English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.EAB File Server

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 December 2018, 21:50   #2241
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 13,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soopytwist View Post
What software is that? I'm using FileZilla, I don't appear to have those options.
That is FileZilla

Under "File" --> "Site Manager" i.e. where you set up a connection to the EAB File Server, it's the 3rd tab; "Transfer Settings".
DamienD is offline  
Old 30 December 2018, 21:54   #2242
Soopytwist
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
That is FileZilla

Under "File" --> "Site Manager" i.e. where you set up a connection to the EAB File Server, it's the 3rd tab; "Transfer Settings".
Oh, I was using Quickconnect and after that I can't click on any tabs in Site Manager. So, I've tried connecting from Site Manager instead and now I get this:


Response: 331 Password required for ftp.
Command: PASS ***
Response: 530 Sorry, your account is restricted to 20 simultaneous logins.
Error: Critical error: Could not connect to server

EDIT

Oh, never mind, it's working now. Don't know what I did but it's working!

Is there any way to see the total size in bytes of a folder before transfer?
Soopytwist is offline  
Old 01 January 2019, 12:10   #2243
Turran
Moderator

Turran's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 44
Posts: 1,075
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soopytwist View Post
Oh, I was using Quickconnect and after that I can't click on any tabs in Site Manager. So, I've tried connecting from Site Manager instead and now I get this:


Response: 331 Password required for ftp.
Command: PASS ***
Response: 530 Sorry, your account is restricted to 20 simultaneous logins.
Error: Critical error: Could not connect to server

EDIT

Oh, never mind, it's working now. Don't know what I did but it's working!

Is there any way to see the total size in bytes of a folder before transfer?
If you registered an account like you said, you should log in with that, not the ”ftp” user. That is why you got hit with the 20 users max login and you are severly slowed down during transfers.

There is no way to see the total bytes of a folder from the FTP server but perhaps filezilla have a function for it. Not sure as I do not use filezilla myself.
Turran is offline  
Old 01 January 2019, 12:27   #2244
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,483
Seems that not at least if there are subfolders.
zipper is offline  
Old 01 January 2019, 13:19   #2245
Soopytwist
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 82
Is there anyway to get faster download speeds on the FTP? The 50Kbs is killing me. I have full access to the FTP in FileZilla. I promised someone I'd put the Retroplay WHDLoad files on my Google Drive since they can't access the EAB FTP but it's taking too long.
Soopytwist is offline  
Old 01 January 2019, 13:21   #2246
Soopytwist
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turran View Post
If you registered an account like you said, you should log in with that, not the ”ftp” user. That is why you got hit with the 20 users max login and you are severly slowed down during transfers.

There is no way to see the total bytes of a folder from the FTP server but perhaps filezilla have a function for it. Not sure as I do not use filezilla myself.
Oopsie! I just read your post. I registered for an FTP server but didn't get a different log-in, I only have the ftp user name one. Or do I enter my forum user name soopytwist and password instead? Same port and host name ftp@grandis.nu though?

EDIT

Never mind. Sorted it. Had to log-in with my forum user name and the password I created when I registered for server access!

Last edited by Soopytwist; 01 January 2019 at 15:42.
Soopytwist is offline  
Old 01 January 2019, 16:28   #2247
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 13,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soopytwist View Post
I promised someone I'd put the Retroplay WHDLoad files on my Google Drive since they can't access the EAB FTP but it's taking too long.
...then just send them the URL to the EAB File Server Google Drive
DamienD is offline  
Old 11 January 2019, 01:37   #2248
Falcon57
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: France
Posts: 5
Hello,
I have uploded some files in ~Upload zone under my name Falcon57


Applications - Public Domain
AM 6016 - No Virus (1994)(Floppy International)[FFS]
AM 6021 - GRFIX v2.1 (199x)(Detres, Franck)(fr)(SW)[h Floppy International][AMOS]
AM 6035 - Compta v2.0 (1992)(Aladin, Karim)(fr)(SW)[h Floppy International][AMOS]


Games - Public Domain
AM 1024 - Tank Attack v1.0a (1992)(Kent, Paul)(FW)[h Floppy International]

Last edited by Falcon57; 12 January 2019 at 22:33.
Falcon57 is offline  
Old 11 January 2019, 04:47   #2249
n9yty
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Rockford IL / USA
Posts: 15
First and foremost, a huge thank you for providing this archive, and the GoogleDrive mirror. It is a resource that is of an indescribable benefit to the Amiga community.

However, that is my problem... How to get a handle on all that is here... It seems there are so many duplicated, or maybe not (?), copies of TOSEC files... Aren't the later versions inclusive of the earlier ones, so is ther ea reason to have them all?

I admit my ignorance to how that all works, so I thought I'd ask and this seemed the best thread available.

