English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 January 2019, 16:14   #61
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeå
Age: 38
Posts: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by RiotRetroGaming View Post
Update... SHE'S ALIVVEEEE! All done, converter works like a charm.
Just took the header off and wired straight to the ethernet board.
No problems, freezing or anything now. Something was defo not right.
Awesome!

What kind of download speeds do you get?
patrik is offline  
Old 05 January 2019, 16:21   #62
RiotRetroGaming
Riot Retro Gaming

RiotRetroGaming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Sittingbourne
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by patrik View Post
Awesome!

What kind of download speeds do you get?

I haven't got that far, just wanted to confirm it was working.
I need to put a browser on now.
Tempted to try Workbench 3.1.4 - but I have the fixed 3.X roms, any idea if they work with that?

These are the ROMs I bought about a month ago:
https://amigakit.amiga.store/product...oducts_id=1273
RiotRetroGaming is offline  
Old 05 January 2019, 17:18   #63
RiotRetroGaming
Riot Retro Gaming

RiotRetroGaming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Sittingbourne
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by patrik View Post
Awesome!

What kind of download speeds do you get?

Patrik... I tried downloading a 7Mb file with IBrowse and it said 38,000 cps more or less... whatever that is?
RiotRetroGaming is offline  
Old 05 January 2019, 17:51   #64
Allen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Blyth England
Age: 62
Posts: 786
Wow, that is fantastic news, I'm pleased you persevered and got this working

My 3.3v converters are not here yet and I haven't got round to installing any browser software or done any prep work for my A1200 so I am way behind you with this project but will hopefully learn what to do from your experiences

A 'how to' tutorial would be a fantastic addition to installing these, especially the browser software required and settings etc if you have the time, but I think you will want to give your head a well deserved rest after all the trials and waiting for parts before being able to get further into making this work.


Blooming heck! would you believe it, my Lan card has the 3.3v chip installed on the back of the board. I have only just opened the package and also looked at my previous link to the card and it shows the one I was sent, I'm pretty sure that this is an updated version of the one that was previously there as there was no mention of the 3.3v regulator circuit All good news, its a shame I didn't open the protective envelope earlier.

All the best,
Allen

Last edited by Allen1; 05 January 2019 at 22:28. Reason: Lan adapter
Allen1 is offline  
Old 05 January 2019, 18:30   #65
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeå
Age: 38
Posts: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by RiotRetroGaming View Post
Patrik... I tried downloading a 7Mb file with IBrowse and it said 38,000 cps more or less... whatever that is?
38000Bytes/sec = 38000/1024 ~ 37.11kByte/sec.

Can you try to download a file located as nearby as possible. Nearby as in low count of network hops, ideally on your local network.

Also try with aget and download to NIL: instead of saving the file to disk with IBrowse. This will both remove the disk I/O from the test and the deficiencies of IBrowse and will show a number more in line of what your TCP/IP-stack+network-driver+network-card is capable of.

To see how much the distance can affect the download speed you get with the TCP/IP-stacks on the Amiga, see below example. The first download is from a server on my local network, the next is from a server in the same town, then one in the opposite end of my country, then Germany and finally the US (I am located in northern Sweden):
Code:
9.Ram Disk:> aget http://192.168.0.40/test10M.bin NIL:
Buffer size: 128kB
Sent HTTP GET request!
Done parsing HTTP header
Server response: 200 OK
Receiving file: 0% - [oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo] - 100% (10MB)
10MB received in 7.77s - 1.29MB/s

9.Ram Disk:> aget http://driar.se/test/test10M.bin NIL:
Buffer size: 128kB
Sent HTTP GET request!
Done parsing HTTP header
Server response: 200 OK
Receiving file: 0% - [oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo] - 100% (10MB)
10MB received in 9.16s - 1.09MB/s

9.Ram Disk:> aget http://se.aminet.net/INDEX NIL:
Buffer size: 128kB
Sent HTTP GET request!
Done parsing HTTP header
Server response: 200 OK
Receiving file: 0% - [oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo] - 100% (6.66MB)
6.66MB received in 15.20s - 448.60kB/s

