English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 July 2016, 22:27   #1
SteveCoops
 
Posts: n/a
First ever Amiga, mouse issues

Hi all,

I've just got my first ever Amiga 500 (I was always a PC kid) in an unknown condition (was working when last used 20 years ago!). It's very yellow...

Anyway, it boots up fine and the original Workbench floppy disk still works, but the mouse only goes left and right. The cable was rather mangled (looked like a mouse had chewed it) and continuity tests showed breaks so I've replaced it. No different though.

I've got both pairs of IR LEDs working (can see them on my phone's camera), but moving the up/down roller does nothing. Sometimes it jiggled by a single pixel.

I also have a joystick ("cruiser") of unknown condition and using that in port 1 I can get the cursor to move down, but only down, and that's by wiggling it to the left like a madman.

Any ideas what I can check before I buy a mouse adapter? Any way I can test using the second port?

Thanks for any help!

Cheers,
Steve


edit - I've just booted Premier Manager 3 and the mouse pointer jiggles up and down a bit more when I spin the roller real quick. So, is it the mouse or the machine?
 
Old 23 July 2016, 22:39   #2
SteveCoops
 
Posts: n/a
OK so booted up Kick Off 2 and with the joystick in port 1,I can't do anything, but in port 2 it works perfectly, so it looks like the port?
 
Old 23 July 2016, 23:50   #3
SteveCoops
 
Posts: n/a
OK I've proven it's the mouse - I've unsoldered and swapped over the IR receivers by each wheel/roller/thing and now the mouse moves up and down and not left and right.

I also tried replacing R401/R408 but they seemed fine, and reseated DENISE and swapped the CIA chips to no avail.
 
Old 24 July 2016, 01:20   #4
matthey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveCoops View Post
Anyway, it boots up fine and the original Workbench floppy disk still works, but the mouse only goes left and right. The cable was rather mangled (looked like a mouse had chewed it) and continuity tests showed breaks so I've replaced it. No different though.
A mouse ate the mouse huh? Cannibal!

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveCoops View Post
Any ideas what I can check before I buy a mouse adapter? Any way I can test using the second port?
You will probably want a mouse adapter anyway if your 500 came with a tank mouse like most. The new mice with no ball and rollers are so much better.

Most games expect the first joystick in the 2nd port and a 2nd joystick for 2 player games in the mouse port. Sorry I couldn't be more help but you are doing a good job of diagnosing the problem yourself .
matthey is offline  
Old 24 July 2016, 15:49   #5
SteveCoops
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks

I've ordered one some USB mouse adapter off eBay, hope that'll sort me out!
 
Old 25 July 2016, 18:31   #6
debiani386
New generation Amiga user

debiani386's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 32
I bought a Micromys from amigakit (http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...oducts_id=1092) since I had a few ps/2 mice sitting there collecting dust.

There is also the Rys mk2 adapter for USB mice and joysticks (it has a minimal USB stack - enough for mouse and joystick) (http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...oducts_id=1272)
debiani386 is offline  
Old 25 July 2016, 19:35   #7
gazj82
Registered User

gazj82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Cambs / UK
Posts: 355
Welcome to Amiga!
gazj82 is offline  
Old 26 July 2016, 12:40   #8
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,940
Welcome to EAB!
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 02 August 2016, 22:56   #9
SteveCoops
 
Posts: n/a
Just an fyi update if anyone's interested (as I hate finding un-ended threads) - I got a USB mouse adapter and now it works perfectly using an old Microsoft or HP USB mouse

Thanks for the welcomes!
 
Old 02 August 2016, 23:01   #10
volvo_0ne
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Sheffield UK
Posts: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveCoops View Post
Just an fyi update if anyone's interested (as I hate finding un-ended threads) - I got a USB mouse adapter and now it works perfectly using an old Microsoft or HP USB mouse

Thanks for the welcomes!

Wish I'd seen this sooner, I had EXACTLY the same problem (except with TWO different mouses (mice?)) AND the same solution, £15 for a USB type adapter & mouse from EBay fixed it.

Glad you got sorted, and welcome.
volvo_0ne is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JP-Mouse - a new low cost mouse adapter for amiga/atari paulo_becas News 85 05 July 2017 09:45
Mouse pointer issues Intuition support.FS-UAE 20 13 March 2017 11:05
Magic mouse/virtual mouse driver issues mark_k support.WinUAE 2 04 December 2012 20:43
AMIGA MOUSE == Any 9 PIN Serial Mouse ????? megajetman support.Hardware 15 26 April 2012 13:51
Amiga 1200 mouse issues six981 support.Hardware 0 30 September 2010 22:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12969 seconds with 13 queries