Also, things that are put in TheZone or ~Uploads, are they ever moved into the "main" file area, or do they stay there? Are they deleted, or do they grow forever?

And finally, just how massive is the collection in total?
n9yty is offline  
Old 11 January 2019, 12:55   #2250
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 13,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by n9yty View Post
However, that is my problem... How to get a handle on all that is here... It seems there are so many duplicated, or maybe not (?), copies of TOSEC files... Aren't the later versions inclusive of the earlier ones, so is ther ea reason to have them all?
Firstly the TOSEC stuff... TOSEC [2016-01-03] contains the full set of disk based files (minus "Firmware, Kickstart-Disks, Operating Systems - AMIX, Operating Systems - Workbench" in accordance with EAB rules).

The folder TOSEC Updates contains files released afterwards to help people keep up to date.

In the past, I provided this complete set to Turran via USB so he could copy over to the FTP and everyone would benefit: ***PROPOSAL*** TOSEC (2016-01-03) - Individual Files

If someone wants to provide Turran with the latest complete set, then we can get rid of the "TOSEC [2016-01-03]" + "TOSEC Updates" folders and cleanup

Quote:
Originally Posted by n9yty View Post
Also, things that are put in TheZone or ~Uploads, are they ever moved into the "main" file area, or do they stay there? Are they deleted, or do they grow forever?
This has been asked numerous times in the past. The problem is that it's a massive task i.e. looking at "TheZone" + all members' "~Upload" folders, finding / removing duplicates, trying to work out where best to move the files to, and then finally actually undertaking this move.

As well as moderating EAB; which trust me is a full time job, I just don't have the time...

Someone else is welcome to step up though

Last edited by DamienD; 11 January 2019 at 13:05.
DamienD is offline  
Old 14 January 2019, 02:52   #2251
Falcon57
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: France
Posts: 5
Hello,
I have uploded some files in ~Upload zone under my name Falcon57


Games - Public Domain
AM 2015 - Kastel Kumqat (1992)(Nerve Axis)(SW)[h Floppy International]
AM 3008 - Artillerus 2 v2.01u (1993)(Boeh, Michael)(SW)[h Floppy International]

Note for "Kastel Kumqat" :
If you click with "mouse" when the game is loaded.
The game seems not working (Return on CLI).

But if you ONLY click with joystick.
The game works fine.

I don't know it's a bug or not ???
It's same on my Amiga with original disk.

Last edited by Falcon57; 14 January 2019 at 04:30.
Falcon57 is offline  
Old 14 January 2019, 15:59   #2252
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 44
Posts: 3,249
I get a connect call failed, is the FTP down ?
Retroplay is offline  
Old 14 January 2019, 17:22   #2253
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 13,242
Yeah looks like it
DamienD is offline  
Old 14 January 2019, 17:36   #2254
NLS
Ancient User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GREECE
Age: 44
Posts: 543
FTP indeed seems down AND this forum theme seems messed up (like I am forced to mobile theme).
NLS is offline  
Old 14 January 2019, 17:43   #2255
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 13,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by NLS View Post
AND this forum theme seems messed up (like I am forced to mobile theme).
Nothing wrong with the forum.

I've seen this occur from time to time; look at the URL as it probably has something extra on "eab.abime.net".
DamienD is offline  
Old 14 January 2019, 17:44   #2256
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 44
Posts: 3,249
Hmm, I don't see any issues with the forum theme here in either Pale Moon or Iron.

Well, we'll just have to wait until Turran checks back in.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 14 January 2019, 17:46   #2257
NLS
Ancient User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GREECE
Age: 44
Posts: 543
I am in EAB3 skin - haven't touched it.
Nothing after the URL.
Will try changing skin.
(worked)
NLS is offline  
Old 14 January 2019, 17:50   #2258
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 13,242
Yes, go to User CP and then Edit Options, change the following:



to "EAB3 skin".
or
When in the "Mobile skin", select "EAB3 skin" at the top right.
DamienD is offline  
Old 14 January 2019, 17:53   #2259
NLS
Ancient User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GREECE
Age: 44
Posts: 543
Yes found that thanks.
The real problem is the FTP.
NLS is offline  
Old 15 January 2019, 09:29   #2260
HOL2001
Amigamaniac

HOL2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Neheim / Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 479
Still not back. Seems to be a bigger problem...
HOL2001 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
While EAB file server is down... Retroplay project.EAB File Server 23 31 December 2013 01:48
Setting up an EAB file server account. fatman2021 project.EAB 1 26 August 2013 09:24
Is EAB file server deleted ? Ribdevil project.EAB File Server 13 03 February 2012 20:28
EAB File Server structure update TCD project.EAB File Server 38 18 November 2010 07:49
EAB File Server team reinforcement TCD project.EAB File Server 9 22 August 2010 21:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.17682 seconds with 16 queries