9.Ram Disk:> aget http://de.aminet.net/aminet/INDEX NIL:
Buffer size: 128kB
Sent HTTP GET request!
Done parsing HTTP header
Server response: 200 OK
Receiving file: 0% - [oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo] - 100% (6.66MB)
6.66MB received in 28.58s - 238.57kB/s

9.Ram Disk:> aget http://aminet.net/INDEX NIL:
Buffer size: 128kB
Sent HTTP GET request!
Done parsing HTTP header
Server response: 200 OK
Receiving file: 0% - [oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo] - 100% (6.66MB)
6.66MB received in 91.98s - 74.14kB/s
The above tests are done on an A1200 with Blizzard1260 and a 100MBit Netgear FA411 PCMCIA network card.
patrik is offline  
Old 07 January 2019, 02:46   #66
RiotRetroGaming
Riot Retro Gaming

RiotRetroGaming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Sittingbourne
Posts: 252
I made a video guide on my channel...
I'll add Allen1 & Patrik to the credits on the video description.
Indigolemon got hammered a lot, so massive respect haha.
Note 3.1.4 is running and the use of offscreen dragging makes things sooooo much better.

For the n00bs like me here goes:
[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by RiotRetroGaming; 07 January 2019 at 02:56.
RiotRetroGaming is offline  
Old 07 January 2019, 02:54   #67
RiotRetroGaming
Riot Retro Gaming

RiotRetroGaming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Sittingbourne
Posts: 252
@Allen1 lol that's a stroke of luck! Someone is reading our posts I'm sure! haha

@Patrik
I'll try tomorrow bud, that's in Shell I gather?
RiotRetroGaming is offline  
Old 07 January 2019, 03:26   #68
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeå
Age: 38
Posts: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by RiotRetroGaming View Post
@Patrik
I'll try tomorrow bud, that's in Shell I gather?
That is correct.
patrik is offline  
Old 07 January 2019, 18:31   #69
RiotRetroGaming
Riot Retro Gaming

RiotRetroGaming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Sittingbourne
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by patrik View Post
That is correct.
Right.
That's a bit stupid. Who wrote AGet?
It's a http checker... so why is it erroring on run 'cannot open cybergraphics.library' pffff haha what the hell??

It's for internet in a shell?????
RiotRetroGaming is offline  
Old 07 January 2019, 18:51   #70
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeå
Age: 38
Posts: 531
Sorry, use the link to aget in my previous post.

I wrote aget more than ten years ago. Its name was actually AsyncHTTPGet from the beginning, but felt a shorter one simplified usage -> aget. I never uploaded it to aminet unfortunately. The reason why I wrote aget was because I was curious why most download clients were so slow when using ethernet.

The AGet which appeared a few years ago on aminet is something completely different as you noticed.
patrik is offline  
Old 07 January 2019, 19:45   #71
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by RiotRetroGaming View Post
So happy, about to go on the IRC site.
I was wondering why the usernames are so small on the right?

Check your AmIRC or MUI font settings.

Last edited by duga; 07 January 2019 at 19:55.
duga is offline  
Old 07 January 2019, 20:11   #72
RiotRetroGaming
Riot Retro Gaming

RiotRetroGaming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Sittingbourne
Posts: 252
@patrik I can't run it sorry

@duga Indigolemon said I was using v5.... I'm now on v3.8
RiotRetroGaming is offline  
Old 07 January 2019, 20:15   #73
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeå
Age: 38
Posts: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by RiotRetroGaming View Post
@patrik I can't run it sorry
http://uhc.driar.se/aget should work as long as the Amiga has at least kick 2.04, a TCP/IP-stack and some free memory. What happens when you run it?
patrik is offline  
Old 07 January 2019, 20:35   #74
RiotRetroGaming
Riot Retro Gaming

RiotRetroGaming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Sittingbourne
Posts: 252
Thanks Patrik. I'll try that
RiotRetroGaming is offline  
Old 07 January 2019, 21:01   #75
RiotRetroGaming
Riot Retro Gaming

