English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 August 2018, 14:21   #1
SimonV
Registered User

SimonV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Antwerp
Posts: 253
Blizzard PPC doesn't show anymore ....

I guess I had it coming ... from one reboot to another the blizzard is suddenly gone. My machine wit GREX and blizzPPC boots normal but the card is gone in the early bootmenu. Fan on the card is still running and processors warm up ... but that's it.


PPC worked most of the times although I had freezes that I couldn't iron out. I somehow suspect it's something else and not the cpu ?


Someone had this before ?
SimonV is offline  
Old 02 August 2018, 14:33   #2
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 5,149
I don't have one, but this sounds like it could be a flash ROM failure. Maybe if it can be reflashed that might help?
Daedalus is offline  
Old 02 August 2018, 14:36   #3
SimonV
Registered User

SimonV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Antwerp
Posts: 253
The problem is that it doesn't show in the bootmenu ? Or doesn't it need to be shown there to flash it ?

Also if it runs for a while the machines video output start to distort and turn to black and come back a few times.
SimonV is offline  
Old 02 August 2018, 14:58   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,692
Does BPPC boot menu work? (Keep ESC pressed when powering up the system)

Early boot expansion list item is "manually" added by BPPC boot flash ROM code. It is not "real" autoconfig device.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 02 August 2018, 14:58   #5
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 5,149
Showing up in the early startup depends on the card's ROM executing properly, which is where I was coming from. But really, someone like Chucky (who has flashed these boards before) would be better placed to say. Affecting the rest of the machine like that doesn't sound like a good thing though...
Daedalus is offline  
Old 02 August 2018, 15:02   #6
SimonV
Registered User

SimonV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Antwerp
Posts: 253
Ok, I did reflash it with the *private release* from 2002 and it's back. Weird shit ... let's see where it gets me. Currently working on the AGA output over the Voodoo card ( how's that even possible ? ) ... Output over the scandy seems to be very dark for some strange reason.
SimonV is offline  
Old 03 August 2018, 11:49   #7
Marle
Pixel Vixen

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 212
Back along when I got a Blizzard PPC I think in 1999, I had this exact problem, it wouldn't work to begin with, but reflashing it sorted it out. And this happened a few times whilst I owned it. It was sold a long time ago though (probably late 2000, early 2001)
Marle is offline  
Old 03 August 2018, 15:28   #8
SimonV
Registered User

SimonV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Antwerp
Posts: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marle View Post
Back along when I got a Blizzard PPC I think in 1999, I had this exact problem, it wouldn't work to begin with, but reflashing it sorted it out. And this happened a few times whilst I owned it. It was sold a long time ago though (probably late 2000, early 2001)

Glad I got it working again ... it's one of the cards that I don't want to see go up in flames.
SimonV is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CF-hd suddenly doesn't boot anymore, does work in Winuae Riempie support.Other 2 17 September 2017 18:49
A1200 doesn't boot anymore opossumita support.Hardware 1 21 April 2016 00:39
Rom 1.2 doesn't work anymore hitchhikr support.WinUAE 4 24 April 2010 15:05
Loom CD doesn't work anymore with scummvm 0.9.0? hexaae support.Games 1 03 August 2006 18:51
PinballFantasies CD32 (HD) doesn't work anymore with R6 Leo42 support.WinUAE 0 02 May 2003 03:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.15810 seconds with 13 queries