdd
1 CD-ROM
1 FDD
Mediator PCI Busboard
3DFX Voodoo 3 3000
FastEthernet with EN5030 chipset
debiani386 is offline  
Old 09 January 2019, 00:13   #8
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by debiani386 View Post

Hoping that we can get some replica PowerPC accelerator cards in the future

You mean like other than the five or so PCI cards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by macce2 View Post
Has anyone tried these:

NEW Commodore Amiga 4000 68060 CPU card A3660 professionally built +patched KS | eBay<br>
https://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-Commodo...AAAOSwVvRbEEwi

Any experiences ?
How much would my A4000D benefit from that card, compared to my current 3640 card ( 040@25) ?

It's the same card just with a built-in 040-060 adapter. So it would perform identically to your A3640 if you got an 040-060 adapter, though it does have the "new car smell" so that is probably worth a few extra MIPS.

Last edited by grelbfarlk; 09 January 2019 at 00:22.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 09 January 2019, 00:16   #9
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,606
@debiani386

You'd be better trying one of my newer Doom ports compiled for an 060.

http://aminet.net/package/game/shoot/BOOM

http://aminet.net/search?query=zdoom

http://aminet.net/search?query=odamex

Last edited by NovaCoder; 09 January 2019 at 00:36.
NovaCoder is online now  
Old 09 January 2019, 00:26   #10
4pLaY
www.resistance.no

4pLaY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sandnes/Norway
Age: 38
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by macce2 View Post
Nowadays, I think Amiga hardware is more and more insanely expensive. About 560 Euros is a lot of money. For me, at least, it certainly is. I was thinking, if that card was worth it. (?!) - So, how much would I expect to get for my original A4000 030 processor card ? Or my A3640 card, which i' m currently using ?
Supply and demand is what drives up prices. You will not get much for that 030 card as more or less no one wants it unless they need a backup or test card, the A3640 card however is worth a little bit, you might get 150 to 200 euros for that one.
4pLaY is offline  
Old 09 January 2019, 01:05   #11
macce2
Retro maniac

macce2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 874
I thought 100 Euros for 30 card and at least 200 € for my A3640 card ... About. ??.. both are fully working and in good condition. However, before possible selling, I would test also my 030 card.. Someone interested ?
Excuse me for going a bit off topic.
macce2 is offline  
Old 09 January 2019, 01:10   #12
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by macce2 View Post
I thought 100 Euros for 30 card and at least 200 € for my A3640 card ... About. ??.. both are fully working and in good condition. However, before possible selling, I would test also my 030 card.. Someone interested ?
Excuse me for going a bit off topic.

Well with an 040-060 adapter it's worth as much as someone would pay for the A3660 but it's old so people looking for a new card would pay less, but people looking for original cards would pay more, minus the cost of a set of ROMs. So it's worth that much.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 09 January 2019, 06:58   #13
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,247
The parts cost for the A3660 is somewhere around 250 euros, of which about half is the price of the 060 CPU itself. It's just a decent amount of work to put together so having someone build one for you will be more expensive.
ajk is offline  
Old 09 January 2019, 16:51   #14
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 307
~125 Euro for an 060 CPU ?
Only if its a Rev6, which the ones in the link aren't.

Older 060 revisions sell for 50-70 Euros, last time I checked on Amibay.
UberFreak is offline  
Old 09 January 2019, 17:51   #15
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,247
Yes, that is true. If you don't mind a little bit of extra heat an older revision works fine.
ajk is offline  
Old 11 January 2019, 04:06   #16
debiani386
New generation Amiga user

debiani386's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: West jordan
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
You mean like other than the five or so PCI cards?
I was thinking of something that would fit in the same CPU socket rather than PCI, though, for what I would do with PowerPC (The occasional game, Spice, etc.), I imagine the PCI cards would work just as well.
debiani386 is offline  
Old 11 January 2019, 05:06   #17
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by debiani386 View Post
I was thinking of something that would fit in the same CPU socket rather than PCI, though, for what I would do with PowerPC (The occasional game, Spice, etc.), I imagine the PCI cards would work just as well.

Yeah I mean ideally we'd have a combined 68k/PPC card or a PPC card emulating 68k at boot time, but then it needs a fast bus to the PCI bus, which is not going to happen without a new busboard too. So in some ways, for people who already have a Mediator this is cheaper, upgradeable in increments and pretty fast for what it is. And there's not all that much difference between an A3640 or 060 and a really good 68k accelerator like a CS Mk3 with the PCI PPC cards, HDD speeds aside.

At least for PPC apps when you want to run them. With the PCI PPC accelerators they are significantly faster in actual PPC applications than the same frequency PPC on a CSPPC.

That is comparing different PowerPC chips though, like a 333MHz 603e on Blizzard PPC vs 333MHz 603ev on a Killer NIC, or a 400MHz 604 vs a 400MHz 750 on the Sonnet for example.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 14 January 2019, 04:26   #18
macce2
Retro maniac

macce2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 874
@ ajk

Wow, nice looking board !
macce2 is offline  
Old 16 January 2019, 00:38   #19
macce2
Retro maniac

macce2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 874
Is it true that with those 060 boards, Amiga4000D original kickstart Rom chips need to be replaced by some kind of modified ones.. ?
macce2 is offline  
Old 16 January 2019, 07:34   #20
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,247
Yes, Kickstart 3.1 does not support the 060 properly. True 060 accelerators have specific firmware to get around the problem but these boards do not, so Kickstart needs to be updated.
ajk is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building a A3660 kit Cav Hardware mods 1 07 January 2019 22:26
Let me present the A3660 Chucky Hardware mods 51 13 July 2018 10:08
Pushing the A3660 to the next step Chucky support.Hardware 15 27 November 2017 23:44
512kb & 1Mb PCMCIA SRAM Mem cards - for Amiga 1200 / 600 on ebay drebhaklett MarketPlace 0 25 February 2005 02:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08788 seconds with 13 queries