English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 April 2020, 14:55   #1
rutra80
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Poland
Posts: 91
Scanlines jitter

Toni would it be possible to add more multipliers on Filter tab? Most shaders have visible scanlines jitter if I set vert. size to anything else than 1764, even with 4x multiplier. Free textbox would be ideal.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Filter.png
Views:	435
Size:	29.4 KB
ID:	66886  
rutra80 is offline  
Old 17 April 2020, 20:19   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,692
8x would mean really huge internal D3D texture size, most GPUs probably don't even support it..

But it can be added.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 17 April 2020, 21:20   #3
rutra80
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Poland
Posts: 91
Thank you.
Is there any other way to avoid scanlines jitter?
rutra80 is offline  
Old 18 April 2020, 16:41   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,692
Which kind of scanlines? RGB mask scanlines probably are the only ones that can work with shader scanlines but it better to use shader filters that include scanlines.

(better ask someone who makes shaders, I am not that interested..)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 18 April 2020, 17:13   #5
guest.r
Registered User

guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 330
It's common for such things to happen due the display technology. Changing vertical resolution actually produces a different final image which may or may not trigger the effect.

For example, with my display even the screenshots may jitter.
Usually it doesn't happen when the vertical input resolution is lower, like with most games.

Example of 'jittering screenshot':


Edit: i checked with my other 1080p display and the screenie is without jittering. In my case it's display technology for sure.

Last edited by guest.r; 18 April 2020 at 17:32.
guest.r is offline  
Old 18 April 2020, 21:18   #6
rutra80
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Poland
Posts: 91
I mean shader scanlines. I gave up the others as they're not satisfactory and I'm able to get almost perfect results with guest'r shaders.
On my FullHD display in Hires/Double mode I don't get jitter with CRT shaders only when Vert. size slider is at ~1764. If I want NTSC with right proportions (scaling set do Default) then jitter makes it almost useless, unless I set multiplier to 4x - then it's still visible but bearable with games that don't scroll vertically.

BTW since both of you guys are at this thread I think there's a bug with screen position in either shaders or WinUAE (I bet the latter) - in Double line mode it's rendered a bit lower than in Single.

Single with WinUAE scanlines:


Double with WinUAE scanlines:


One could say not a big deal, but it borks shaders' scanlines.

CRT-Guest-SM-Hires-SmartRes-Interlace in Double line mode:

Scanlines are correct.

CRT-Guest-SM-Hires-SmartRes-Interlace in Single line mode:

Scanlines are shifted.

Shifted scanlines are most visible in laced modes and there's no way to fix it other than editing the shader:


guest'r: could you please add an offset option to shaders? At least to CRT-Guest-SM-Hires-SmartRes-Interlace and CRT-Pi-SmartRes.

Toni: do you confirm that the shift is problematic, and can it be fixed?

And I'm still open to suggestions how to deal with shaders' scanlines jitter other than using big multipliers/supersampling

PS how do I post thumbnails instead of full images dammit?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Single.png
Views:	297
Size:	15.5 KB
ID:	66920   Click image for larger version

Name:	Double.png
Views:	293
Size:	23.4 KB
ID:	66921   Click image for larger version

Name:	HiRes.png
Views:	300
Size:	63.3 KB
ID:	66922   Click image for larger version

Name:	shiftHiRes.png
Views:	306
Size:	70.8 KB
ID:	66923   Click image for larger version

Name:	shiftLaced.png
Views:	281
Size:	65.5 KB
ID:	66924  


Last edited by rutra80; 18 April 2020 at 21:33.
rutra80 is offline  
Old 18 April 2020, 22:08   #7
guest.r
Registered User

guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 330
Thanks for explaining a bit and mentioning the exact shader. Helped a lot. I fixed the shader, should be regular now. I will update the shader pack soon.
WinUAE is fine here.

Edit: You can test the shader for convenience. CRT Pi seems to work fine though in it's scope.
Attached Files
File Type: zip CRT-Guest-SM-Hires-SmartRes-Interlace.zip (2.7 KB, 50 views)

Last edited by guest.r; 18 April 2020 at 22:20.
guest.r is offline  
Old 18 April 2020, 23:49   #8
rutra80
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Poland
Posts: 91
Thanks guest.r it's better but take a look at A500 boot screen - this shader now has some bleeding of darks to adjacent scanlines.

not with stype set to 1 though...

Last edited by rutra80; 18 April 2020 at 23:58. Reason: scanline type remark
rutra80 is offline  
Old 19 April 2020, 00:12   #9
guest.r
Registered User

guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 330
It should look better now.
Attached Files
File Type: zip CRT-Guest-SM-Hires-SmartRes-Interlace.zip (2.7 KB, 50 views)
guest.r is offline  
Old 19 April 2020, 00:26   #10
rutra80
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Poland
Posts: 91
Bleeding is gone but in laced modes scanlines are shifted
rutra80 is offline  
Old 19 April 2020, 08:47   #11
guest.r
Registered User

guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 330
Yeah, that's the tradeoff. With interlaced content and these shaders every other line can be skipped or can be cut by a scanline, some setups use skipping.

As it works now the shader is also usable with other internal resolutions, offsetting it by one input pixel would mean that doubled low res lines would 'get cut'.

In this situation using mild scanlines can mitigate the situation in a visual way.

I can do some more testing, but it's ok to acknowledge that these are more or less 'gaming shaders'.
guest.r is offline  
Old 20 April 2020, 01:58   #12
rutra80
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Poland
Posts: 91
So it's not possible to have properly looking universal scanlines shader which supports everything from lores to hires laced?
rutra80 is offline  
Old 20 April 2020, 09:25   #13
guest.r
Registered User

guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 330
It supports. But it's a solution with a compromise for 'laced'.

In a normal, non interlaced situation, you get something like this:

Line1
Line1
Line2
Line2


With 'line skipping' with laced it's like:

Line1
Line1
Line3
Line3


With interlaced screens and 'interlaced' shader it's more like this:

Line1
Line2
Line3
Line4

The benefits of the latter setup is that lines/info isn't discarded. Shifting the scanline presentation one line up or down would not improve the situation but would spoil scanlines with ordinary graphics.

Currently there is no mechanism within shaders to detect 'laced' screens in double line mode. It might be possible, since 'laced' screens in single line mode use a flickering like effect.

Appealing scanlines at 1080p aren't possible even with this info. Maybe a processing without scanlines could take place etc. But it's a heavy niche, since RTG setups AFAIK doesn't support filters and it's the next level for productivity.
guest.r is offline  
Old 21 April 2020, 23:50   #14
rutra80
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Poland
Posts: 91
Toni if you're still here: any chances to have selectable separate shader for laced and non-laced modes?
rutra80 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scanlines or NO scanlines? Ironclaw Retrogaming General Discussion 483 27 November 2020 21:05
Bob jitter with diagonal movement Brick Nash Coders. AMOS 3 06 June 2016 10:52
Another scanlines effect Leandro Jardim request.UAE Wishlist 6 27 June 2010 19:37
Scanlines Ciussippa support.WinUAE 1 21 September 2003 10:19
Scanlines dreamkatcha support.WinUAE 8 16 April 2002 12:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08558 seconds with 16 queries