RiotRetroGaming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Sittingbourne
Posts: 252
@patrick

Ram Disk:> aget http://driar.se/test/test10M.bin NIL:
140.39s - 72.94kB/s

Ram Disk:> aget http://se.aminet.net/INDEX NIL:
102.83s - 65.67kB/s

Ram Disk:> aget http://de.aminet.net/aminet/INDEX NIL:
75.59s - 90.21kB/s

Ram Disk:> aget http://aminet.net/INDEX NIL:
167.23s - 40.78kB/s

Stock 020, no mmu, fpu or anything flash... just A1208
RiotRetroGaming is offline  
Old 07 January 2019, 21:54   #76
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeå
Age: 38
Posts: 531
Thanks for testing, very interesting. Had no idea what to expect from the SPI ethernet solution.

de.aminet.net with the best score is quite a bit from the UK, so I bet it would manage quite a bit more if for example fetching files from another computer on your local network - my speed got cut down to a third just by going through Sweden.
patrik is offline  
Old 08 January 2019, 02:37   #77
RiotRetroGaming
Riot Retro Gaming

RiotRetroGaming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Sittingbourne
Posts: 252
How do I setup a Samba server? That would test the theory.
I am thinking about sharing a dvd drive on my laptop to put the CUCD and Amiga Format discs in and access them.
I have not used them for years.

Last edited by RiotRetroGaming; 08 January 2019 at 11:47.
RiotRetroGaming is offline  
Old 08 January 2019, 13:29   #78
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 36
Posts: 655
On the Amiga, I'd use SMBFS ( grab the 68k version of 2.1 from here: https://sourceforge.net/projects/ami...s/smbfs%202.1/ ) - and then use SMBMounter to mount shares - it's a nice front end: http://aminet.net/package/comm/net/SMBMounter
indigolemon is offline  
Old 10 January 2019, 13:10   #79
RiotRetroGaming
Riot Retro Gaming

RiotRetroGaming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Sittingbourne
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by indigolemon View Post
On the Amiga, I'd use SMBFS ( grab the 68k version of 2.1 from here: https://sourceforge.net/projects/ami...s/smbfs%202.1/ ) - and then use SMBMounter to mount shares - it's a nice front end: http://aminet.net/package/comm/net/SMBMounter




It's INDIGO LEMON! hahah
Cheers buddy. That was funny.
RiotRetroGaming is offline  
Old 10 January 2019, 22:47   #80
RiotRetroGaming
Riot Retro Gaming

RiotRetroGaming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Sittingbourne
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by indigolemon View Post
On the Amiga, I'd use SMBFS ( grab the 68k version of 2.1 from here: https://sourceforge.net/projects/ami...s/smbfs%202.1/ ) - and then use SMBMounter to mount shares - it's a nice front end: http://aminet.net/package/comm/net/SMBMounter

I have no idea what I am doing?
I have to be honest, I'm only a double click and install guy on the Amiga.

I got as far as typing in a shell:
smbfs user=Amiga device=//WORKGROUP/LAPTOP

But it timesout after 60 secs with no reasons why, you cannot find any options with smbfs/?
The documentation isn't user friendly either.
I installed SMB Mouter too and it just comes up with 'insert SAMBA:'

Last edited by RiotRetroGaming; 11 January 2019 at 00:02.
RiotRetroGaming is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
K1208 8mb Fastmem board for the A1200 kipper2k Hardware mods 157 02 June 2018 03:04
Cannot decide which of my Amiga 500s to put the Gotek with Gotek extension board in? turrican9 Retrogaming General Discussion 5 22 April 2016 11:39
amiga 1200 4 mb fastmem expansion mikele MarketPlace 0 28 November 2013 12:22
A2000 8mb fastmem with IDE install kipper2k Hardware mods 4 20 November 2013 22:10
Magnum Amiga 1200 8Mb RAM EXPANSION BOARD & CLOCK A1200 Sid MarketPlace 5 12 October 2005 14:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07938 seconds with 14 queries