English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 February 2021, 12:17   #1
RuySan
Registered User
RuySan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Portugal
Age: 39
Posts: 100
Understanding The Scaling options

Hi Frode, thanks for the great work you're doing.

I was messing with the FS UAE video options and I was wondering if there's any option that ensures that integer scaling is used when scaling.

I've been using the default 692*540 zoom, which I assume is the best, but since not all amiga games have the same resolution, I was just wondering why this has been the default option.

Strangely enough, the default option for "keeping aspect ratio" is "off", which is something that I don't think anyone likes or wants, so I'm having second thought when it comes to default options
RuySan is offline  
Old 20 February 2021, 08:46   #2
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 3,794
The 692x540 "mode" (cropping the Amiga output at this size) was chosen for a few reasons:

- It is larger than 640x512 and will show all graphics in the overscan area for most games, while being centered on the 640x512 standard output area (e.g. the one Workbench will use by default).
- It is less annoying than using for example 720x658 which will show a lot of border which is generally not used, and sometimes there is garbage pixels in this area.
- On common 1080p displays, the image will be scaled exactly twice in height.
- It is a 4:3 format with square pixels and allows for pixel perfect scaling on 1080p monitors / 4:3 (On PAL, the pixels are almost square anyway, though that would depend on monitor h.scale and v.scale settings of course).

The "keep aspect ratio" setting is a leftover setting from previous versions, if you enable the quick settings sidebar in FS-UAE Launcher (top right in the main window), you'll see that the default is "Correct Aspect (*)".

Anyway, it's hard to define what's best - it's somewhat subjective. And as you mentioned, it varies from game to game what size/position they output, so the default should take this into account. This was my take at providing a sensible default which will work well for most people. If you have other needs, there are options available for tweaking
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 22 February 2021, 12:41   #3
RuySan
Registered User
RuySan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Portugal
Age: 39
Posts: 100
Thanks for the explanation and excellent work you've been putting on the emulator.

Cheers.
RuySan is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Scaling vs Automatic Integer Scaling cybermat support.WinUAE 5 01 December 2020 02:27
WinUAE 4.3.0 - Automatic scaling options cause vertical judder WDeranged support.WinUAE 4 05 May 2020 21:49
Pre-Scaling before Bilinear Scaling? rsn8887 request.UAE Wishlist 6 05 September 2015 19:13
Shader support and scaling options in FS-UAE 1.3 FrodeSolheim support.FS-UAE 9 18 December 2013 17:30
Understanding the Copper BippyM Coders. Tutorials 38 04 September 2010 12:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06249 seconds with 15 queries