English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 April 2020, 15:46   #1
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,638
WinUAE request: show version in window titlebar

Hi Toni,
a simple request: add WinUAE version number to window title bar, so it will be immediate, and you don't have to enter About...
hexaae is offline  
Old 22 April 2020, 17:30   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,691
No. Use of window title for version numbers and other normally useless information is annoying.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 22 April 2020, 23:13   #3
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 20,135
Agreed Toni

I was going to write "No thank you" as a response to hexaee's post earlier but got snowed under at work...
DamienD is offline  
Old 23 April 2020, 01:57   #4
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 4,319
I agree as well. Don't need to see multiple digits in the title bar. Easier enough and cleaner to have it in about section
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 23 April 2020, 03:26   #5
xaind
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney / Australia
Posts: 107
Obviously with Toni opposed this is probably not going to happen. I'm not particularly bothered about it one way or the other, although one useful thing I can think of about having it would be that you could tell from a screenshot what version was being used.

I noticed that some emulators have it and I don't think it looks too bad. I like the way Altirra does it, for example, but I think the way Atari800 does it is perhaps a little too verbose.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Altirra.png
Views:	131
Size:	18.6 KB
ID:	66997   Click image for larger version

Name:	Atari800.png
Views:	121
Size:	15.0 KB
ID:	66998  
xaind is offline  
Old 23 April 2020, 19:01   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,691
I can put it there when opened for the first time and nothing else is using the title bar (for example no loaded config).
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 24 April 2020, 15:26   #7
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,638
Well, there's plenty of space in win title bar so I can't see why would be a problem adding x.x.xx even though it could be useful for screenshots, but I have max respect for Toni's decisions.
hexaae is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Request: auto window activation after ALT-TAB hexaae support.WinUAE 4 09 July 2018 13:40
Request: Software Box Art Window AmigaBoingBall request.UAE Wishlist 5 28 May 2009 13:07
Mad Show - english version mai request.Old Rare Games 2 30 August 2008 18:33
WB Screen Titlebar Enhancer Hewitson request.Apps 9 12 February 2008 14:55
Killing Game Show (ADF version that works in WinUAE) Bolch request.Old Rare Games 6 14 October 2007 15:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08600 seconds with 16 queries