English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 March 2007, 10:48   #1
NfernalNfluence
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: living among the Moai
Posts: 219
Rolling Thunder

i'm convinced this game is impossible unless somebody convinces me otherwise.


you know what i'm talking about, if you've played the game, especially to stage in question, the one with the fire demons where you jump platform to platform. i don't think it's possible to complete considering the limitations of your character.
NfernalNfluence is offline  
Old 01 April 2007, 00:12   #2
sareks
Apprentice
sareks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 187
i agree and even with the trainer mode it's still a challenge

- the mame version is even harder - like in many other games (e.g. ghosts'n'goblins or ghouls'n'ghosts just to mention a few)

you have the pass the game twice in order to win!

Last edited by sareks; 01 April 2007 at 00:35.
sareks is offline  
Old 01 April 2007, 12:31   #3
NfernalNfluence
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: living among the Moai
Posts: 219
i will have to play the arcade version, but can't see there being a problem as with the amiga translation. from my recollection it's not so much a problem with the annoying fire demons as it is with a certain platform, unreachable due to character's limitations. it wouldn't surprise me if this was a classic case of a game failing to be troubleshooted far enough. i hope i'm wrong!

Last edited by NfernalNfluence; 01 April 2007 at 12:40.
NfernalNfluence is offline  
Old 01 April 2007, 18:03   #4
sareks
Apprentice
sareks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 187
concerning that case i had the same problem in that lava-level playing the mame version so i guess it's not a typical "transcription"-problem rather than a "player has to try hard enough and many times in order to beat that passage"-problem
sareks is offline  
Old 01 April 2007, 23:39   #5
NfernalNfluence
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: living among the Moai
Posts: 219
ok, i just finished level in question with MAME32. it's actually level 4 which you can conveniently select at the title screen. try it yourself with the help of save & load states. i do challenge anybody to complete the very same level on an AMIGA!
NfernalNfluence is offline  
Old 02 April 2007, 03:52   #6
NfernalNfluence
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: living among the Moai
Posts: 219
correction... it's area 4, story 1



i'm attempting it, once again (AMIGA version!!!)

Last edited by NfernalNfluence; 02 April 2007 at 03:58.
NfernalNfluence is offline  
Old 02 April 2007, 09:04   #7
NfernalNfluence
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: living among the Moai
Posts: 219
see what you can do. i've attached a save state. i've alredy lost one life as there wasn't a reasonable amount of time to finish on first attempt. the only way i can see of finishing area 4 is by putting yourself in a path of a fire demon, allowing yourself to get hit then deflected so to land on a platform that is normally unreachable. just thought of the idea so it remains untested at this moment.

oh, to save time, jump as often as possible avoiding enemies of course!!

Last edited by NfernalNfluence; 04 April 2007 at 07:47.
NfernalNfluence is offline  
Old 02 April 2007, 13:27   #8
NfernalNfluence
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: living among the Moai
Posts: 219
i'm sorry but this is hopeless.

perhaps someone can design a fix for this game. i guess that would be the only way to complete it without a level select cheat.
NfernalNfluence is offline  
Old 02 April 2007, 15:28   #9
sareks
Apprentice
sareks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 187
Could you post the exact Version, what Crack etc. ?
sareks is offline  
Old 02 April 2007, 20:34   #10
NfernalNfluence
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: living among the Moai
Posts: 219
i'm almost certain they are all damned with same problem. even the ST version i played has it. there's a hack version on planetemu.net i can try but i'm not optimistic.
NfernalNfluence is offline  
Old 02 April 2007, 20:41   #11
NfernalNfluence
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: living among the Moai
Posts: 219
Rolling Thunder (1987)(U.S. Gold)
Rolling Thunder (1987)(U.S. Gold)[a2]

-i've tried both
NfernalNfluence is offline  
Old 02 April 2007, 20:48   #12
sareks
Apprentice
sareks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 187
another task for hardcore gamers: let's try out all existing versions (8) at planetemunet and report if it's the same problem there

NfernalNfluence already tested two of them, so there's 6 leftovers

happy meal
sareks is offline  
Old 04 April 2007, 07:12   #13
NfernalNfluence
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: living among the Moai
Posts: 219
there's a hack version up on planetemu.net, although i'm not sure what exactly, if anything, was hacked.


that one has also been tested!


anyway, here's another save state:

you can actually see the end of the level when you make the ill-fated jump. just be sure to hold down fire button to clear enemies before you do this!
Attached Files
File Type: zip trythis3.zip (183.2 KB, 238 views)

Last edited by NfernalNfluence; 04 April 2007 at 07:38.
NfernalNfluence is offline  
Old 02 August 2008, 00:18   #14
jharrison
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: australia
Posts: 97
Rolling Thunder

any of the coders out there consider fixing the problem preventing one from finishing the game
jharrison is offline  
Old 02 August 2008, 00:24   #15
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 24,024
Hi jharrison,

does it happen with any version out there? Do you play it on a real Amiga or do you use WinUAE?
TCD is offline  
Old 02 August 2008, 00:31   #16
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 34
Posts: 11,085
I'd take a look at this thread.

EDIT: This new thread now merged with aforementioned older thread as it seems to make more sense this way...

Last edited by Graham Humphrey; 02 August 2008 at 00:41.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 02 August 2008, 01:57   #17
Leffmann
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,265
Did you check Recorded Amiga Game's long play of Rolling Thunder? I'm fairly sure they played it to the end.

Would be fun to hear what anyone opening up the Amiga port would have to say about the quality of the code I remember I did like the game a lot as a kid though.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 10:53   #18
jharrison
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: australia
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leffmann View Post
Did you check Recorded Amiga Game's long play of Rolling Thunder? I'm fairly sure they played it to the end.

Would be fun to hear what anyone opening up the Amiga port would have to say about the quality of the code I remember I did like the game a lot as a kid though.
oh thanks for the idea. actually, i would have never thought to check there, already being resigned to the belief the game was defective take a look at what he does, which has me thinking he has cheated in some way, circumventing the problem and ultimately advancing forward to both levels 5 & 10 respectivelyview video at: 13:05 & 29:45 (notice the energy bar mysteriously takes a hit) i'd like to know what you guys think of this so please reply!
jharrison is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 12:26   #19
Leffmann
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,265
All of those games are more or less perfect runs, for the sake of showing the whole game, and you do notice it's not always a single continuous recording. Most likely they're just using the save state function in WinUAE to be able to do retries on the difficult parts until they get everything right.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 12:38   #20
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 24,024
Indeed this energy bar hit in the longplay without a reason is strange, but I can't see why it should have an effect on playability (to the better of course ). Like Leffmann said it could be a sideeffect of the recording procedure. I think it would be interesting to know if anyone here has gotten to area 5.
TCD is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rolling Thunder: The Complete Source Code! Mrk Coders. General 30 29 September 2011 10:43
Rolling Thunder source Twistin'Ghost Coders. General 4 28 August 2011 22:09
Rolling Thunder ++ sareks support.Games 9 16 September 2010 17:09
[Found: Rolling Thunder] Name of this arcade game Benighted Looking for a game name ? 5 05 November 2009 11:24
Rolling Thunder eskildt request.Old Rare Games 10 11 February 2005 22:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09363 seconds with 14 queries