English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 December 2016, 15:29   #1
Maisuva
 
Posts: n/a
Is it possible to get Shogo,Heretic2,Nightlong,Wipeout to run in Winuae?

Finding very little info if anyone has actually successfully gotten any of these games to run in Winuae using something like Wazp3d

If anyone has gotten them to run then I would be interested in knowing which OS version you used and settings in Winuae.

and yes I know they are all also available for Windows, but that's no sport is it?

Many thanks for any clues.
 
Old 22 December 2016, 15:36   #2
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,446
nightlong works, i've already tested it. has some graphical glitches/wrong colors but it runs.
but i don't know if you are able to complete the game, that question i didn't have tested yet.
unfortunately heretic2, shogo and wipeout don't work. would love to play wipeout myself...
as you need a very old pc for windows version of wipeout for not being too fast/unplayable.
windows version of shogo which is available on gog is unplayable to. it crashes all the time.
honx is offline  
Old 22 December 2016, 16:13   #3
Maisuva
 
Posts: n/a
Do you remember if you installed anything extra to get Nightlong to run?, cause it doesn't start at all for me, just nothing happens when I click on the icon, no error or anything. Using Amiga OS 3.9.
 
Old 22 December 2016, 16:22   #4
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,225
You need rtgmaster and AHI. And a gfx card of course.
thomas is offline  
Old 22 December 2016, 16:27   #5
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,446
as far i can recall i did'nt have to do anything additional for the game to run.
i took the cd images which are located here in the zone and installed from there.
what i can tell, is: i always run nightlong1.2 executable which got installed,
the other executables (nightlong1.1 and nightliong-nofpu) i haven't tested yet.

i also run amigaos 3.9 with both official boingbags 1&2 and unofficial boingbags 3&4.
my config in winuae for this setup:
68040 cpu, fastest possible + jit, fpu cpu intern, more compatible, aga chipset, direct blitter,
2mb chip, 8mb z2 fast, 128mb z3 fast, rtg uae zorro III @64mb, hardware-sprite emulation...

Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
You need rtgmaster and AHI. And a gfx card of course.
yeah, these are indeed necessary.
honx is offline  
Old 22 December 2016, 16:33   #6
Maisuva
 
Posts: n/a
Thank you very much for these clues, I will give it another go.
 
Old 22 December 2016, 16:49   #7
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
FreeSpace is another one you can play in winuae.
tested only the demo - which does play - gamedata for the demo you have to download here.
the demo *.hpa archives you have to extract with hunpack (included in demo archive).
emufan is offline  
Old 23 December 2016, 11:02   #8
thellier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 249
Hello

I dont have the answer as I dont have those games... so I am interested about feed back
But certainly those games made for os3+ppc cant run (in an os3/ppc WinUAE config) on Wazp3D ppc that is an OS4 .library

But perhaps they can run on a os4/ppc WinUAE config ...
Certainly some kinda warpos emu will be needed like:
http://amigaworld.net/modules/newbb/...e=flat&order=0

WipeOut works very well on Morphos + Wazp3D morphos (this version include a warpos wrapper)
Shogo start and fail in some conditions

So WipeOut is the best candidate for working on a os4/ppc WinUAE config

Note: Encore-Sulaco and Encore-ByNight demos works in this config

Alain Thellier - Wazp3D
thellier is offline  
Old 23 December 2016, 14:05   #9
Maisuva
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by thellier View Post
Hello

I dont have the answer as I dont have those games... so I am interested about feed back
There are demos for some of these games if you are interested in messing around with them:

http://aminet.net/package/game/demo/WipeOut_2097_Demo
http://aminet.net/package/game/demo/ShogoDemo
http://aminet.net/package/game/shoot/LauncherUpd
http://aminet.net/package/game/demo/Heretic2_D1
http://aminet.net/package/game/demo/Heretic2_D2
http://aminet.net/package/game/demo/Heretic2_D3
http://aminet.net/package/game/demo/Heretic2_D4
http://aminet.net/package/game/demo/FreespaceDemo_OS41
 
Old 24 April 2018, 23:54   #10
AC/DC HACKER!
Registered User

AC/DC HACKER!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: SCC-NAC-dC-iNT
Posts: 802
Quote:
Originally Posted by honx View Post
nightlong works, i've already tested it. has some graphical glitches/wrong colors but it runs.
but i don't know if you are able to complete the game, that question i didn't have tested yet.
unfortunately heretic2, shogo and wipeout don't work. would love to play wipeout myself...
as you need a very old pc for windows version of wipeout for not being too fast/unplayable.
windows version of shogo which is available on gog is unplayable to. it crashes all the time.
I know it's a bit older thread, but, I figured after messing with it off/on I'd report that I have ShogoMAD functioning under AmigaOS 4.1 FE update 1. Currently, I have Wazp3D active...but haven't messed with the Warzp3D Prefs yet. It's a little slow, but it is playable.

To get around the GUI locking after D-Clicking the Icon, which took a bit of discovery, I entered "COMMANDLINE" into the Tooltypes. From there it will display, and then remove the Tooltype because more is missing. But entering it again and this time checking the GUI prefs checked the Saving part of a blank Commandline. Once that's saved, the GUI shows and the sound plays every time.

I'm using CPU Only Rendering.. Anyway, it works with OS 3.5 also. Not the fastest, hehe, but at least it is decently functional. Using WinUAE 3.6.1. (03/04/2018).

Cheering. It's been a while....that I've been messing with it off and on. Now to get it functioning with X5000. HA!
AC/DC HACKER! is offline  
Old 25 April 2018, 02:36   #11
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,446
sounds a bit complicated.

Last edited by honx; 25 April 2018 at 07:29.
honx is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will we ever be playing Wipeout 2097 on WinUAE as smooth as a Sega Saturn? ImmortalA1000 Amiga scene 29 19 January 2021 16:49
Shogo:MAD macce2 support.Games 15 02 October 2018 23:53
Wipeout / Wipeout 2097 Fly-Through website killergorilla Retrogaming General Discussion 10 02 July 2015 15:56
Funky LSD style graphics in Wipeout Nightlong etc DDNI support.Other 2 05 December 2007 17:40
how to run winuae and run Tau Ceti Academy ??? funkycatspangky support.Games 7 22 July 2007 18:51

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07694 seconds with 13 queries